We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Handy Stopover”
Review of Ruta de Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ruta de Europa
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Vitoria-Gasteiz
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We have stayed it this hotel a few times over the years and find it to be a hospitable, friendly and relaxing place to stay after a long drive through Spain or France. There is free and safe underground car parkingat the hotel. The main cafeteria is a busy, noisy and fascinating place, typical of Spanish stopovers, to spend time unwinding from ones labours. It is busy with constant streams of people coming in for a break on their journey and the food is good and wholesome. The hotel is fully air conditioned and is a welcome break from the Spanish summer heat. The rooms are comfortable and well provided for typical of any Holiday Inn type of accomodation. The last time we stopped there the room allocated was a non-smoking room but smelled of smoke. The accomodation area could benefit from a bit of redecoration, but on the whole it is a pleasant place to stay. The restaurant is a kind of old fashioned place with waitress service who wear the black and white uniforms. The food is excellent and varied and has a range of Basquess and typical Spanish fare all at reasonable prices. One important feature of the hotel is the accomodation block is separate from the cafe/restaurant and the noise levels in the rooms is negligable.
On the whole the hotel is of a good standard and it is a very convenient place on the motorway for a stopover on ones travels I would not hesitate stop again when we return to Spain next year.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2009

I first stayed at this hotel in 1997 and since then about once a year. We use it as an overnight stop on our way to/from France. The rooms are spacious and very clean and the beds just right (for us) after a long day on the road. There double glazing in the rooms is very effective as you can't hear the noise of the traffic on the dual carriageway.
We have never eaten in the restaurant but used the cafeteria, where we have sat at a long table to watch tv and the locals sometimes playing cards. The food in the cafeteria is generally basic but excellent. The service station is used as a stopover by lorry drivers but since it has an underground garage for the car we always use it. There is nothing surrounding the hotel so it really is just for a stopover, unless you wish to drive to Vitoria or Burgos.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laguna11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Txema B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018
Thank ChavelaVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Beltza_Tuareg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank jaromg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kurtOpDeBeeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vitoria-Gasteiz hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Vitoria
Holiday Inn Express Vitoria
#5 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
323 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sercotel Boulevard Vitoria Hotel
Sercotel Boulevard Vitoria Hotel
#4 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
386 reviews
3.8 mi away
Silken Hotel Ciudad de Vitoria
Silken Hotel Ciudad de Vitoria
#2 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
NH Canciller Ayala Vitoria
NH Canciller Ayala Vitoria
#1 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
1,671 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Centro Vitoria
Hotel Centro Vitoria
#11 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
189 reviews
3.9 mi away
AC Hotel General Alava
AC Hotel General Alava
#7 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruta de Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruta de Europa

Address: Carretera N-1 | Madrid-Irun Km. 341, Subijana de Alava, 01195 Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Alava > Vitoria-Gasteiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Vitoria-Gasteiz
Price Range: £43 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ruta de Europa 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner: Ana Isabel Sese Martinez ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ruta de Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing