We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully cooked fish”
Review of Ca n'Eduardo

Ca n'Eduardo
Ranked #188 of 2,267 Restaurants in Palma de Mallorca
Price range: US$57 - US$108
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 18 May 2014

A classy restaurant with a lovely outlook, for our last night in Palma we decided to treat ourselves. We both love fish and glad to report this meal did not disappoint but it certainly isn't cheap!

Service was good and quick. Partner asked the pretty dark haired waitress what was in the seafood croquettes to which she said "seafood" and giggled so assume she didn't know what seafood was actually used or her english was poor? A bit cheeky serving garlic mayonnaise (not asked for but charged) with the bread/olives.

Beware ordering too much, the starters (I ordered mussels, he the squid salad) are a good size. Both delicious.

For main, we decided to share a selection of grilled fish, again this dish was delicious and piping hot (we also thought it strange to have salmon in a Mediterranean dish! )

To accompany this we had a tomato and onion salad but I felt this was far too expensive at 6.5 euros for essentially 1 large chopped tomato and half an onion.

We didn't have desserts.

One bottle of house wine

The total bill was almost 100 euros.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maggiesoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanEduardo, Propietario at Ca n'Eduardo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Maggiesoup,
thank you for choosing to dine at Ca n´Eduardo and for taking the time to post your comments.
I am very glad that you enjoyed your evening with us, the food and service.
I have noted your comments about the salmon and we will review the selection of seafood in our mixed grill. Looking forward to seeing you again soon,
Regards,
Johnny Moloney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
There are newer reviews for Ca n'Eduardo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 119 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Image, you just had an 'ok' fish grill plate with a couple of botles of local wine. Ok, Expect of course for the salmon. How on earth a salmon gets to the mediterranean sea!?

We wanted to have our coffee in another place. So when we told the waiter we didn't want the dessert menu he asked us: "to expensive?"

Not a bad restaurant but they really like to be posh in a rediculous way.

Avoid this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Frank v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanEduardo, Propietario at Ca n'Eduardo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear FrankV,

First of all thank you for choosing to dine at Ca n´Eduardo, and my apologies for your experience at the end of your meal. I can assure you that our wait staff are very professional and well trained and an incident like this is unheard of, I can only assume that it was said in a jocular manner and not meant to offend in any way, however, this does not excuse the comment, as it was out of order.
The mixed grill does sometimes contain salmon and other fish which are not Mediterranean, such as hake and turbot, our prime concern if for freshness, not just provenence.
I hope that you will consider returning sometime in the future, please send me a private e-mail, so that I can manage your reservation personally.
Regards,
Johnny Moloney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We were recommended this as a birthday treat. As previous reviewees have said, the entrance is a little weird but come up the stairs and it's a lovely place. We were greeted with complimentary champagne as it was a special day, and shown our table by friendly staff.

We ordered the cod and one of the specials for 2 (John Dory) which was done Mallorcan style with onions. There was so much food, we were a little overfaced but had a great time and the fish was very tasty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DrJJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We had our lunch there today - even though I read some of the critics here before, my sister-in-law insisted to go there. The glass showcase at the entrance was filled with fish that looked horrible. Dull eyes and sunken cheeks (see picture). We don't have the sea in font of our door in Austria but fish like that could not be sold here, the health authorities would close the restaurant. Some other guests mentioned this already, I don't understand why the management does not remove the rotten fish or just hide the showcase. Had some boring Calamares a la romana and a boring salad for starters. Then the Seafood-Paella. It had been terribly oversalted. We asked if they use saffron for the Paella, but they use colorante (yellow color) which is quite strange for a restaurant in this price range. The view from the restaurant is great (if you get the right table at the window). I would not go there again, we had a lot of better experiences in much cheaper places here in Palma.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ulanbaatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanEduardo, Gerente at Ca n'Eduardo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014
Google Translation

Hola en primer lugar disculparnos en nombre de Ca n'Eduardo si su paella no ha sido de su agrado lástima no haberlo dicho en el mismo momento ya que lo habríamos solucionado sin ninguna duda. Decirle que nuestras calidades son altas y nuestro equipo de cocina se esmera día a día para que nuestros clientes que son muchos estén satisfechos.
Referente a la vitrina del pescado decirle que la dedicación es total y diaria el pescado es el más fresco posible , puede haber algún pescado del día anterior si es festivo .
No hemos entendido su dureza en la crítica , no hemos entendido el hacer una foto y publicarla sin ser un entendido en la materia y seguramente en restauración y tampoco hemos entendido el daño que usted puede hacer a un negocio que vive con esfuerzo y esmero para que sus comensales estén satisfechos.
Este año estamos en el 70 aniversario y le puedo garantizar que sí hemos hechos fallos pero que hemos cumplido también con nuestra misión de hacer feliz a mucha gente.
Sin más me despido de usted y le pediría que la próxima vez pregunte por el gerente y desearle un Feliz Año Nuevo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We have been here many years ago.

Arrived on a Wednesday night. Not very busy.

Given table by the door.

Service was excellent.

Regrettably that night within three hours of the meal I was sick etc so I cannot say it was that great.

I suspect something was either off or as happens it just takes someone not to clean there hands but clearly I picked up something.

Difficult to be objective after that.

Was 100 euros for two with not much to drink.

Sea bass at 22 euros and Sole at 24 euros.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pwd1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanEduardo, Propietario at Ca n'Eduardo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear PWD1960,

First of all thank you for choosing to dine at Ca n´Eduardo and for taking the time to post your comments.

It was very unfortunate that you were sick after you meal, and I most sincerely hope that you have recovered by now. However, there is no evidence to suggest that this was brought on by something you may have consumed in our restaurant, it is almost impossible to say with any certainty that food poisoning comes from any one meal, as incubation periods can last from 2 hours, up to 3 days and sometimes more.

We uphold the highest standards of personal hygiene at the restaurant and use an external company to take and analyze samples of food, work surfaces, utensils and the water on a regular basis, the results of which have always been negative as regards contamination.

In the interests of fairness, and, as you yourself said, it was difficult to be objective, I would kindly ask you to remove your comments, as they have the potential to be libelous.

I have taken the liberty to add a link to the trip advisor page that will help you to do this.

www.tripadvisor.co.uk/UserReviewSupport

I hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again in the future, and importantly the opportunity to post an objective review. To make a reservation please contact me directly by e-mail or on the restaurants telephone number and I will be delighted to assist you.

Many thanks,

Johnny Moloney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ca n'Eduardo also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Ca n'Eduardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing