We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 stars?????? :S” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hesperia Donosti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hesperia Donosti
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“4 stars?????? :S”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

Far from the center, very noisy (besided the main road).
Room: big, clean (not very thorough cleaning during the days of my stay). Comfortable bed. "Paper walls", any noise from the neighbouring rooms can be hear (very annoying).
Breakfast: passable, nothing special (nor high quality stuff).
Worst: internet connection extremely slow and continously disconnecting.
No teapot available to be used in the room, no gim.
Staff pretty kind and helpful.

Room Tip: Not on the side of the main road. From 7 am on, impossible to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaudDuMaurier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    204
    95
    23
    14
See reviews for
82
162
11
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Indeed, this hotel is located outside the city centre.
And that's why the prices are so reasonable. If you want to stay in the centre then be prepared to pay more and get far less.
The street noise is not that bad at all and less than the noise down town ...
The rooms are spacious enough and functional. The bathrooms need to be refurbished.
Very friendly staff. Free outside parking.
Yes, the internet connection is slow ... but hey this is Spain !
The bus stops right in front of the hotel (tickets in the bus).

We stayed here twice. Recently we stayed at it's sister hotel NH Aranzazu, located in the same street but closer to the beach (which makes it a bit pricier).

Room Tip: I ased for a room with a balcony, both times. The street sounds didn't bother me ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milikab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night as we were driving through the area. The young lady on the front desk was so helpful and made our stay so wonderful! She spoke perfect English and was able to advise us on buses, parking and local attractions. She even charged my phone for me downstairs as I had lost my converter!!

The hotel is a short bus ride into the city of San Sebastian (catch the 5 or 25 bus for €1.45) and is located in a quiet and safe area. It was lovely to see a part of San Sebastian that isn't full of tourists. Parking at the hotel was free, and our car was safe in their underground parking. The lift from the parking took us straight up to the level our room was on.

The room was very comfortable- especially the pillows!!! The only downside was that our wifi wouldn't work in our rooms. However, in the cafe downstairs it worked very fast.

We had a lovely stay and would stay again when we return to San Sebastian. We wished we were staying longer there as it was so comfortable, clean and pleasant :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EliseG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed in another hotel from the chain in Bilbao and loved it (Hesperia Bilbao). This hotel doesn't compare.
It is way out of the city centre and a 20min walk from the nearest part of La Concha beach. There are buses but we didn't know how to buy tickets so we didn't try them. The walk wasn't bad for two thirty somethings as long as you didn't try it in the midday heat. I wouldn't recommend it if you have kids or loads of beach stuff. You do pass a couple of nice cafes, a supermarket and some restaurants on the way in however.
The hotel itself might have looked new in 2007 as some of the reviews here suggest but it doesn't look new now (in July 2012). The carpets are worn and stained. The lift has rails around it that are not attached securely. The room we stayed in was small and felt cramped. The hotel felt like it had been built on a budget. You could hear TVs from the rooms on either side. People walking down the corridor were also easily heard.
I was glad we ended up in a room facing away from the motorway as I can imagine that would have been very noisy.
As others have said the internet didn't work in the rooms. I was offered an ethernet cable but that isn't any good when you have an iPad.
The staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English but they were by far the best things about the hotel. All in all I'd have been disappointed if I'd been there myself on business but I was upset to be there with my wife on holiday. It wasn't particularly cheap either.

Room Tip: Try to stay in a room that doesn't look onto the big road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Nice people but remotely located in an otherwise small city. No restaurant at the hotel and very little offer on the vicinity and needs a walk. Funny enough they don´t serve breakfast before 8:00 AM on Saturdays and Sundays, very Spanish waking up late, but really bad if you have to take a plane early. Not a place that I would go back any time soon.

Room Tip: When in San Sebastian choose centrally located hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank algues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

This hotel provides NO value for money. It is poorly located in relation to San Seb. It is by a very, very noisy road. Breakfast isn't included. The internet does not work in the rooms (as stated on my booking confirmation) and even in the lobby my search engine gave up as it was so slow. The worst problem was the smell. The carpets are filthy and the stink of them permeates the hole hotel. It is very cynical that they do nothing about this and continue to advertise 'free internet, great facilities, brand new hotel, excellently located' etc. I rarely write reviews, but this hotel provided such poor money to value experience that I feel obligated to warn people off it. Stay in a hostel in town - it will be far more enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BecGtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

As the hotels in the city had a outrageous price per night, we decided to try for once to book a hotel a little bit far from the city. This decision was proven right (but usually we do prefer to pay a bit more and stay in the heart of the city). In this case there is a bus just across the street from the hotel which takes you in 15 minutes to the city center. The hotel is small and modern and seems to offer for a businessman more services than to a family but for one night it was sufficient for us...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dannyalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.7 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
#8 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,552 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#10 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hesperia Donosti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Donosti

Property: Hesperia Donosti
Address: Avda. Zarautz, 120 | Lorea, 20018 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#10 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#11 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hesperia Donosti 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the comfortable and relaxed Hesperia Donosti hotel be your base for exploring and discovering San Sebastian and its beautiful seafront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and NHHotels so you can book your Hesperia Donosti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Donosti Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Hesperia Donosti San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing