We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed, quirky 3 star meal”
Review of Arzak

Arzak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$157 - US$179
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Doncaster
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Relaxed, quirky 3 star meal”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I can't say that I had any really world beating food here but we had a great time and everything was well prepared. Spain has such a wealth of incredible restaurants these days that Arzac feel a little outdated

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GourmetGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,683
    263
    152
    55
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not even close”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

we are well traveled new yorkers. we eat a lot of decorated restaurants and know a lot of decorated chefs. we didnt get it. people were nice but service was average for an average restaurant. for an any star restaurant it was a disaster. water and wine? forget about it unless you ask over and over again. food? we tried at least 10 dishes. i might order one again but it would have to be 1/3 the price. food was pretty but bland. many of the street pintxos were so much better. the prices were silly for the quality and portions. a good test of a restaurant is whether you would ever go back or whether there was a standout dish. the answer was no to both. this place would last about 6 months before going out of business in nyc. these michelin people just damaged their brand and someone owes me some money. not even close. try shaun hergatt's juni in nyc. most under-rated michelin chef you can find. he runs circles around this place

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jason z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Amazing food”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had a very nice evenig with amazing Food. It was exquisitely prepared, we tried a lot of different items, most of them realy very Special. Of course not all, even in a three star Michelin Restaurant can be perfect, but so what, we will be back next year for an other great experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YvonneWickler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wow what a disappointment!!!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

As traveler to NYC this restaurant has ALOT to learn!!! Service just was not good! we had to ask for water 3 times. They took our order and we had to ask for a wine list! Several times we received the wrong entrees!!! The head chef came out and we asked for a photo and he said I don't speak english. He went to tables but never ours. Over priced and food just ok....SAVE your $$$ Don't believe the hype!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank DrTodd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Each course was exquisitely prepared and more than enjoyable. You have a choice of items for most courses and I can't imagine you could make a wrong choice. My husband and I tried different items and each one was magnificent. The staff is attentive and professional. Be sure not to miss Arzak if you are in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arzak also viewed

San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
Lasarte, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 

Been to Arzak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing