We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More small hotel than pension!”
Review of Pension Alameda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Alameda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Really nice hosts, nice room, great location and great value. Can't recall the woman's name at the front desk but "warm" is the best way to describe her, really a very nice person. She gave us a recommendation for a restaurant where we had the most amazing lobster salad.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanislegirl1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here for 10 days while we organised our wedding in nearby Hondarribia. The rooms are simple and basic, but everything you need for a stay Ina. Town where you literally only ever sleep in the room.
The hosts were fantastic, especially Therese, who not only gave us a discount because it was our wedding week, but also helped organise some parts of the wedding day. We could not have done it without her.
The location is right on the boulevard next to the old town, right between La Concha and Zurriola, so hue location is perfect.
All in all we would recommend Therese and Pension Alameda for anyone looking for a pleasant enough room with lovely hosts in a great spot.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayandSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Having come into San Sebastian at the fag end of the holiday season certainly had is charms and hence one can forgive its little misses such as the missing cab services at the bus station. That prompted a gentle stroll into the city centre in search of Pension Alameda, our home for the next couple of days.

The search itself proved to be pretty straightforward and just to be sure we checked with the local store owners enroute... everyone seemed to know the place. The checkin was smooth and couple who own the place were extremely warm, a view shared by some other reviewers as well.


So far we have no complaints and the location is just plain fabulous!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anoop_Rao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Currently lying on the comfortable bed in this place. You won't find better, excellent location, friendly hosts, small and immaculate clean room, ensuite. Next to bus stop, we parked by University and took the bus in to here, it's the way to go.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RamblingOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We checked in and received nothing but smiles and warmth. The room was clean and we had our own bathroom! The room was only used to sleep and change in because San Sebastian was begging to be explored. I would definitely go back and stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erikka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The lady in charge here is Teresa, and a mine of information and helpfulness.
This Pension provides a great bedroom with it's own en suite and nothing else just a great location for anyone looking to sample the delights of San Sebastian. It is on the edge of the Old Town which is where one will eat and drink. There are a couple bars within a few metres of the front door where one can have breakfast. A few metres up the street the Old Town is there for one of the great eating experiences - the Pinchos (Tapas) are all around. So park the car and enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesSWFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Super friendly hosts at this place, doing all they could to make this a good place. Fine room with huge bed for single person. Fine bathroom, with small shower. They said that they had given me the room with the big bed and the small shower, instead of the opposite because they thought I would spend longer time in bed than in shower. Good wi-fi connection. No breakfast but plenty of cafe's just down the road. Some street noise since this is in the middle of the action, but close the windows and you hear nothing. Lovely old elevator to second floor. Perfect place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henningn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.1 mi away
Pension AB Domini
Pension AB Domini
#33 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pension Joakina
Pension Joakina
#1 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pension Casa Nicolasa
Pension Casa Nicolasa
#4 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pension Iturriza
Pension Iturriza
#6 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
206 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hostal Isabella B&B
Hostal Isabella B&B
#62 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sansebay
Hotel Sansebay
#21 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Alameda

Address: Alameda del Boulevar 16, 2nd fl, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £45 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Alameda 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Pension Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Alameda Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing