We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, wonderful city!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2010

This was my first visit to Palma although my wife had been three months previous to this visit hence our choice for this trip. The Santa Clara Urban is a lovely small contemporary hotel located centrally in the old part of the city, 5 minutes from the Cathedral. Our room (junior suite 107) was spotlessly clean and roomy and all the staff were extremely courteous, helpful and friendly.

We had a couple of minor gripes which may not bother others but given the weather wasn't brilliant last week, we would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in the room and perhaps more than 3 TV channels (all news) in English given the 700 odd other choices available. The in house 'restaurant' has a limited menu although given the plethora of local eating places, this isn't really a problem.

Overall, we would recommend this hotel to anybody without hesitation, it is in the perfect location, extremely clean, great staff and very pleasant surroundings. The roof top terrace is a bonus should the weather be fine when you stay.

Palma is a wonderful place to visit and if you get the chance, hire a car a see the splendour of Formentor and the rest of the island, this trip has completely changed my conception of this beautiful island.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannieBrightonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2010

Great location in the heart of the Old Town, rooms are spacious and stylish and it seemed that I would have a very good stay there... however, housekeeping let the hotel down terribly.
There was dust and bits on the floor and the table, loads of hair on the bed headboard and a generally unkclean bathroom. As it was later in the day, I didn't complain to see if there could be something the hotel could offer...

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

We stayed at the Santa Clara for a weekend and got fantastic rates through Octopus travel.
Beautiful hotel, the room we had was spacious and stylish.
We didn't eat at the hotel but the staff recommended some great tapas restaurants nearby.
The location of the hotel is great for walking to the port/beaches/restaurants.
I would highly recommend this hotel, and I'm very fussy about where I stay!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Elegant place with nice little spa, good breakfasts and charming staff. Very pleasant, quiet room with view over church/convent and gardens. Highly recommended for a short winter break.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cr7London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We went to Palma for New Years eve and the Santa Clara was the perfect place to stay.
The hotel was spotlessly clean, very quiet and they have lovely breakfasts.
We had a superior double room which was very spacious. I would certainly stay here again next time I visit Palma.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannymc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2009

what a nice change from large hotels, this is a small and unique chic hotel that is modernized and in a nice location. Just a few minute walk to the Catedral and to downtown Palma. I would stay here again. booked room on splendia.com and got good rate. Nice market to get things for room within 20 yards

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JollyGoodFellas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

Had a great 3 night stay at the Santa Clara - very smart, very friendly chic urban hotel in the old town of Palma. The location is superb and the rooms are surprisingly large (we had a superior double), special mention must go to Lisa on reception and the very friendly tall Italian waiter/barman - sorry didn't catch his name.

The rooftop terrace with great views was an added bonus and despite the poor weather we encountered it was really nice to enjoy a drink on the terrace and watch the sunset before enjoying a night out in town - ok the drinks are expensive (but nothing compared to the Abaco bar - 32 euros for 2 Gin and tonics!!!!) but as the wife says 'it's holiday money'.

As mentioned the room (201) was large and airy, brilliant large, comfortable bed, great timber beamed ceiling with (temperamental) electronic velux skylight and new, quality flatscreen TV - with BBC world news contrary to what someone else thought, admittedly difficult to find amongst the 100 or so German channels. Talking of Germans, the hotel also has a nice spa in the basement complete with sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, I used it the first evening and was all on my own which was great, the second evening I walked in to be confronted by a stark naked :-o Herr Schmidt 'Guten tag' he says without a nod or a wink, 'Evening' says I as I walked past and entered the sauna - to be confronted by an equally stark naked Frau Schmidt :-)))) well I didn't where to look, she on the other hand didn't bat an eyelid! Me being a shy, bashful Englishman naturally kept my speedos on - you have been warned!!

Only a couple of minor negatives, the cold water in the taps and the shower was not cold, in fact it was hot, very hot - so clearly a bit of a problem with the plumbing - the room was warm and a bit stuffy - the aircon despite having a cold setting did not blow out cold air, in fact it blew out warm air and as the first night it was raining we couldn't open the skylight. We did open the windows and with the hotel being in a lovely atmospheric narrow street you tended to hear every noise - not that it was noisy, far from it, but these were just minor gripes, if we had been staying longer perhaps we would have mentioned it to reception but it was no big deal.

There's a couple of bars and restaurants nearby that I can recommend - La Taberna del Caracol which is in the same road as the hotel - come out and go to your left, which the hotel recommended - very good and friendly and again nearby Bar Bayo which is full of young locals eating great tapas and having a good time. Down towards the harbour it's more touristy but there's still a couple of good bars but more expensive and the incredible previously mentioned Abaco bar - gulp!

So all in all, great hotel - yes I would recommend it - especially if you contact the hotel direct, you will get a better deal than what's advertised on the website. Incidentally also looked in on the top rated Tres hotel, which looked pretty good - didn't get to see the rooms but thought the Santa Clara was in a better quieter, location and had more character and class about it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pressure_Drop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
#4 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
569 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,765 reviews
1 mi away
HM Balanguera
HM Balanguera
#11 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
861 reviews
0.7 mi away
HM Jaime III
HM Jaime III
#12 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,042 reviews
1.4 mi away
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
#16 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa

Address: Calle Sant Alonso 16, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#15 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: £112 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests fall in love with Palma, with our hotel, the charm of the old town and the beautiful views from our upper terrace. Come stay at Santa Clara Hotel to enjoy the proximity of the 10th century Arab baths, the Gothic Cathedral and the other host of attraction around the old town. Our hotel offers 4 star luxury rooms and suites with high ceilings, rustic stone walls and views to the surrounding sights of the old town. Relax in our urban spa featuring a Jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath or try one of the massage and beauty treatments. We also provide a conference room equipped with audio-visual equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Clara Urban Hotel And Spa
Santa Clara Urban Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Hotel Santa Clara Urban
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing