We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and good sound isolation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa de los Arquillos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Our friends from Vitoria-Gasteiz recommended us this hotel and as we totally trust their choice we booked it (directly, not using booking.com or any other website as directly appeared to be cheaper). At first we booked 5 nights but later when our friends planned a trip out of Vitoria we asked to change the booking from 5 nights to 2+2 with a day interval, I expected that it could be a penalty cause we asked to change the booking too late but it was ok and without any charge. Most people say that this hotel is difficult to find and, frankly speaking, I think we really could spend much more time searching for it by ourselves, thanks God our friends knew where it is. Yet the location is just perfect - whenever you’d like to go as you’re in the Casco Viejo you’re close to everything - sightseeing and lots of cafes, restaurants. It’s prefect even if you want just to be out and sit in a shadow with an old local man on a bench to chat about how is it going on everything, and be sure he’d give you useful info such as all museums in Vitoria are free of charge etc (we were lucky to meet that senor en el Plaza de Espana )
As we had a booking 2+2 we had two different rooms for every 2 days of staying – the 1st on the 1st floor and the 2nd up, with a window in a roof and with a view on a church clock. Both rooms are designed very well and we liked that very much. The most important moment is that the 1st room’s window went to a very crowdy street (remember that the hotel is in the center?? And it was Friday actually when all of citizens want out for ‘’ir de copas’’ and it was extremely noisy outside)) but it was a good surprise that in the room you can hardly hear all that noise because of perfect sound isolation – as for my previous experience all hotels in old parts of towns (like in Tallinn, Estonia) are with very bad isolation.
Unfortunately we didn’t have time to check how the breakfast are good but they cleaned the rooms very good. And the stuff was very kind, friendly and helpful as well ))

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zhurali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for La Casa de los Arquillos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

Booked on line for 3 nights as part of a vacation trip through Northern Spain. When we arrived, found location locked with nobody on site to deal with. On calling the telephone number displayed, were informed that we had no reservation! This was 21:00 hrs, having driven from Zaragoza that afternoon. Lady(?) on the phone was rude, abrupt, insisted we had no reservation (although we had a printout) and simply hung up the phone when we insisted we had a reservation. Unless you can afford to ahve a back-up plan in the event of a similar experience, give this place a wide berth. Even if you manage to get accommodation, there is nobody on site to deal with any issues in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Padraic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed in Vitoria on our way to Bilbao and we decided to stay in "Casa de los Arquillos" and for sure it was a good decision. The hotel is clean, trendy and confortable.
The situation is perfect since you can visit the old town and eat the best tapas in the city from just a couple of minutes walking distance.
It is a little bit difficult to find and just make sure your baggage is not too heavy since there are some stairs to the hotel, but once you are in your room, everything is very confortable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMerenciano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Nice room, central location. Good service but parking, even for loading/ unloading was a problem. The rooms are on the 3rd and 4th level of an old building in the centre of Vitoria

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fryske67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

I reserved a 2 night stay (for September during the medieval festival) at this hotel in early May 2010. I had emailed the hotel after making the reservation asking for information on distance from the bus station but they never responded - this should have been an indicator. Unfortunately the hotel had to cancel my reservation due to building works about 2.5 weeks before the scheduled stay. I've been trying unsuccessfully to get my deposit of 144 euros returned for over 6 weeks. The hotel has been very difficult to work (unresponsive, cryptic/vague emails, etc....) with in getting the deposit returned so I've had to open up a case with my credit card company.

I visit the Basque country every year and am very disappointed at the lack of customer service exhibited in my dealings with this hotel. For this reason I'll never stay here and would not recommend it to anyone.

Details of my experience are ob this thread.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g187458-i3277-k3992589-Horrible_experiece_with_La_Casa_de_los_Arquillos_in_Vitoria-Vitoria_Gasteiz_Alava_Province_Basque_Country.html

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank CathyDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Very nice place with wonderful view to the church and central location in the middle of the heart of Vitoria. Well designed rooms, very stylish and bright.. Friendly and helpful owner. You need to be flexible with parking.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GermanTravelGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

This is a beautifully decorated B&B and the rooms were very comfortable so I can't complain there. The one big downside for us was the service. No English was spoken and although we were in Spain and we should really be speaking the local language, they are in the hospitality industry dealing with tourists. They were not helpful in trying to understand us at all.

After making the booking I tried to contact the hotel multiple times via email and phone but had no response. I wanted to find out if there were any parks near by, but unfortunately I could not get an answer from anyone. On arrival we simply found our own park as there was no communication from them.

We had booked a room for three on booking.com, but on arrival this was not available so they put a small fold up bed in the room.

Only other comment would be the common room. Although this is a great place to chat and meet other customers, be warned that you are charged for any drinks you have! This is not advertised anywhere, but they obviously keep track and charge you at the end. Very mis-leading as they were only waters and cokes etc...

I would recommend this hotel if you can speak Spanish or don't want any help/advice on the city. Otherwise, it may be best to look else where...

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nataleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vitoria-Gasteiz hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Canciller Ayala Vitoria
NH Canciller Ayala Vitoria
#1 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
1,572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silken Hotel Ciudad de Vitoria
Silken Hotel Ciudad de Vitoria
#2 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
907 reviews
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel General Alava
AC Hotel General Alava
#7 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Jardines de Uleta Suites Hotel
Jardines de Uleta Suites Hotel
#9 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
196 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sercotel Boulevard Vitoria Hotel
Sercotel Boulevard Vitoria Hotel
#4 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Centro Vitoria
Hotel Centro Vitoria
#13 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de los Arquillos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de los Arquillos

Address: C/Los Arquillos 1-2, 01001 Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Alava > Vitoria-Gasteiz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Vitoria-Gasteiz
Price Range: £62 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Casa de los Arquillos 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Casa de los Arquillos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing