We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 3 August 2009

My husband I have have just returned from a weekend in Palma staying at the Santa Clara. As soon as we arrived we knew we had made the right choice. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist who spoke fluent English. Our room was very cool - stone walls, spacious, with a great wet room (and lovely toiletries). The spa area is small but great - especially when you have it to yourself. Best of all for us was the roof terrace - great view over the old town and somewhere to relax and have a drink after a busy day of sight seeing. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. It is a hidden gem in the quiet backstreets of Palma.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    122
    25
    18
    6
See reviews for
65
307
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

The location, building, views and staff all make this hotel a little gem tucked away in the old streets of Palma.

The Room - We stayed for 7 nights in a wonderful double room over looking the Santa Clara Convent. The room was beautifully decorated in simple white and natural tones. The building has been sympathetically restored leaving much exposed brick work and features so you get the feel of the old mixed in with the classy sleek modern of the new.

The rooms were always very clean and the house keeping staff did a fantastic job.

There is a mini bar which is refilled daily. Drinks include water, fruit juices, beer and some spirits. Snacks are either Pringles or chocolate bars.

The air conditioning in the room is amazing; you could have it like a fridge if you liked which is a welcome home after the very hot August Palma sunshine.

The TV however looked great, and reception was great, but only Spanish channels to select from (not even CNN news........)

Food and Drink - Breakfast was served between 8am-11am with a variety of fresh fruit and juices, teas and coffees, cerreals, breads & pastries or cooked breakfast.

There was a limited food menu available between 6pm-10pm which from recollection included a vegetarian pasta dish, burger etc. These timings also related to a drinks service but if you are in the hotel during the day reception will bring you whatever drink you required.

Roof Top - The roof top sun lounge has fantastic views across to the Cathedral and harbour. It is a lovely location to have a drink and sit and watch the sun set (or if you're hardcore sunbath during the day). However there are three sun beds and two groups of seating areas, this is small for the number of guests that the hotel can accommodate and in the evening it's first come first served. This limitation is obviously due to the nature of the building and the hotel has been successful in making the area attractive and relaxing while maximising the space (don't let this put you off!!!).

Staff - The Reception staff are wonderful, very hands on and nothing is too much trouble. Their manner is very down to earth and friendly. They assisted immediately when our shower flooded (a minor one off incident resolved without fuss) and stepped in to assist and translate when our holiday company messed up our collection time on our day of departure and sent a taxi too early.

There is a wonderful Italian gentelman who will look after you at breakfast and in the evening for drinks and food. Nothing is too much trouble and every guest gets treated as an individual. He is very charming.

Location - Is great, a few minutes walk to the Cathedral. About a 5 minute walk to some great shops, restaurants and Harbour.

Things To Do - The Born area of town is great for shops, names include Boss, H&M, Zara, Pepe, Y3 (look out not to step on the very cute Scottie having a snooze) and lots of great independent stores.

We visited the Cathedral which is a must see and were very lucky to see someone getting married.

Also a trip to Soller on the Soller railway through the Olive Groves and citrus trees. Then take a tram to Port de Soller for a great day out.

And the Es Baluard, Museu d'Art Modern i Contemporani de Palma is great. Fantastic views, beautiful modern building and museum with a great book shop and really nice place for lunch or dinner.

Places to Eat - We had some really bad food (Spanish omellete in a baguette) and stay away from food places in Placa Major. But on the up side some great food (would recommend Cappunccino Sant Miguel, the outside courtyard is lovely and Es Baluard, Museu d'Art Modern i Contemporani de Palma).

Enjoy Palma!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheekerBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Staff were very helpful and happy to oblige (we had a blocked sink/loo/shower) but it was sorted within minutes.
Rooms are large, spacious and spotless. We had a very quiet room, overlooking the church and I haven't slept so well in years! Bed was huge and comfy and the room had a lovely cool, airy, contemporary feel to it.
5 mins walk into the town or beach front and only 15 mins away in cab from airport. Bike hire reasonable and supplied by hotel.
Overall - would definately stay again if I was in Palma for a few days. Lovely relaxing roof garden, but perhaps a hotel with a pool and nicer bar/restaurant would be better for longer stays (Portixol).

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freelander1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

We stayed in this hotel for a week in June. On arrival we were greeted warmly and as a nice surprise we were upgraded to a Superior Double Room. The room was quite large and spotlessly clean. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable. The location is excellent - it's in the old town but just 5 minutes walk to the Cathedral and all the restaurants.

We would also recommed the food here. We had breakfast every morning and found it very tasty - excellent coffee!! Their room service menu is also very good if not a bit pricey.

We had planned on using the spa but on checking their prices found that they were too expensive.

The roof terrace is most certainly an added bonus. We spent many hours relaxing and taking in the wonderful views. It's also very nice for a pre-dinner or after dinner drink.

I would most certainly return to this hotel but perhaps not stay as long as the island of Mallorca is beautiful and there are lots of places around the island I now wish to visit!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

We stayed in this hotel in June 2009. It is located in a very quiet part of the old town, with some rooms and the roof terrace having fabulous views of the cathedral and sea. The old adage ' You get what you pay for' stands with this hotel. It is not cheap, but the money you pay gets you superbly apportioned rooms with great facilities, quality linen and towels. The rooms are serviced daily very thoroughly. The breakfasts are plentiful and delicious. What really marks this hotel out though is the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and every enquiry was greeted with a friendly and swift response. My partner was unwell during our stay (nothing to do with the hotel) and the staff from the cleaners to the receptionists went out of their way to help out and make him feel more comfortable. We would definately return. 100% recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gegster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2009

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights and liked the Santa Clara very much. The location is perfect - in the historic part of the city, just 5 minutes from the Cathedral and not much further from everywhere else of interest. Our room on the first floor overlooked the Convent, it was quite large with high ceilings, very calming and the beds were so comfortable. We had a slight problem with the shower overflowing but the staff came immediately and sorted it out. The breakfast room is very trendy, the buffet was set out beautifully and on offer was a good choice of fresh fruit, yoghurts, meat, cheese, lovely little pastries, or a small choice of hot food. Coffee was made freshly for you by the barman. Downstairs is a small spa, we had a massage and a facial which was enjoyable after a few hours on the roof terrace. This is great - so peaceful overlooking the rooftops of Palma, with comfy sofas and sunloungers - when we were there it was very quiet and sometimes we had it all to ourselves. Just the spot after a morning sightseeing. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owlsfan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, Dorset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

Had a two night stay in this hotel & wish that I had booked for two weeks instead. The hotel was quiet so they upgraded our room - ask for a cathedral view as this looks out over a very peaceful courtyard area.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful - delivering drinks up to the terrace really quickly. We hired bikes at the hotel (which seemed to have hardly been used before) & cycled for miles along the cycle coast path past Portixol - if you get chance stop for amazing paella at El Bungalow which is right on the water & packed with locals - amazing!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izzy-Poole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.2 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#2 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
420 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#15 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,447 reviews
0.4 mi away
AH Art Hotel Palma
AH Art Hotel Palma
#1 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
#5 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa

Property: Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
Address: Calle Sant Alonso 16, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#15 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests fall in love with Palma, with our hotel, the charm of the old town and the beautiful views from our upper terrace. Come stay at Santa Clara Hotel to enjoy the proximity of the 10th century Arab baths, the Gothic Cathedral and the other host of attraction around the old town. Our hotel offers 4 star luxury rooms and suites with high ceilings, rustic stone walls and views to the surrounding sights of the old town. Relax in our urban spa featuring a Jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath or try one of the massage and beauty treatments. We also provide a conference room equipped with audio-visual equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Clara Urban Hotel And Spa
Santa Clara Urban Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Hotel Santa Clara Urban
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing