We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Villa”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Soro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Soro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning Villa”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

From the time we arrived at this Villa the staff were very friendly and helpful, and made us feel at home. Rooms very spacious and beautifully decorated. Great location about a 10 min walk from surfing beach and 20 mins to the old town. The old town is a must amazing Tapas Bars everywhere the food is out of this world.. The Villa has parking on site which is a bonus when driving around Spain.
The breakfast at the Villa was very good. Would definitely recommend this Villa.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabbs121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ander E, Director General at Hotel Villa Soro, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure to note how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know how you liked breakfast, the location of the hotel but especially the service provided by our “friendly and helpful” staff .

Thank you for taking the time to write. We are looking forward to welcome you at Villa Soro soon.

Best regards,

Ander Elortegi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    148
    41
    11
    5
See reviews for
80
497
19
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in late June after 3 weeks in many other nice hotels in Spain. Villa Soro was the best in terms of its decor, intimacy, public space and charm. The staff was very helpful and friendly, but unimposing. We borrowed bikes one afternoon and rode through town along the beach - what a treat! We liked that the location was out of the hub of town but extremely close in. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tripster C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ander E, Director General at Hotel Villa Soro, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear guest,

What a charming summary of your stay - could not thank you enough for this splendid comment of yours!

We appreciate you enjoyed the decoration and charm of the public spaces as well as the free bike service.

Thank you once again for sharing this wonderful review and we hope to welcome you back soon in Villa Soro.

Best regards,

Ander Elortegi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mevasseret Zion, Israel
Level Contributor
142 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Beautiful villa, very nicely located 15 min away from the beach and the city- this place offers calmness and elegance on one hand and the immediate vibrant city within walking distance on the other hand. Nice small gym and swimming pool. Nice area for sitting outdoor. Charming public areas to comfortably sit with magazines or books. We enjoyed much.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ander E, Director General at Hotel Villa Soro, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Idit,

How splendid to read your review – thank you for sharing and recommending us! We appreciate you noticed our location close to Zurriola beach and our “charming” public areas.

There is not much for us to be desired than just to have the opportunity to welcome you again to Villa Soro Hotel in not too distant future for some more of the enjoyable experience.

Best regards,

Ander Elortegi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed for three nights in early June. Although there was no exceptional view from the window in room 15, the decor was elegant and the room was spacious. We really liked its bath room which was again spacious and kept always clean.
The front staffs are very helpful and the breakfast was delicious.
We'll surely be back to Villa Soro when we visit San Sebastian next time.

Room Tip: We asked and stayed in the main building which was beautiful. And we'd recommend you to ask so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Fumica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ander E, Director General at Hotel Villa Soro, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate the very good feedback, thank you for taking time to share it with us. We appreciate your comments about our breakfast and have passed on those compliments to the ‘very helpful” front staff.

We look forward to your next visit.

Yours faithfully,

Ander Elortegi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

From the moment you drive into Villa Soro you know you are in for a special treat. Villa Soro is a most beautiful residence offering wonderful rooms in the main Villa, extremely comfortable beds and bountiful breakfasts. The lounge and bar areas are delightful and the staff extremely helpful. The location is excellent with a 15 min. walk into town or alternatively a bus service (No. 13/14) will drop you almost at the door. Our only regret was that we did not stay longer and are already planning our return next year. The bar also offers a sensational gin and tonic.

Room Tip: To really enjoy the ambience of Villa Soro I would recommend that you stay in the main Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrtiggs2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ander E, Director General at Hotel Villa Soro, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this amazing review that brought smile on our faces! Could not thank you enough for these praising words.

We appreciate that you noticed the quality of the breakfast, the “delightful” lounge areas and the “extremely comfortable“ beds, but above all, the service provided by the staff of Villa Soro. We share your regret and look forward to welcoming you again soon in the wonderful city of San Sebastian.

Warm regards,

Ander Elortegi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed in Villa Soro for one night. The entrance to the hotel is beautiful. Unfortunately, the room we received was more in line with a motel 6 rather than a 4 star hotel. Rather than the main building, we were placed in a bungalow behind the old structure, and were charged the premium rate nonetheless. The carpet was dirty, the furniture was cheap, there were no windows (other than that over the door), and we ran out of toilet paper. The staff was courteous, but not exceptional. The location was OK, but not in the center of town. We took a bus to the beach and shopping area and returned by taxi.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riverstone14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ander E, Director General at Hotel Villa Soro, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on trip advisor.

Villa Soro was built in 1898, and it was originally built as a main Villa and the carriage house (restored in 2003). I am deeply sorry if you though it was a bungalow, but both buildings are protected as historical heritage of the city of San Sebastian.

I understand that not everyone wants to be in the old carriage house, but we advertise that there are two buildings and you booked (and be charged) a double standard room.

We like negative reviews when they can make us improve. But frankly, this review is not accurate at all.

Best regards,

Ander Elortegi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in June in the wonderful room 13 with balcony above the front entrance. The room was elegant, the bed incredibly comfortable and from the first moment the staff at reception made us feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend taking them up on the free bicycle hire as San Sebastian has excellent provisions for cyclists. Little touches such as a complimentary small afternoon cake in the room and free beach bag with towels and water plus honest advice on local restaurants make this place very special..(Arzak also just up the road but book early!) I look forward to visiting again next year

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ander E, Director General at Hotel Villa Soro, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Simon,

How fantastic to see your recent posting on Villa Soro, thank you for this great five-star review!
We always strive to exceed our guests expectations and a review such as yours is a true reward and means that the Team efforts are noticed by our guests. It is my utmost pleasure to pass your compliments to all the Team members.

We appreciate you enjoyed the free bike service and the wonderful city of San Sebastian. Our convenient location, very close to Zurriola Beach, makes our beach bag very useful for guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you at Villa Soro very soon.

Warm regards,

Ander Elortegi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,564 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,606 reviews
2.3 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,472 reviews
1.8 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,533 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Leku Eder
Hotel Leku Eder
#3 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Soro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Soro

Property: Hotel Villa Soro
Address: Avda de Ategorrieta 61, 20013 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#3 Green Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#7 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Soro 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Soro ocupa 2 edificios de estilo clasico, uno de los cuales fue construido en 1898 y ha sido declarado Patrimonio Historico de San Sebastian. Se proporciona conexion Wi-Fi gratuita.Todas las habitaciones disponen de minibar con bebidas sin alcohol, reproductor de DVD y ducha y banera independientes. Presentan un diseno individual de lujo, y algunas estan decoradas con obras de arte de Jorge Oteiza. Se ofrece un servicio de habitaciones con platos locales.El Villa Soro tiene aparcamiento privado gratuito y esta rodeado de arboles y de casas senoriales.El hotel cuenta con gimnasio y ofrece bicicletas y toallas de playa gratuitas. Ademas, dispone de salones amplios y una chimenea.La playa de la Zurriola, el palacio de congresos y auditorio Kursaal y el casco antiguo se encuentran a pocos pasos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Soro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Soro Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Soro Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing