We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as before”
Review of Hotel Villa Soro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Soro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“As good as before”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed for three nights following a visit last year.
The return visit was as good as before - if not better with a room with much more natural light in the main building.
Staff very helpful - room extremely comfortable - breakfast of high standard and enjoyable sitting out on a terraced area enjoying some sunshine.
Took advantage of the bicycles again to further explore Donistia -San Sebastian. Proximity is under 30 mins steady walk to the old town passing along the water front for some of the walk, about 10 mins on a bicycle or catch the no13 bus for a shorter journey. Taxi costs approx 8/9 Euros.

Location is good to San sebastian and of course by car to France (30mins) - St Jean-De-Luz.
Yes, it is not a cheap hotel but I'm sure visitors will fell that they are certainly getting more than value for money. You will not be disappointed.
See you there next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyageur5956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    151
    42
    11
    5
See reviews for
87
524
19
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay here and it was every bit as good as the first time. Yes it's expensive, but San Sebastian is not cheap, but the quality was very good. We stayed in the annex and while not as traditional as the main building the rooms are very good. We enjoyed the walk into.back from town as it gave an opportunity to walk off the food and wine. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who were very pleasant. They also do a wicked gin and tonic

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We went to San Sebastian on a food trip like most everyone else but needed to lodge comfortably too. Villa Soro is really ideal if you do not like the crowds and want an oasis of calm in the food mecca of the world. It's a splendid mansion on atree-lined residential area. We liked that hte beaches weren't at all far and nice walk everywhere.

The hotel was modern and classical all at the same time. Breakfasts were very good and our room was comfortable and clean. We also appreciated the fact that this was a small and intimate hotel... just the kind where you feel quite privileged tojust be there!

The staff were both gracious and courteous at all times and we got some great recommendations for food naturally. The location is really ideal. Downside was our air conditioning was a tad weak, otherwise it was a really delightful stay. One thing's for sure, we'll be coming back for the pinchos and tapas some time soon...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougieOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We recently stayed one week at Villa Soro and enjoyed the hotel and Donostia San Sebastián so much we changed our holiday itinerary so we could return for a few more days at the end of our trip to Spain and South of France. What more can I say?
San Sebastián is amazing - so much to see and do and food to die for. You must try Pintxos in the old town and all the restaurants we tried served excellent food, especially the fish.
Villa Soro is delightful. It's not really a hotel as there is no restaurant, probably more of a high class B&B. There are rooms in the villa itself and then some more in the new annexe behind the villa. We stayed in the annexe on both occasions but we were not disappointed - the rooms were spotless, very smartly appointed and had air con. The double bed was huge and very comfortable. You still have access to the public rooms in the villa which are beautiful and very quiet if you want to chill out and read, etc.
Staff were very friendly and courteous and nothing was too much trouble for them. All spoke good English. Free wifi was available and we had no problems. There's also a pc connected to the Internet for guests to use.
It is a good distance from the centre of San Sebastián but there is a local bus service which goes past the hotel every 7 minutes during the day (the D 13). It costs €1.60 to get into town or you can get a bus pass from the Tourist Office in town which also gets a discount on certain attractions eg the Aquarium ( which is very good). If you are staying for more than a few days and using the bus frequently this is a good investment.

Room Tip: If you do have rooms in the annexe try to get ground floor rooms eg 104/105 as they have a small pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adytiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just spent 2 nights at Villa Soro and what a delight! Friendly and helpfull staff, beautiful decor and so cool with free bike service!!! We basically spent two days biking around San Sebastian - when not enjoying probably the best food in the world, the beach and our room. Highly highly recommendable!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s_sindberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Villa Soro is situated a little away from the main town area, quiet and beautiful. The staff is welcoming and helpful. The room is big, clean and tidy. The bathroom is very spacious. The breakfast is good, hot dishes cooked to your order. A very nice place to stay after a long day out. It takes about 20 minutes to beach and 30 minutes to town, slow walking. Taxi is not easy to catch. We did not find any taxi even at taxi stands. If one does not like to walk, it may not be your choice. For us, we enjoy the stroll.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was our 2nd visit. I could sum this visit as generic and defiantly not worth the 300 Euro. Last time we’ve stayed at the main building which is a charming villa. This time we were in the building next door which is nothing to write home about. I have high status at SLH and expected some sort of recognition/upgrade. Instead we got a basic room. The AC didn't work properly and there was no pressure in the shower. The service was also not what you would expect from a small hotel. It was indifferent. Next time in Bilbao we will try a different place

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ander E, Director General at Hotel Villa Soro, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your review here in Trip Advisor.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconveniences and rest assured I have addressed your feedback to relevant departments.

I must admit I am very surprised with your remarks about the room upgrade, as we do our best to offer upgrades when available, although this many not be always possible due to occupancy.
Forgive us for any inconvenience caused, I am genuinely sorry that we did not offer an upgrade this time around.

We are proud of the usual high level of services we provide as evidenced by the majority of comments on this website and sincerely regret any guest experience that does not meet expectations.

Kind regards,

Ander Elortegi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,639 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#3 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,704 reviews
2.3 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,510 reviews
1.8 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,621 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Soro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Soro

Property: Hotel Villa Soro
Address: Avda de Ategorrieta 61, 20013 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#3 Green Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#7 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Soro 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Soro ocupa 2 edificios de estilo clasico, uno de los cuales fue construido en 1898 y ha sido declarado Patrimonio Historico de San Sebastian. Se proporciona conexion Wi-Fi gratuita.Todas las habitaciones disponen de minibar con bebidas sin alcohol, reproductor de DVD y ducha y banera independientes. Presentan un diseno individual de lujo, y algunas estan decoradas con obras de arte de Jorge Oteiza. Se ofrece un servicio de habitaciones con platos locales.El Villa Soro tiene aparcamiento privado gratuito y esta rodeado de arboles y de casas senoriales.El hotel cuenta con gimnasio y ofrece bicicletas y toallas de playa gratuitas. Ademas, dispone de salones amplios y una chimenea.La playa de la Zurriola, el palacio de congresos y auditorio Kursaal y el casco antiguo se encuentran a pocos pasos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Soro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Soro Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Soro Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing