We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Restaurante Rossini
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Restaurante Rossini is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #201 of 2,234 Restaurants in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$59
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: La Llotja-Born
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Recommended from somewhere I forget we decided to try it one lunchtime. We were the only people in there so it was pretty free of ambience. The food was average at best. We had a starter of carpaccio of monkfish and salmon which wasn't great - the monkfish was slightly frozen . The main courses of pasta I could have made myself at home. Regretted coming here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samandgabysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    40
    16
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Real Italian, and nice!”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Close to the cathedral and shops, it's worth hunting out if you want real Italian (all the staff seem to be Neapolitan). Between us we had an excellent Salmon dish, two different sorts of ravioli (both good) and spaghettini carbonara. The starters were the best bit; perfect mozzarella, generous portions of Parma ham and tasty bruschetta.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Three of us had dinner here last week, and all I can say it the food was amazing! I shared a caprese salad to start, the tomatoes were perfectly ripe, and the mozzarella creamy and smooth, for main course I had a simple dish of spaghetti with clams! I've had this dish dozens of times in numerous restaurants, and this was by far one of the best versions of this dish I have ever had!

While the location is down a side street, the main pitfall is that they do not have outside seating, which meant the restaurant was very quiet, as everyone wants to be outside in the summer! I wil say anytime of the year this place is well worth a visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomCork75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Whilst in the side street behind the shops,fanatic atmosphere with truely authetic Italian Dishes!”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Regular haunt of my cousin who lives in Palma who is a regular visitor to this restuarant & the quality of food,presentation & atomosphere of the Restaurant has not changed since I was last there several years ago.

We share a cople of starts between us,to have a couple of different tastes,wonderful.

Recommend any of the pasta dishes as amain course followed by their excellent deserts.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlynnWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallorca
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Love pasta and risotto? Love Rossini.”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Restaurante Rossini has been open for 12 years but because of its off-the-beaten-track location, in a quiet pedestrianised lane in the heart of Palma, I've only recently discovered it. In the space of just a few weeks I've had lunch here three times - once to write a restaurant review for a local magazine, once on my own, and the third time, with my other half.

Rossini is owned by Ciro, who - like Sophia Loren (whose photo is on the wall in the restaurant) - hails from Naples. All the staff here (including chef) are Italian, and efficient and friendly. I've not yet had to ask for the pepper mill here - it's always appeared at the appropriate moment.

The menu includes a good choice of starters. I particularly enjoyed the grilled vegetables, which were delicious. The first time I ate here, we had starters, pasta, fish and meat, and dessert. And I had a very full tum. Portions here are generous, making it excellent value for money.

For me, the star dishes at Rossini are those featuring rice and the home-made pasta.The past two occasions that I've lunched here I've had the same risotto dish - simply because it was so yummy and accompanied by large juicy prawns. I must go again soon and try not to be seduced again by the delicious dishes I've already tried.

Rossini is a welcoming and cosy kind of place, with a few tables on the mezzanine floor for more intimacy. Diners here are a cosmopolitan mix. During my second lunch here, I got chatting with a couple of Mallorcan women on the next table; French chatter was coming from another table, and I also heard German - and, of course, Italian.

Find Rossini and you've found a great place to enjoy authentic Italian cuisine. And a warm welcome from Ciro.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MallorcaJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimo, Propietario at Restaurante Rossini, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Google Translation
gracias por su visita y por su comentario....las esperamo con mucho gusto..hasta pronto...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Rossini also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Restaurante Rossini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing