We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Santa Clara was fabulous. Clean, beautiful rooms with high ceilings. Spacious and great location. Fabulous views from the roof deck. Great value! Stay here while in Palma. No complaints whatsoever!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephvol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2009

The hotel is right in the middle of the old town of Palma in a beautifully restored convent. It was so close to everything of importance and really made our visit to Palma special. The rooms are first class and different and the breakfast was very enjoyable - in fact I will go so far as to say that it was the best continental breakfast I have had anywhere. Gracious service at the front desk and breakfast room combined with stunning views from the roof top lounge. Lastly, it was outstanding value particularly compared with the many anonymous hotels in Palma that charge much higher prices. I see the there is one poor review on the site, clearly it is a mistake and the person could not possibly have stayed in the hotel. 50 metres from the hotel is a restaurant called los caracoles where we had top class tapas - strongly recommended(the front desk sent us to it)

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BrendanDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Clean, bright spacious rooms with a good sized wetroom. The shower was especially good. The shampoo/ shower gel were lovely as expected from a spa hotel. What let the hotel down, in my opinion was the staff ratio. From what I could gather the receptionist was also the waiter and bar tender as required. When we arrived our room was not ready ( we were early) so we ventured up to the terrace to have some lunch and a bottle of wine. Lunch was not available but we did manage to get some wine while we spent time in the sun looking at the view. Had we arrived a day later though, we would not have had access to the terrace due to repairs. That was the one and only time we managed to sit up on the terrace.
Location is great. It is in the heart of the old city and there is a bus to the airport (2 euro) a 5 min walk to the main road.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whereyougoingnext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

My husband I have have just returned from a weekend in Palma staying at the Santa Clara. As soon as we arrived we knew we had made the right choice. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist who spoke fluent English. Our room was very cool - stone walls, spacious, with a great wet room (and lovely toiletries). The spa area is small but great - especially when you have it to yourself. Best of all for us was the roof terrace - great view over the old town and somewhere to relax and have a drink after a busy day of sight seeing. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. It is a hidden gem in the quiet backstreets of Palma.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goldcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

The location, building, views and staff all make this hotel a little gem tucked away in the old streets of Palma.

The Room - We stayed for 7 nights in a wonderful double room over looking the Santa Clara Convent. The room was beautifully decorated in simple white and natural tones. The building has been sympathetically restored leaving much exposed brick work and features so you get the feel of the old mixed in with the classy sleek modern of the new.

The rooms were always very clean and the house keeping staff did a fantastic job.

There is a mini bar which is refilled daily. Drinks include water, fruit juices, beer and some spirits. Snacks are either Pringles or chocolate bars.

The air conditioning in the room is amazing; you could have it like a fridge if you liked which is a welcome home after the very hot August Palma sunshine.

The TV however looked great, and reception was great, but only Spanish channels to select from (not even CNN news........)

Food and Drink - Breakfast was served between 8am-11am with a variety of fresh fruit and juices, teas and coffees, cerreals, breads & pastries or cooked breakfast.

There was a limited food menu available between 6pm-10pm which from recollection included a vegetarian pasta dish, burger etc. These timings also related to a drinks service but if you are in the hotel during the day reception will bring you whatever drink you required.

Roof Top - The roof top sun lounge has fantastic views across to the Cathedral and harbour. It is a lovely location to have a drink and sit and watch the sun set (or if you're hardcore sunbath during the day). However there are three sun beds and two groups of seating areas, this is small for the number of guests that the hotel can accommodate and in the evening it's first come first served. This limitation is obviously due to the nature of the building and the hotel has been successful in making the area attractive and relaxing while maximising the space (don't let this put you off!!!).

Staff - The Reception staff are wonderful, very hands on and nothing is too much trouble. Their manner is very down to earth and friendly. They assisted immediately when our shower flooded (a minor one off incident resolved without fuss) and stepped in to assist and translate when our holiday company messed up our collection time on our day of departure and sent a taxi too early.

There is a wonderful Italian gentelman who will look after you at breakfast and in the evening for drinks and food. Nothing is too much trouble and every guest gets treated as an individual. He is very charming.

Location - Is great, a few minutes walk to the Cathedral. About a 5 minute walk to some great shops, restaurants and Harbour.

Things To Do - The Born area of town is great for shops, names include Boss, H&M, Zara, Pepe, Y3 (look out not to step on the very cute Scottie having a snooze) and lots of great independent stores.

We visited the Cathedral which is a must see and were very lucky to see someone getting married.

Also a trip to Soller on the Soller railway through the Olive Groves and citrus trees. Then take a tram to Port de Soller for a great day out.

And the Es Baluard, Museu d'Art Modern i Contemporani de Palma is great. Fantastic views, beautiful modern building and museum with a great book shop and really nice place for lunch or dinner.

Places to Eat - We had some really bad food (Spanish omellete in a baguette) and stay away from food places in Placa Major. But on the up side some great food (would recommend Cappunccino Sant Miguel, the outside courtyard is lovely and Es Baluard, Museu d'Art Modern i Contemporani de Palma).

Enjoy Palma!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheekerBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Staff were very helpful and happy to oblige (we had a blocked sink/loo/shower) but it was sorted within minutes.
Rooms are large, spacious and spotless. We had a very quiet room, overlooking the church and I haven't slept so well in years! Bed was huge and comfy and the room had a lovely cool, airy, contemporary feel to it.
5 mins walk into the town or beach front and only 15 mins away in cab from airport. Bike hire reasonable and supplied by hotel.
Overall - would definately stay again if I was in Palma for a few days. Lovely relaxing roof garden, but perhaps a hotel with a pool and nicer bar/restaurant would be better for longer stays (Portixol).

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freelander1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

We stayed in this hotel for a week in June. On arrival we were greeted warmly and as a nice surprise we were upgraded to a Superior Double Room. The room was quite large and spotlessly clean. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable. The location is excellent - it's in the old town but just 5 minutes walk to the Cathedral and all the restaurants.

We would also recommed the food here. We had breakfast every morning and found it very tasty - excellent coffee!! Their room service menu is also very good if not a bit pricey.

We had planned on using the spa but on checking their prices found that they were too expensive.

The roof terrace is most certainly an added bonus. We spent many hours relaxing and taking in the wonderful views. It's also very nice for a pre-dinner or after dinner drink.

I would most certainly return to this hotel but perhaps not stay as long as the island of Mallorca is beautiful and there are lots of places around the island I now wish to visit!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.2 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
826 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
#4 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
558 reviews
0.7 mi away
HM Jaime III
HM Jaime III
#12 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,007 reviews
0.4 mi away
AH Art Hotel Palma
AH Art Hotel Palma
#2 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa

Address: Calle Sant Alonso 16, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#15 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: £109 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests fall in love with Palma, with our hotel, the charm of the old town and the beautiful views from our upper terrace. Come stay at Santa Clara Hotel to enjoy the proximity of the 10th century Arab baths, the Gothic Cathedral and the other host of attraction around the old town. Our hotel offers 4 star luxury rooms and suites with high ceilings, rustic stone walls and views to the surrounding sights of the old town. Relax in our urban spa featuring a Jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath or try one of the massage and beauty treatments. We also provide a conference room equipped with audio-visual equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Clara Urban Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Santa Clara Urban Hotel And Spa
Hotel Santa Clara Urban
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing