We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of UR Palacio Avenida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
UR Palacio Avenida
Ranked #44 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
liverpool
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay here during the semana Santa . It's on the plaza de espana so very central. Once you get your bearings it's 10 minute stroll to plaza mayor 15 minutes to the cathedral and 200 yards to the railway station . We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Our room was quite spacious and had a large bathroom with bath. One of our best meals during the week was in the hotel - the menu degustacion was excellent quality and value at 35 euros each - each person receives 2 starters, 2 mains, and one starter - the chef chooses from the a la carte menu and I would highly recommend it. Also excellent value is Angela's pizza next door (- we had meals in the no 2 and 3 restaurants per trpiadvisor) but value for money this wins - a bottle of Rioja, 2 pizza was 19.95 euro ( also included a dessert but we chose 2 espresso and a brandy) . There's no pool but a 25 minute stroll will get you to a beach at portixol. We will return

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peeweeLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    219
    105
    25
    23
See reviews for
27
291
36
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I selected this hotel because of the location and adult only. I was not disappointed as I left the airport on a No.1 bus and alighted at the Hotel about 10pm. As the flight was late, I arrived feeling hungry,looking forward to having some food. The receptionist was very helpful and friendly and when I requested a room with bath, he obliged. I was on the second floor, at the rear of the hotel, and the room was spacious with a large bed and a fair sized bathroom with good mirrors.
I went down to the Restaurant to be told by a very pleasant waiter that the kitchen was closed. I asked for a glass of wine, and when he returned, said that they could provide sandwiches for which by that stage, I was grateful.
I returned to the room and decided to have a bath. I could only get water from the shower, so I gave up due to tiredness and slept well in the very comfortable bed.
In the morning I decided to try the bath again. There was no way I could work out filling it apart from the shower, to which I resorted for the rest of my stay. It worked.
I would highly recommend the Hotel for the comfort, helpfulness of staff, and the location.
There are lots of excellent places to eat within a very short distance.
I would suggest that for total peace a room at the rear of the hotel is ideal. I have never stayed in such a quiet hotel environment.
I do not speak any Spanish, so I found the Hotel information in my room difficult to interpret as it was only in Spanish.
No tissues are provided, so take your own. Soap also was in short supply. I was supplied with one thin sliver of soap which lasted 2 days, but another appeared just in time!
All in all, a very pleasant hotel for grown ups, and enjoy the nearby eating places.

Room Tip: Try to be allocated a room at the back for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venezia122016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damián Z, Director General at UR Palacio Avenida, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Mrs Venendi,

Thank you for choosing the UR Palacio Avenida Hotel, and that you took the time to write you feedback. This helps us to improve day by day our service and we are very proud to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback following your stay at our hotel.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the service provided by our associates and the quality of our bedrooms.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon

Warm regards,

Katia Guixa
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Spent 4 nights in Palma for Valentine's this year, we were a bit worried at first after reading some reviews but we didn't regret our choice in the end, we loved it! Great rooms (proper king bed), super friendly staff, great restaurant and good location. Special thanks to Lucas and Toni that helped with directions and dinner reservations, always with a smile! Muchas gracias x

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damián Z, Director General at UR Palacio Avenida, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Sr. Oli

Gracias por sus comentarios. Particularmente orgullosa de leer sus comentarios sobre nuestro personal - hay muchos hoteles buenos por ahí, pero es de hecho el personal quien marca la diferencia.
Gracias por su apoyo, sera un placer compartir sus impresiones con todo el equipo.

Atentamente,
Katia Guixa. Subdirectora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L'Alfas del Pi, Spain
Level Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Great location, lovely staff but the bathroom was totally useless. No bath or sink plugs, mouldy shower head which needed replacing. Toilet so high only fit for six footers, toilet flush, flushed everything in the room. Door wouldn't close because of oversized fittings.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damián Z, Director General at UR Palacio Avenida, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Mr Robert,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. Please accept my apologies for the mishap you experienced with our bathroom during your stay with us.
We always value our guests opinions and try to maintain a high standard of quality and service.

We take note of all your suggestions and we always welcome any type of comment from our guests.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,

Katia Guixa
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
230 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I stayed here together with my wife during 4 nights, while I was on a business trip. Check-in was pleasant with friendly staff. We were assigned to 1409 on the 4th floor. For 2 persons this room is a bit tight.

The reason for giving this review an average is the water taps. They have a nice design, at least when it was installed a couple of years ago after the renovation. After so many years the shiny state of the taps and shower ornaments is gone. The main issue with it is that the water keeps on leaking. I reported this to reception twice without any improvement. It is very difficult to find out what the hot and cold water taps are. As the water is leaking hot water, even turning on the cold, at least you think it is the cold tap, it takes a while before the water is cold.
The fore-last day even the shower gave up, and they moved us to the room next door. This was a bigger room with more space to move around. Also here the same issues, a leaking water tap, and from the shower only hot water came out.

Breakfast is ok. I was just missing Nutella :) However, I was surprised by the lack of English of the staff there. Reception staff's English is good.
Once we had lunch in the restaurant. Good quality for a very reasonable price. Location of the hotel is perfect.

Room Tip: For 2 persons spend the 10 euros extra on an upgraded room. You'll enjoy the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonsmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damián Z, Director General at UR Palacio Avenida, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Mr. Simons,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.
Please accept my apologies for the mishap you experienced with our shower controls, we know is rather complicated to work and we are in the process of replacing them for a different type.
We also like our Nutela in the morning! I assure you that every morning there is Nutela in our breakfast buffet, It must have been an oversight, do not hesitate to ask us next time.

We are glad that you still found the hotel to be nice and trust that the rest of your time in Palacio Avenda Hotel was enjoyable.

Kindest Regards

Katia Guixa
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Let me first say that this was my first time in Palma and I was staying in a shoulder season (well before peak season) so the city wasn't hustling or bustling with peak season tourist traffic.

That said, it was only a 9 minute walk (yes, I timed it) to the ocean front when I went for an early morning walk, so the hotel is very well located.

I was staying for business, so on my first night I had dinner with a couple of local business associates (people in the know) and they took me out for a lovely meal. But they mentioned to me that they knew this hotel and that the restaurant has a very good reputation, excellent cuisine, etc.

So I normally never eat in a hotel for dinner, especially when I'm in a new city and I want to explore the surrounds, but on my last night, I ate in. Spectacular (see photos of menu below). I had the "steak tartare" to start with, then the "tune belly" to follow, washed down with a couple of lovely glasses of cava (like proseco). You can describe the food as a fusion of Mallorca-Asia cuisine - really great.

Don't be fooled by the empty chairs and bright lighting in the restaurant, I'm sure the ambience improves during peak season.

Accommodation and service-wise? Everything was spot on, can't fault anything significant at all, I'll stay here again for sure - or at the very least, I'll visit for another stab at the menu.

Oh, and fantastic heavy drapes in the guest rooms that really block out the morning light (if that's to your liking).

Room Tip: The hotel offers a 10€ upgrade (when available) so look for the best priced deal at a standard of ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emufi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar M, Subdirectora at UR Palacio Avenida, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay at the Hotel Palacio Avenida.

I was particularly proud to read your comments about our restaurant -. Thank you for your encouragement, I will be very happy to share your impressions with the entire team.

Looking forward to welmone you in the near future.
Warm Regards,

Katia Guixa
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

It was as great base for exploring the city. We walked everywhere and never needed to take a taxi, although we are fairly fit. It marks the start of several alternate routes that take you from the Placa Espana, all the way through the city to the harbour.

The hotel itself was clean and comfortable. First time I have ever seen a pillow menu in a hotel. Didn't actually make use of it as the standard pillows were fine and there was an extra cost for the alternate ones.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajrbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar M, Director General at UR Palacio Avenida, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Palacio Avenida and that you took the time to write you feedback.

This helps us to improve day by day our service and we are very proud to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Warm Regards,
Katia Guixa
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palma de Mallorca
UR Mision de San Miguel
#45 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
AluaSoul Palma
#7 of 24 in Can Pastilla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Hotel Riu San Francisco
#25 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel JS Cape Colom
#2 of 7 in Porto Colom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Bons Aires
Hotel Colon Palma
Hotel Colon Palma
#56 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Hotel Armadams
#47 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UR Palacio Avenida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UR Palacio Avenida

Property: UR Palacio Avenida
Address: Calle Marques de La Fontsanta 2, 07005 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — UR Palacio Avenida 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel UR Palacio Avenida is a modern establishment, which opened its doors in 2009 after being carefully refurbished by the well-known architect Bruno Borrione, member of the Philippe Starck team. The result of his hard work was a perfect balance between comfort and design. The materials used and the great details that went into the conversion of this emblematic building, which originally and since 1942 had been the Cinema Avenida, to the current day UR Palacio Avenida, have led to the hotel being a highly considered boutique hotel in the city.The hotel remains open all year round and offers a personalised service to both businessmen and those who simply wish to enjoy their holidays.Its central location, with direct access to public transport makes it easy to reach any part of the island.A few meters away from the hotel is located the largest public parking of the city and only 300 meters away, is located the Hotel UR Mision de San Miguel where a private parking is available for hotel guests of both hotels (costs apply).The Hotel UR Palacio Avenida has 68 rooms, with extraordinary natural light, views of the centre of Palma de Mallorca and modern furnishing, which cares for the smallest detail.The hotel also offers a coffee shop. Wireless Internet access in all areas of the building and a safety deposit box in the room are both free of charge.The modular conference rooms cover a total of 200m2 and have been perfectly designed to meet the needs of any event meeting, banquet, conference or presentation. The modern and comfortably furnished rooms can be divided by mobile panels and are also equipped with internet access, air conditioning, a projector and large screen, and direct access to an exterior terrace which is ideal for coffee breaks.Due to the unique location of the hotel, guests can enjoy the main shopping areas and cultural activities, excursions, golf, restaurants, etc.Also from the hotel reception can be arranged any special request of the guest, boat trips, rent a car, excursions around the island, winery tours, visit to the Caves of Drach, etc.For guests who wish a more personalized service Private Concierge is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotelopia, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your UR Palacio Avenida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ur Palacio Avenida Hotel Palma De Mallorca
UR Palacio Avenida Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing