We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent location, 5 mins to old town pinxtos, no frills” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Arrizul Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Arrizul Center
london
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“excellent location, 5 mins to old town pinxtos, no frills”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Reception very helpful, will give you as much information as you want/need, rooms are spotless, no frills, maid service each day, breakfast ok for a continental breakfast. Bathroom is modern, includes towels and shower gel and handsoap. Old town is a 5 minute walk, nearest beach is 4 minutes (longer beach is further), train station 15 min walk along the river - easy to get to, bus station 22 minute walk along river. If you want small hotel and good location this is for you. If you want any extras it's not.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonTubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    43
    27
    6
    4
See reviews for
17
46
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tourouzelle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

A convenient location and a simple hotel.
Not high on facilities or luxuries in the room but clean, tidy and sufficient.
Staff were very welcoming and helpful when needed - spoke excellent English.
Self service breakfast was again simple but adequate.

Room Tip: I had an inside room - with a lot of foot traffic on metal stairs from the next door building ( I th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We traveled for over two weeks in Spain and this was our biggest disappointment. The location is fine because it is near the Oldtown San Sebastian. Parking was not too difficult because we parked in the municipal parking garage essentially across the street. However the value of this hotel was just not there. It was overpriced. Our room was noisy And very small. It was a basic room and nothing more. The bed lamp broken. No soap in the bathroom. I would not recommend this hotel. I do not believe that we got a fair value for our money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels

Olympia Washington
Level Contributor
138 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

This is an expensive town! Stumbled (literally) across this hotel after attempting several others that were completely full.

Very nice front desk folks. Basic room, no amenities. Construction right outside our window. Good location, fine for a night. Charged us 100 euro for a double early September.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcmc1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on business.
Good location. 10 minute walk to main old town with its tapas!; close to the surfing beach. On a main road and above a bar but no noise inside, with windows closed.
Reception is simple: all the reception staff were friendly, spoke English, most spoke French as well. Very helpful.
12 rooms on the first floor. Lift.
Room was simple. Clean, new, small.. two single beds and a bench table. Bright. Apple, kiwi and small bottle water as complementary. Bed was comfortable; new mattress on the firm side. No minibar or fridge. Bathroom was compact but as long as only one person it it at a time then OK!. One shampoo, one gel, one small soap. Towels rather thin.
Nice touch was a yoghurt and fruit instead of the end of day small chocolate.
Wi-fi was both free and fast.
Breakfast in the basement room was very limited and simple. Toaster for standard sliced loaf; one salami, one cheese. Sticky croissant. Coffee machine. limited selection yoghurt. Tinned and fresh fruit. Fresh juice. Best was a very good tortilla espanol.
Overall a clean simple friendly hotel.. but as other reviewers have said expensive by European standards for a one star hotel. However recent report has put Donostia San Sebastian hotels as the third most expensive cty in Spain after Barcelona and Palma de Mallorca.

Room Tip: Rooms on on the first floor with a lift. Some are interior so may be quieter when the windows are op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgreenslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

It seems that hotels in San Sebastian are expensive - this one certainly was. It was perfectly adequate, even if the room was small and basic. Decor is modern and clean, and altough it's not in a particularly pretty area, it was quiet, so we had a good night's sleep. We di8dn't bother with breakfast which also seemed basic and over-priced. There's no parking (though you can drop off and pick up by the door), so the nearest car park costs 17.60 for a day. One night and parking cost 146 euros, which in my book is a LOT! The young man on reception was very helpful and welcoming, and spoke excellent English. It wasn't easy to find. It's worth knowing that the 'Gros' part of the name is the district of San Sebastian where the hotel is located.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back, so not facing the road, and therefore was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Panski50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

This one star hotel is very clean and modern and ideally situated for the old town and beaches. The rooms are small and basic but are modern and the bathrooms are fine. Parking is across the road in an underground car park, and you can get reduced rates at the hotel by prebooking (still 54 euros for 3 nights). Staff at reception are very friendly and the breakfast is only 7 euros and has a reasonable selection. BUT....the price. We booked last minute and had little choice of hotels with availability but 150-169 euros a night is double the cost which we would have expected for this hotel. If we had paid £70 a night it would have seemd good value and we would have been quite satisfied, but maybe thats just San Sebastian in July-August!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alison22Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.2 mi away
Arrizul Congress Hotel
Arrizul Congress Hotel
#20 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Arrizul Urumea
Hotel Arrizul Urumea
#21 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parma Hotel
Parma Hotel
#17 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Terminus
Hotel Terminus
#42 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
#14 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arrizul Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arrizul Center

Property: Hotel Arrizul Center
Address: c/ Pena y Goni, n 1, 20002 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Arrizul Center 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Arrizul Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing