We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel & owner”
Review of Okako Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Okako Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Just stayed one night passing thru but hotel is delightful as is the owner.
Made to feel very welcome and recommended places to eat and places to see.
Rooms are beautifully furnished & beds so comfortable.
Would not hesitate to recommend it and very well located for sightseeing.

Room Tip: Front rooms get a little road & train noise but I am light sleeper & was not aware of it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is beautifully designed and really feels boutique, the rooms are small but stunning. Great location 5 mins walk to the beach and 10 to the old town. The staff/owners are lovely and so helpful. They have thought of every little detail right down to the 24/7 complimentary coffee machine and snack bar. San seb is beautiful, don't spend all your time in the old town which seems mostly for tourists, explore the newer parts of the city too, and ride the fununcular train to the top of mount urgull for the best views. Make sure you stay at the okako!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caro-ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is one of the best small hotels I have stayed in.

First the good:
The beds are very comfortable with super linen.
The shower is superb, one of the best I've had, loads of power and hot
The whole place is immaculately clean
The staff are very friendly and are always available to help.
The air conditioning is effective and quiet.
The Nespreso machine and the small breakfast buffet are very welcome in the morning
The location could not be better - 10 mins walk from the old town but just far enough away to get a restful nights sleep.

Small frustrations:
There is no getting around the fact that the standard double rooms are quite small - I was a solo traveller and decided to pay extra for a double. As a result I feel they need to be careful with their pricing policy. I got a good rate on booking.com, but the full price as advertised is really starting to encroach into 3 star hotel territory. For a one star hotel (no matter how beautiful and comfortable) this would give me second thoughts if I was travelling as a couple.
A small quibble would be that real milk rather than powdered would make a big difference to the quality of the Nespresso if you don't take it black :-)

Having said that, the bottom line is that this is an excellent boutique style hotel.
I would not hesitate to stay again. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: See comments in the body of my review
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike0467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017
Thank NuvolaViajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank ruanof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank guido r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
861 reviews
1.7 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,449 reviews
0.3 mi away
One Shot Tabakalera House
One Shot Tabakalera House
#24 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pension Casa Nicolasa
Pension Casa Nicolasa
#6 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pension Iturriza
Pension Iturriza
#2 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okako Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okako Hotel

Address: Iztueta, 7, 20001 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £47 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Okako Hotel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Okako Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing