We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must if you are in Formentera”

Playa de Ses Illetes
Book In Advance
More Info
US$37.68*
and up
Ibiza Independent Scooter Tour with Rental
Ranked #1 of 47 things to do in Formentera
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must if you are in Formentera”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Formentera is a fantastic place to visit. I went there with a group of friends on a day trip from Ibiza. We took the ferry in the morning and visited Playa de ses Illetes in the afternoon. The beach is beautiful and the water is so transparent and calm it looks like a swimming pool, but better! It is a paradise. When we went (in August), there was people but it wasnt full. It is also recommendable to go to "Kiosco El Pirata", where you can enjoy the sunset with good music and nice cocktails.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Aliciablc87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,802
    550
    133
    45
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
126 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Just paradise”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

If I had to think of just one word to describe this place, it would be "paradise". I did not want to leave. The sea was the clearest, most beautiful water I had ever seen. The snorkelling is good, too.

We went in Mid August and yes, the beach was packed. There was not a free sunbed in sight, although I was happy that I didn't pay 10 euro per sunbed/parasol as this would have set us back 30 euro just on loungers!

While the beach was packed at the end nearest the tourist bus drop off, we walked along the beach for about 10 minutes and it was MUCH quieter the other side. No need to share conversations with the people lying next to you - just keep walking a bit and there is a whole lot more space and privacy. Couldn't fault it. I really want to go back, easily my favourite place in the world.

Tip: Take a picnic rather than rely on nearby restaurants!!! I wish we had done this - the restaurant near the bus drop off was absolutely packed and the restaurant the other end of the beach was owned by Pacha and you know what that means - extortionate prices. It was a seafood restaurant but it was very very pricey. Even the coffee shop was ridiculous - we spent 35 euros on two baguettes, two packets of crisps and a large bottle of water. Each baguette was 10 euro and the water was 4.50 euro. For that price I'd expect luxury fluffy bread, but it was dry and bland and I didn't eat it all. Save your cash and take your own food and water.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Twiglet88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Last day in paradise”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

What a fantastic island to visit and so easy to get to by catamaran from Port Ibiza. We wanted to visit the beaches on Formentera and was told of the beautiful azure sea and white sands and had to see it for ourselves. We rented a car to aid our journey, too hot for a cycle ride and very welcome at the end of the day when we were tired and fulfilled with the joy of the beach.

Miles of sand landed by clear sea warmed by the endless sunshine. Today we beachcombed a sonbrillo (Sun brolly) which was our luck as we were ill prepared for the intense heat and di serve us well. Be wise and pack all you need for a day at the beach, sun shade are vital, water, snacks and whatever else makes your day more comfy. Please also take all rubbish and those who smoke please remember to take your butts. The beach also a nature reserve for those who care for that but you would have to be a very keen naturalist to enjoy it as it is natural dune ecology and not too exciting but probably has it's time to glory earlier or later in the year.

There is a parking/entrance fee for motor cars and motor cycles, again reasonable tariff but just be aware. The beach has many pathways/boardwalks meandering though the vast dunas, leading to different part of the beach. There are amenities, bar and restaurants, toilets so you can take a comfort break quite easily. Be aware for those of you who have wheel chairs the boardwalk is great but in places there will be steps and for those with babies the facilities are not adequate for baby changing so improvisation will be order of the day.

The beach area nearest the amenities are most busy, families maybe appreciating the proximity. Further along the beach is more sparsely occupied, which also provides more privacy and tranquility. Loved the whole day and really wished we had visited the island more times during our stay in Ibiza.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but prepare to play beach towel Tetris!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We visited here after catching the ferry from Cala Llonga. The sand and sea are picturesque, and the sea contains lots of beautiful fish.

The downside was that it was extremely busy, and there was barely enough room to put a towel down. As the beach got busier throughout the day, we noticed that the people around us were getting closer and closer as more people were bussed in. By the end, if you shook your beach towel, scores of people would be affected as it was so tightly packed.

We spent most of our time in the sea, which was perfect.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank britishbobby23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“paradise!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Now I'm home I could cry seeing the pictures of this beach. When I'm there it actually makes me giggle just how breathtakingly gorgeous it is! Saying that one side of it is very crowded in July and August but a quick stroll to the other side offers up lots of space for peaceful sunbathing. We also walked just over the headland on the last few days and found the most beautiful bay with max 4 couples at a time on it. Plenty of beach space for everyone!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Playa de Ses Illetes also viewed

Formentera, Balearic Islands
Ibiza Town, Ibiza
 
Formentera, Balearic Islands
Formentera, Balearic Islands
 

Been to Playa de Ses Illetes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing