We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a beach”

Playa de S'Amarador
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gem of a beach”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Nice secluded beach set within mondrago national park -lovely clear blue water, clean sand and surrounded by trees - definitely recommend a visit for a beach day! Very busy but hey it's august and peak period.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Willjacksonwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    100
    27
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“I loved it he prefered Es Trenc”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I really enjoyed htis beach and though it was very unique but my husband preffered Es Trenc. Even though bot beaches are crowded Es Trenc was a much bigger space so people were not basically stacked on top of eachother like you are at Playa de S'Amarador. To make hte crowds worse large day cruises dump people off here by the hundred! The walk down to the beach is nice though and the snak bar drink prices were fair with no real upcharge. Parking was also free.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank MissieMom07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You have to go there!!! Cant miss this!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Lovely place, just you have to ask precisely how to get there otherwise you will end up like us on a 2 and a half hour bus tour of the island till you go back home if you are staying in the center of Palma. Definitely you have to go there, its lovely.. Here are two pics... Enjoy :)

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Montreal_Traveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Would have been great but for the crowd and the lack of breeze”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This is a very very nice little cove, and I agree that had it been less crowded (in high season) it would have been amazing. It is also quite shielded from the breeze which on a hot day can make it quite difficult to withstand the heat.

Otherwise if you are a fan of crystal clear water and beautiful scenery you must definitiely give it a try.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank OneNightTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
482 reviews
278 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 856 helpful votes
“Not happy seeing this in here!”
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Because now more people will know about it!!!
Actually, so what I found it through a newspaper report that probably had millions read it. It was recently Europe's Best Beach.

And I can see why. Tricky to get to, not signposted; do your homework before going and print out instructions from one of the map websites.

But there is plenty of parking, a 5 minute walk away and there is a even a beach bar (er...on the beach!). You can also walk round to another smaller bay with a a hotel there.

The sea is bluer than something very blue and the the beach soft and almost white. Just terrific.

Because the roads are so small it means coaches would not make it down there. I'm sure at some point this place will expand but I hope not. so glad I made the very long drive from Alcudia to go here.

The only reason this is not a five is because when we went there were quite a few jellyfish around. I think if you go in the height of summer this is not a problem. We went in September (mid to late). If the sea is crowded then there will be none around (as word gets around). If it is quite empty, pay attention or do not go too deep. some nice snorkelling closeby too. I want to give it five but seeing the massive sting down a fellow sea lovers back after a few minutes in the sea, maeans it is only a four. THIS DOES NOT HAPPEN EVERY DAY.

Surrounded by pine trees and rock outcrops this place is amazing. Best beach in Europe? I'm not telling....

Visited September 2010
Helpful?
11 Thank Antony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Playa de S'Amarador also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Playa de S'Amarador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing