We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Earplugs a MUST!”
Review of Pension Edorta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pension Edorta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2013

In most aspects this is a great little spot - very well located in the Old Town, pleasant spacious rooms - especially the en suites - and helpful staff. The balcony is a bit small to be of great use and the wifi is pretty slow, but these were minor gripes. The major problem here is sound-proofing; the walls and ceilings are paper thin, and between the street noise (inevitable given the location) to the 'charging elephant' who lives on the floor above to the snoring fellow guest in the room next door, a proper nights sleep was pretty much impossible. Earplugs are a must have here. Once we worked that out we enjoyed our stay and would rate it 4 star, but the rating has to suffer because of it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorfolkFozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for Pension Edorta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

Very nice pension in the heart of the old part of San Sebastian (Parte Vieja), cheap and clean. Free WiFi. We had a shared bathroom, always clean. Quite calm although very central. No restaurant but several excellent pintxo bars and restaurants within 30 seconds walk.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gammeldansk80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My fiancé and I chose Edorta based on reviews from trip advisor and were quite disappointed with our stay.

We were in the middle of our dream vacation and selected Edorta for its location and value, given we planned to splurge on meals at such places as Martin Berasategui and Arzak it made sense to select a hotel under €100/night. We arrived on a very wet and rainy Thursday afternoon, rang the bell for several minutes until we were buzzed in. Once we were checked in and handed our key we walked in to one of the smallest rooms I've ever stayed in (we struggled to find space for our suitcases), found our shared bathroom which again was very small (yet quite clean) and discovered neither the television nor the WiFi worked. I can appreciate when you offer lower rates than most hotels in the area you have to cut back on some of the commodities you might enjoy at most hotels (coffe and tea, two separate pillows etc), but to throw your hands up and offer no solution to the fact that the WiFi nor the television worked is just unacceptable. (other than to suggest sitting in the tiny reception area if we wanted to get online). The TV wouldn't normally be an issue but unfortunately I came down with a stomache bug just as a nasty storm came through town. (No fault to Edorta, but would have been nice to come in out of the rain for a few hours in a more comfortable setting).

Cheap? Yes (you really can't beat the location in old town and minutes from the beach). Cozy? Not quite. We never felt particularly welcome or experienced the 'super friendly' staff others speak of (we were made to feel as if we were bothersome if we asked for directions or help with pronouncing Martin Berasategui's name).

Wouldn't stay here again but not a bad option to anyone who doesn't mind VERY minimal accommodations in the heart of old town as its stumbling distance to all the great pintxo's bars.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loves2Travel415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

Beautiful room, helpful and friendly staff. Fantastic location, right in the old town with plenty Pintxos and Vino! Only downside no tea and coffee facilities but I think that may be a Spanish thing :-( lovely stay, will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juliet02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stayed here a few years ago and I'm always recommending it, based upon further great reviews on Tripadvisor.

This hotel is in a fabulous location - close to the water & in the heart the old quarter, but still quiet enough to sleep very well.

We had 4 rooms. Some with bathrooms and some using the shared. I used the shared bathroom, which was very clean and spacious and I never had to wait. All different decor, and lots fun.

Our Barcelona accommodation was meant to be our highlight, but in fact this little gem was the one we all still talk about.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulainPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in September and were really satisfied with our stay. The rooms and bathroom facilities are clean and very comfortable (rooms serviced daily). We had a room with a shared bathroom but didn't once have to wait for someone to finish using the facilities (in fact didn't even once see another guest using bathroom as I believe there is a policy of only two rooms to one bathroom) so we felt like we had it to ourselves.
The staff were really helpful with local knowledge and any requests/questions we had. We decided to to stay one extra night in San Sebastian and although they were booked out for that night, one of the staff members recommended another little gem to us and personally walked us there.
One thing I would be careful of is booking a room with a street view. We were lucky not to be staying on the street so had no problems with noise but San Sebastian gets very rowdy on weekends in Summer, the bars literally spill onto the street (great vibe but not fun if your trying to sleep).
Overall it was a great stay and would be well suited to friends/couples who are on a budget but looking for something a little nicer than a hostel or budget hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellyal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

my wife and I arrived in San Sabastian at mid-day, having been misinformed about the bus schedule from Bilbao, (courtesy of the Lonely Planet), the evening before. (we were scheduled to spend three nights at the Pension Edorta, but the mishap cut it down to two.)

at San Sabastian, the cabby from the bus stop said that he couldn't drop us at the pension, since the last stretch was impassable. so we took the bus instead, and found out that the calles at the seaside at San Sabastian are narrow alley-ways. We walked the last three blocks with our luggage. (annoying, but our mood was about to change for the better.)

we found that the small, cozy pension, which we had booked, was two buildings in from the beach promenade. we were led up to our room on the second floor by a very polite attendant, who apologized for our mishap with the buses. they later took half off of the previous night's stay, which we felt was more than fair.

to get to the point, the room was just BEAUTIFUL, with a small balcony overlooking the delightful mini-street, which dead-ended at the promenade. the rest of the calle was occupied by pintxos bars, small stores, and other pensions. the interior walls were stone, the floors were tile, and the colors were festive. the bed was comfy--stay on the upper floors to avoid late -night pintxos crawl noise.

bottom line--great stay--dying to return.

rodney

Room Tip: anywhere above the street level
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RTK321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,739 reviews
1.3 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,573 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
#15 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
615 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Edorta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Edorta

Address: Calle Puerto, 15 | 1st Floor, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £51 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Pension Edorta 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Pension Edorta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Edorta Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Edorta Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing