We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for business”
Review of UR Palacio Avenida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
UR Palacio Avenida
Ranked #46 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great for business”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I've just booked up for my third stay at this hotel, for the end of October after having stayed 2 nights each time in April and again in July this year.

I have to say that on both occasions I have been very impressed and would give the hotel 10/10, for what I want, which is a central base with good communication links.

I found the staff very friendly - eg enabling me to amend to a late checkout - the hotel is clean, the bedrooms very comfortable with good showers - one niggle that yes, it does get hot as the Air Con doesn't let you go super cool, but hey I can live with that.

I've also noticed that there is never anybody in the bar, but there are some exceptional bars and restaurants within 5 minutes walk so its not an issue.

I don't see it as a holiday hotel; but as a short city break or business hotel it takes a lot of beating and I will certainly be using it as a base for my quarterly visits for the foreseeable future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back and stress that you like good air con or a breeze!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mister_Bear14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristian G, Manager at UR Palacio Avenida, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you on behalf of all the staff of the UR Hotel Palacio Avenida and myself all these comments about our hotel. This feedback stimulates us to continue with the pursuit of improvement in the service for our guests. It is really a pleasure for us to know that we are working in the right direction in order to satisfy our guests expectations.

Expressing again my gratitude to you and waiting for your next stay in the UR Palacio Avenida,

Yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    223
    110
    25
    23
See reviews for
27
300
37
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed here in June 2011 for a long weekend. The hotel looked great from the pictures we saw online and I have to say, the room and whole hotel setting looked exactly as it did on the web. Relief! We had great service, very friendly and helpful staff. We took a room only option but you can grab yourself a quick breakfast in the café downstairs. The area is actually really practical, because you have a car park literally across the road from the hotel and you get discounted prices for being a hotel customer. It ended up being super cheap! It takes about 10-15 mins to walk to the port and the happening areas. A taxi costs next to nothing if you're too tired.
All in all it was a really pleasant stay, it surpassed my expectations! I also think it was good value for money I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarcelonaBcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristiangf, Director General at UR Palacio Avenida, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you on behalf of all the staff of the UR Hotel Palacio Avenida and myself all these comments about our hotel. This feedback stimulates us to continue with the pursuit of improvement in the service for our guests. It is really a pleasure for us to know that we are working in the right direction in order to satisfy our guests expectations.

Expressing again my gratitude to you and waiting for your next stay in the UR Palacio Avenida,

Yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

The hotel is a design hotel and it looks nice, breakfast is great and location is too. The rooms are nice and it is true that some things don't work the way they should however after telling this to the reception they fixed it the next day.
Be aware that parking is quit expensive when you are staying here, 17,50 a day in a public parking.
The hotel is quit smaller than you expect. Don't expect to find a nice bar inside, I haven't found anyone in there during my stay. Also the rooms are smaller than on the pictures, they do look nice but it feels a bit claustrofobic everywhere in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights in August 2011. The location was perfect with bus stops, taxi rank, restaurants within a 2 minute walk. We got the bus to the beach everyday which was about 10 minutes to Illetes or Cala Major. Within a 10 min walk you were on the edges of the old town. The cathedral was approx 20 min walk. The room itself was very spacious, clean and very modern with a king bed. The bathroom was fantastic. The walk in shower was enormous and powerful with water coming out of the wall. No UK tv channels but bath robes and toiletries provided. Breakfast was a wide selection of continental plus eggs etc could be ordered via the waitress. The guy on evening reception was grumpy but the day time reception staff were very helpful with locating things on the map and telling us which bus to get where and even recommending tapas places to eat. This hotel was definitely no less than 4 star and I would recommend this hotel and stay there again. We found it hard deciding between staying at the Marina end of town or here but we know we made the right choice after walking down to the Marina, its just high rise hotels and nightlife.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristiangf, Director General at UR Palacio Avenida, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Dear guest,

I want to thank you your comments about our hotel on behalf of all the staff of the UR Palacio Avenida and myself. All this feedback stimulates us to continue with the pursuit of improvement in the service for our clients, which is our main target.
It is really a pleasure for us to know that we are working in the right direction in order to satisfy our guests expectations.
Expressing again my gratitude to you and waiting for your next stay in the UR Palacio Avenida

Yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Stayed here 2 nights, at the start and end of a holiday (we had a week self catering in Soller). Very convienient on the Placa d'Espanya, which was a 2 euro bus ride from the airport, and bus stop is right outside the hotel. Furthermore it is very close to the train station for Soller, and also the main bus station to the rest of the island. The city and shops and restauarants were just a few minutes walk, and opposite the hotel is a square with a few bars and restaurants.
Rooms very comfortable. On the 2nd night we arrived early, and were upgraded to a suite. Superb. The staff on reception were exceptionally friendly and helpful. OK it's a modern hotel without too much atmosphere, but was perfect for a base to stroll around Palma, and a good night's sleep

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trimley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The hotel is great for a short stay to explore the beautiful city of Palma de Mallorca. Very centrally located, just a 2 minutes walk of the main shopping street. Also the buses for other places on the island and the airport, leaves right outside the hotel. The rooms are spacious with a nice stylish decor. The staff were friendly and helpful. For the price we paid I would recommend this hotel for a short city break.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellinae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

I would not choose to stay at this hotel again. We picked it because if its convenient location but it was probably not worth it.
Check-in was one of the slowest I ever experienced. The room was very uncomfortable and you can't set the air conditioning below 22C. The bed was not comfortable at all. The guy at the reception was usually not helpful at all and usually on the phone.
Staying in the center was great for exploring Palma. This hotel was right on Plaza Espana so it was very convenient for AIrport bus. If I could go again I would stay in Illetes and take the bus to the city center. But that might be a beach vacation instead of exploring the city.
Free Internet was a plus. If you are not travelling alone you might need to ask for two accounts.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musti_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palma de Mallorca
6.3 mi away
Hotel Riu San Francisco
Hotel Riu San Francisco
#24 of 77 in Playa de Palma
137 reviews
4.0 mi away
AluaSoul Palma
AluaSoul Palma
#7 of 24 in Can Pastilla
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
UR Mision de San Miguel
UR Mision de San Miguel
#48 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palladium
Hotel Palladium
#38 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
271 reviews
34.4 mi away
Hotel JS Cape Colom
Hotel JS Cape Colom
#2 of 7 in Porto Colom
358 reviews
3.1 mi away
Be Live Adults Only La Cala Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UR Palacio Avenida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UR Palacio Avenida

Property: UR Palacio Avenida
Address: Calle Marques de La Fontsanta 2, 07005 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — UR Palacio Avenida 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel UR Palacio Avenida is a modern establishment, which opened its doors in 2009 after being carefully refurbished by the well-known architect Bruno Borrione, member of the Philippe Starck team. The result of his hard work was a perfect balance between comfort and design. The materials used and the great details that went into the conversion of this emblematic building, which originally and since 1942 had been the Cinema Avenida, to the current day UR Palacio Avenida, have led to the hotel being a highly considered boutique hotel in the city.The hotel remains open all year round and offers a personalised service to both businessmen and those who simply wish to enjoy their holidays.Its central location, with direct access to public transport makes it easy to reach any part of the island.A few meters away from the hotel is located the largest public parking of the city and only 300 meters away, is located the Hotel UR Mision de San Miguel where a private parking is available for hotel guests of both hotels (costs apply).The Hotel UR Palacio Avenida has 68 rooms, with extraordinary natural light, views of the centre of Palma de Mallorca and modern furnishing, which cares for the smallest detail.The hotel also offers a coffee shop. Wireless Internet access in all areas of the building and a safety deposit box in the room are both free of charge.The modular conference rooms cover a total of 200m2 and have been perfectly designed to meet the needs of any event meeting, banquet, conference or presentation. The modern and comfortably furnished rooms can be divided by mobile panels and are also equipped with internet access, air conditioning, a projector and large screen, and direct access to an exterior terrace which is ideal for coffee breaks.Due to the unique location of the hotel, guests can enjoy the main shopping areas and cultural activities, excursions, golf, restaurants, etc.Also from the hotel reception can be arranged any special request of the guest, boat trips, rent a car, excursions around the island, winery tours, visit to the Caves of Drach, etc.For guests who wish a more personalized service Private Concierge is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Lastminute, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your UR Palacio Avenida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ur Palacio Avenida Hotel Palma De Mallorca
UR Palacio Avenida Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing