We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still amazing”
Review of Hotel Villa Soro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Soro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Still amazing”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This is one of the nicest most consistent hotels in Spain. We have been able to stay here four times this year, and each time it has been fabulous, from the staff being so helpful, enabling my husband to watch the World Cup, on a large screen, to cooking one of the nicest breakfasts in Spain. Despite the weather we have managed to have our breakfast outdoors on the terrace, and it's simply wonderful. There is parking, and if you want to walk into town it's about a ten minute walk.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ander E, Director Comercial at Hotel Villa Soro, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Rachel,

How fantastic to see your recent posting on Villa Soro, thank you for this great five-star review!

We appreciate your comments about our breakfast and have passed on those compliments to the 'helpful” staff. Our aim is to make feel our guests as they are at home so it was more than a pleasure to set up our bar with a large screen to broadcast the World Cup.

We all hope that you will be so enchanted on your next visit as well – we truly wish to have you visiting us soon again.

Warm regards,

Noemi Castro
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    154
    44
    11
    5
See reviews for
91
544
19
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for along weekend and it was fantastic. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful, the room was large with a fabulous bed. It was an easy walk to Zurriola beach or the old town. We could also have walked to Arzak but my companions footwear choice meant that we took a cab. I will definitely be back

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank mwilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ander E, Director General at Hotel Villa Soro, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Mr. Wilkins,

We appreciate the excellent feedback, thank you for taking the time to share it with us. I am glad that you enjoyed the room and our convenient location (within an easy walk to Zurriola Beach and Arzak Restaurant).

We look forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Ander Elortegi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huahine, French Polynesia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This boutique hotel deserves it's place among the small lux hotels of the world.
Great staff wonderful breakfast...And a close location to town on foot or even better on bikes..
The old town is a great place for dinner very charming....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank NebBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ander E, Director General at Hotel Villa Soro, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much, your praising words mean a lot for all the dedicated Villa Soro Hotel Team members.

The convenient location is a perfect starting point for city exploration either on foot or by bicycle (taking advantage of the bicycles available free of charge to our guests).

We hope to welcome you again soon!

Best regards,

Ander Elortegi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I normally stay in 5-Star hotels and I have to say I was so pleased with our stay at Villa Soro. The service was excellent and the staff was helpful and friendly. I just wish they had a restaurant on the premises. While there is a walk into town (15-20 minutes), it was pleasant and an easy walk. This hotel is very clean. We had a lovely room with an outside patio. The grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelguestCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ander E, Director General at Hotel Villa Soro, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear guest,

… and so is your feedback – 5 stars!!

We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and that you appreciated the convenient location, the cleanliness and the “helpful and friendly” service provided by our staff.

Entire Villa Soro Hotel Team very much hopes to see you back again very soon.

Warm regards,
Ander Elortegi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
727 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This looks more like a magnificent residence than a hotel and that starts the charm and comfort of our stay. The location is an easy 10-15 minute walk to the center of San Sebastian which makes it quite convenient-it is also about the same distant to the world famous Arzak Restaurant (3 Star Michelin) although we took a taxi. So location is excellent.

The place is beautiful and the rooms are BEAUTIFUL, bathrooms opulent and well fitted out and very modern. The room temperature perfect and the beds are heavenly. So the rooms are excellent.

The staff is extremely friendly and knowledgeable. So the staff is excellent.

The price of the room was well below market-we called the hotel directly to get our rate. So the price is excellent as well.

This our rating: EXCELLENT

Room Tip: We stayed in a building behind the main hotel and it was super quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ander E, Director General at Hotel Villa Soro, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

That is fabulous, no words could describe how thankful we are for these fantastic words of yours! The adjectives that I can see at a glance are extraordinary: Magnificent, charm, excellent, beautiful, opulent, modern, friendly, well fitted and heavenly. With pleasure I will share your opinion with our Team, they will surely take a lot of pleasure reading it.

We are more than certain there are many interesting places left to be still discovered by you in San Sebastian – so do not wait for too long to visit us once again!

Best regards,
Ander Elortegi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

With its delicious breakfasts and pleasant staff, Villa Soro is a charming spot from which to explore Donostia/San Sebastian (15 minute walk to beach, 20 minutes to the Old town & 15 minute walk to Arzak) and twenty minutes by taxi (38 euros + tip) from San Sebastian Airport.
Rooms are small and not terribly well soundproofed. We moved from one downstairs to one above because of noise from above but still could hear movements in the rooms adjacent. This was in the back addition - the main building may well be better soundproofed.
Villa Soro is spotlessly clean and fresh, beds comfortable & staff go out of their way to help at all times. Bountiful breakfasts are served in the dining room or on the patio or in your room. Staff were happy to bake the gluten-free bread we bought frozen each day. We have spent a happy week here and are pleased to recomend it.

Room Tip: Probably best to request the main building for soundproof rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlutenFreePerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ander E, Director General at Hotel Villa Soro, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate the excellent feedback and your recommendation, thank you for taking time to share it with us. We appreciate your comments about our breakfast and have passed on those compliments to the ‘helpful” staff.

We look forward to your next visit.

Yours faithfully,

Ander Elortegi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

First you pass by this place. It looks too much of a private property, and absolutely not a hotel.
Staff are very friendly. Bell boys, efficient. We had the rooms in the backyard.
Spaceous, large beds, seamless internet and a complete minibar.

The hotelbar is also very cosy. Unfortunately we had no time for breakfast the next morning.
But this is a great place to spend a few days.

Room Tip: backyard rooms are peaceful and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilco v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ander E, Director General at Hotel Villa Soro, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Paul,

It is always very gratifying to receive such praise from a TripAdvisor Top Contributor.

It was a pleasure to note how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know how you liked the service provided by our “friendly and efficient” staff.
Thank you once again and we are looking forward to welcome you at Villa Soro in the future.

Warm regards,

Ander Elortegi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.7 mi away
Arrizul Congress Hotel
Arrizul Congress Hotel
#18 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
73 reviews
2.4 mi away
NH San Sebastian Donosti
NH San Sebastian Donosti
#11 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
498 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
#14 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,696 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,782 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Soro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Soro

Property: Hotel Villa Soro
Address: Avda de Ategorrieta 61, 20013 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#2 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#3 Green Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#7 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Soro 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Soro ocupa 2 edificios de estilo clasico, uno de los cuales fue construido en 1898 y ha sido declarado Patrimonio Historico de San Sebastian. Se proporciona conexion Wi-Fi gratuita.Todas las habitaciones disponen de minibar con bebidas sin alcohol, reproductor de DVD y ducha y banera independientes. Presentan un diseno individual de lujo, y algunas estan decoradas con obras de arte de Jorge Oteiza. Se ofrece un servicio de habitaciones con platos locales.El Villa Soro tiene aparcamiento privado gratuito y esta rodeado de arboles y de casas senoriales.El hotel cuenta con gimnasio y ofrece bicicletas y toallas de playa gratuitas. Ademas, dispone de salones amplios y una chimenea.La playa de la Zurriola, el palacio de congresos y auditorio Kursaal y el casco antiguo se encuentran a pocos pasos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Soro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Soro Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Soro Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing