We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Vitoria!”
Review of Gran Hotel Lakua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Hotel Lakua
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Vitoria-Gasteiz
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Driving North to the ferry at Bilbao, this was our third night stop, conveniently less than an hour from the Ferry port. (The Parador at Argomaniz is noisy, hot & too crowded with British returning home!)
This hotel is well located, 400 metres from the motorway & easy to find. It is modern & spacious, clean & quiet.
The bathroom was particularly well equipped ( a "must" for my Navigatrix, who really enjoys her bath at the end of the day!) There were 2 very wide double beds, comfortable & quiet. Flat screen TV, a large wardrobe with mirrors & Wi-Fi in the room.
The "Cafe Garnier" was spartan, but with interesting food displays. Their "sandwich mixto" was disappointing & costly: 28,50 € for 2 + a bottle of house red.
Plentiful underground parking for 13,50 €.
Dinner at the "Restaurant Margoa" was a let-down: nothing but complete Menus, ranging from 29 € per person to 76 €. Not what one wants when driving long distances, on a reasonable budget. The room was very modern & unappealing - only one other couple chose to risk it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh Wickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stopped over here on the drive down from Calais to Estepona. Nice, smart modern hotel on the edge of town - easily accessible from the main motorway routes north and south. I found it directly by using my TomTom but didn't look closely enough at the price rating. Really too flash a hotel for a one-night stopover but room was excellent. Car parking easy and convenient. Nice little bar-cafe next next door. Staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vagabundo1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel room is large and comfortable, a hotel restaurant is never the best decor but believe me the food is fantastic the chef is on is way to a michellin star and with a surprise the price for a 6 course meal including 1/2 bottle of wine it's only 35.00 euros. I congratulate all staff and management for making possible this to happen.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joaquim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The worst hotel i stayed, the room size, decoaratio and bath would be wonderful if cleaned, the hotel is so empty that i believe our room # 144 was never cleaned or stayed w/o cleaning for more than months, bad smell, a lot of dust on the floors...i got sick sleeping in there....

Stayed: June 2013
Thank Luiz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This is a great Hotel and the stay was really great.

Freindly persons, claen rooms and a great bar as well.

The distance to the centere of the city is just 10 € with the taxi

We had dinner in the resturant and we got served quit nicly. The price was accetable as well.

For the breakfeast you have a big selection of different things. We had Vegeterian with us and he got just the things he is going for

I would go again there

The price is really great

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerhard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Seated 5 km. outside the center of the small town Lakua is probably the most luxury hotel of the area...Big rooms without superb views (just big houses around) but with nice facilities. Also, very clean.
The breakfast buffet is somewhat average. The reastaurant is excellent with a nice chocie of meats and a very good stuff even without speaking modest English! But they serve you fast and gently...The stuff in reception is very friendly and helpful.
Not a cheap one hotel and no for travellers that looking for bargains...Sure is not a bust for the money that someone will spend...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkar1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

This Hotel is very elegant and very clean.
It is also very beautiful and peaceful. The stairs are so nice, the breakfast place is very clean and comfortable. The entrance door is a turning door which I personally love and a normal door.
Also the toilet's are very clean. There are sometimes different activities to enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moni E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vitoria-Gasteiz hotels
1.8 mi away
Silken Hotel Ciudad de Vitoria
Silken Hotel Ciudad de Vitoria
#2 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
961 reviews
2.5 mi away
Jardines de Uleta Suites Hotel
Jardines de Uleta Suites Hotel
#9 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
202 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sercotel Boulevard Vitoria Hotel
Sercotel Boulevard Vitoria Hotel
#4 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
NH Canciller Ayala Vitoria
NH Canciller Ayala Vitoria
#1 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
1,624 reviews
1.3 mi away
AC Hotel General Alava
AC Hotel General Alava
#7 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
391 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Vitoria
Holiday Inn Express Vitoria
#5 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Lakua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Lakua

Address: Tarragona 8, 01010 Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Alava > Vitoria-Gasteiz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vitoria-Gasteiz
Price Range: £55 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Lakua 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Gran Hotel Lakua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Vitoria Gasteiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing