We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in great location with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Darmstadt
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in great location with excellent service”
Reviewed 16 August 2010

location: great: only 5 minutes by foot through the historic old town to the cathedral, but not within the tourist area. 15 minutes walk to the public sand beach of palma. 8 minutes walk to public parkin in case you rent a car.
hotel:
room: we had the junior suite on the ground level. The room is spacious and well equiped with a modern bath. Our room was the worst in the hotel in terms of view as our window was out to the street on walking level with bypassers, therefore the window shutters stayd closed all the time and we felt a little like in a basement. But I guess this is the only room with this problem as all other rooms (even the regular rooms are only slightly smaller than our suite!) are either facing the beautiful inner court yard garden or if they face the street are higher up, so no walker-bys can look into the room. And the rooms are not soundproof at all: from 8 o clock on we could hear the rattling from the breakfast buffet.
The breakfast buffet was ok but nothing extraordinary, for 15 euros per person a bit on the expensive site. If you only want coffe, juice and a croissant you better go to a bar around the corner.
Great service at the front desk: very helpful with suggestions and reservations!
I had a pedicure in the Spa in the basement which was good.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herbstlaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    122
    25
    18
    6
See reviews for
66
311
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

We booked Santa Clara after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed.

The taxi from the airport overcharged us on the way - make sure you agree the fare before you leave the airport! We were greeted by courteous friendly staff and checked in efficiently.

Our room was large and spacious. It was nice. Santa Clara is a basic clean attentive hotel. I think we expected more after all the amazing reviews.

The hotel does not have everything on it's doorstep, however everything is accessible by a 10-15 minute walk ie all the tourist attractions and bars and tapas restaurants...it is easy to navigate your way through Palma once you get used to it.

Get your water from the supermarket in the centre. 75 cents for a 5 litre bottle!

We took a taxi to Magaluf one night to go and see the circus! It was only about 20 minutes away.

Nice small spa, treatments have to be booked ahead so that therapist can come to the hotel.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LONDONMANIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

I stayed at the Santa Clara for 3 nights with my partner. The hotel is a small hotel 20 rooms in the old town of Palma. The decor is wonderful an excllent mix of modern and traditional. We had a junior suite which was lovely, large room with sofa and large wardrobe, stone walls. The bed was very comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean.

The staff are very friendly and helpful suggesting restaurants and places to visit and will do anything to help.

The hotel is located in the old part of town in a very quiet area, it is easy to get lost so make sure you take a map out with you.

The only thing is I would have liked a mirror in the room to use my hair straighteners!!

Overall excellent for a romantic weekend in a beautiful city.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank htravel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2010

This small little urban retreat if located on the quiet walking alleyways of Palma. Staff friendly, and very helpful in finding local fun.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomTomB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2010

simply spotles and charming pace to stay
with verry good location and quite as long they dont repair any building in the neiborhood

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bestenergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Antrim, N. Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Located in the narrow cobbled streets of the old town, approx 5 mins walk from rhe cathedral, and the excellent selection of shops and restaurants. A lovely mix of modern furnishings against exposed stone walls. Our room was spacious, well equipped, with an excellent en suite. The hotel was spotless throughout, with friendly and helpfull staff. A small roof terrace with excellent views over the rooftops. If you have a hire car, then parking isn't too convenient, and you have to drag your cases over the cobbles. Good value deals can be found with a bit of research.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Really super hotel (slightly difficult to find) boutique style right in the heart of the old town, but away from the tourist trail. Easy walk to wonderful squares with bars and restaurants. Also in easy walk of the main area around the cathedral with all the bars and tapas places. We booked a suite, which has the bed on a mezzanine floor, and although the room was nice, I felt it was expensive for what you actually got. However we had a great time. We hired a smart car for the duration, and explored the various parts of Mallorca.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetravel67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.2 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#2 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
771 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#15 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,464 reviews
0.4 mi away
AH Art Hotel Palma
AH Art Hotel Palma
#1 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
#5 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa

Property: Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
Address: Calle Sant Alonso 16, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#15 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests fall in love with Palma, with our hotel, the charm of the old town and the beautiful views from our upper terrace. Come stay at Santa Clara Hotel to enjoy the proximity of the 10th century Arab baths, the Gothic Cathedral and the other host of attraction around the old town. Our hotel offers 4 star luxury rooms and suites with high ceilings, rustic stone walls and views to the surrounding sights of the old town. Relax in our urban spa featuring a Jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath or try one of the massage and beauty treatments. We also provide a conference room equipped with audio-visual equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Clara Urban Hotel And Spa
Santa Clara Urban Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Hotel Santa Clara Urban
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing