We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal short break hotel/Mallorca base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Amic Horizonte
Ranked #57 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Ideal short break hotel/Mallorca base”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed for five nights in this hotel to use as a chill out with a bit of exploring of Palma.

We had a lovely spacious room with great, dual aspect views over the bay and a large balcony. The hotel was spotlessly clean and very peaceful, and also had a brilliant outdoor pool/terrace. Our rooms were made up daily and we were also given fresh towels every day.

The first thing I would say is that this is not the hotel for you if you want to be right in the middle of Palma. The hotel is to the West of the centre, near the Portopi commercial district. You can walk into Palma (takes about 40 mins on a straight road). The hotel is on the 46 bus route with a stop right outside (beware though that there are two routes for the 46 and only one of them passes the hotel so when travelling back from town you have to get the Terreno route- the stop is called Valpaisa) and the bus costs E1.50 per person per trip. It takes you right into central Palma in about 15 mins and was a very efficient and reasonable service.

There's also a taxi rank outside the hotel and our trips to/from the airport (one late at night and one early morning) were both in the region of E25. The Portopi Centre Commercial which has a small selection of restaurants, a large Carrefour supermarket, and a large modern shopping centre is a five to ten minute walk.

The hotel seemed to be pretty quiet. We never struggled to find space round the swimming pool. There was a cafe serving snacks and drinks which seemed good value for money (about E2 for a coffee and about E3.50 for a beer), although they didn't really seem happy about giving us drinks to have round the poolside, even in plastic or papers cups. We were on a room-only basis but the restaurant looked clean and presentable and it seemed to be possible to buy breakfast on a daily basis if that was what was wanted.

The decor throughout the hotel was quite plain and simple and there were a few areas in stairways and corridors which would have benefited from freshening up but really you would have to be picky to find it a problem.

I do have three criticisms, one which is quite minor and two more major. Firstly, the bathroom (which was perfectly adequate in every other respect), could really have done with some shelving. It was very large so there would have been space. Secondly, the pool terrace really needed some umbrellas. The area was in very bright and hot sunshine all day and there needed to be the option to have more shade.

My third criticism is that the air conditioning was not sufficient. The system was working and was blowing out cold air but it wasn't powerful enough. Looking at a plan of the hotel, ours was a larger room and maybe it would be better for a smaller room. It wasn't a problem for us as we slept with the windows open- which we would rather anyway- but I appreciate that's not everyone's cup of tea. The area the hotel is in was pretty quiet so we were undisturbed even with the windows open. I think there is a newer part of the hotel and I could see some balconies with external units so we may have just been unlucky but it could have been a problem.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet short break in warm weather or it would be an ideal base if you were intending to rent a car and explore the whole island.

Room Tip: Assuming all the floors are laid out the same, anything ending 32 would be bigger as it's on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Princess_Poppapia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    293
    218
    94
    71
See reviews for
115
337
48
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Bunch of friends had finish sailing trip around Mallorca Island and have weekend to stay at budget hotel. Was it not easy to find way in to the hotel, however for this money we got really surprised, rooms niece and clean, spectacular view over city, sea with huge cruisers, and whole bay. Location is very convenient, take a bus to go on the beach (sweet!) or downtown, shopping maal behind the corner, niece pool with a lots of space around. Buffet full off tasty meals, fruits, sweets -u name it. Staff was very friendly and helpful. that was a very good spent 200 euros,

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger and have huge balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Me And my girlfriend went from 14-21 August to hotel amic horizonte. We had a room with a beautyfull vieuw. We could see the sea,city and the cathedral of palma. The Staff of the hotel was very helpfull. Everytime we had an question they helpt us out. One time we had a question about the beach. The Staff gave us a map And told us wich beach we could get to by walking (cala major) And wich on by bus. And They also gave us the line numbers of the bus. You can buy a bus ticket in the street at the farmacy , this farmacy is located across the shopping mall porto pi. Three minutes walk from the hotel.

You also can rent bikes at the hotel , 10 euro for 24 hours per bike. We Also did this. The bikes are good ;). In the Morning we had breakfast, This was Also good, we had a lot of choices, you could chose different kinds of fruit,sereal (cornflakes), bread, juices, egss(boiled or baken), meat And sweets. Between12:00-13:00 there was a happy hour, 2 cocktails for the price of one cocktail. And every day the room can be cleaned by the cleaner. Then you get new towels etc. Out expierence at hotel amic horizonte was very good.!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flavourr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haderslev, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The hotel is situated in the mountains with a beautiful view over the sea where the cruise ships come and go on a daily basis.
From the huge balcony you can see those ships and Palma De Mallorca.

The rooms are big, with aircondition, TV and a bath tub.

The breakfast buffet is filled with bread, cakes, fruit, baked beans, eggs and different cereals.

There is a pool with a bar where you can buy snacks and drinks and light meals.

A very good stay, I was delighted!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Plysdyret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Marked as a 2 star, this was excellent value for money, and should be rated higher. Rooms were clean, staff were friendly, but the biggest PLUS for this hotel is its location. On the 3 and 46 bus routes, getting to Cala Mayor and Illettes for the beaches, and the city of Palma, all for a mere 1.50eu, was fantanstic. Ask for a higher room, facing the port, for the interest of seeing the cruise ships coming and going. In August the pool was like bath water, uncrowded, sunbeds often available, no rushing in the mornings, with nice seating and a bar and toilets all to hand. Breakfasts were good and fresh, the young man doing eggs was charming, and good at them! But you have to make the effort to talk to staff and thank them, or else they just get on, heads down with their job. Steps to the road could be an issue coming back, but the 46 goes from outside the door, and a little care looking at the route on the bus stop and the illuminated signs in the bus, and you are soon an expert. Taxis are in abundance. ENJOY!

Room Tip: With Carrefour so close, its worth asking for a fridge, so you can keep water, and salads, cheese an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruth2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of our room and hotel. We upgraded to a room with a balcony which was worth every penny. We had a beautiful view of Porto Pi and there is a spendid view from the pool/bar area of the entire bay of Palma. Every member of staff couldn't do enough to help and that really added to our holiday. Although my husband and I enjoy walking we found that the walk in the heat to the centre of Palma a bit far so used the local buses which were very realiable. Although not as frequent as the number 3, the number 46 stops almost outside the hotel which is recommended as the hotel is on a bit of a hill. There is a terrific underground shopping centre at Porto Pi. We would definitely return to Hotel Horizonte if we went back to Palma.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gloria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I really can't fault this hotel for it's price. It's a 2 star but seems more like a 3.

The rooms are basic but spotlessly clean. The pool/bar area is lovely, with spectacular views across the bay. I recommend the Mojito! One of the best I've tasted. The buffet breakfasts are very good, catering for all tastes and nationalities - from the British eggs, beans etc. to more continental cold meats, cheeses and pastries. Each day there is something slightly different too, we especially liked the spanish omelettes and the fruit juices.

Best of all is the large terrace that juts out across the bay... the best views in Palma!

As a few people have said, it's quite a hike uphill to the hotel, but a taxi is only 5 Euros from town. Overall we loved it and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miss_Mich_elle78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#23 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Bons Aires
Hotel Colon Palma
Hotel Colon Palma
#56 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
NH Ciudad de Mallorca
#40 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Armadams
#47 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Hotel UR Portofino
#29 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
BQ Belvedere Hotel
#26 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amic Horizonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amic Horizonte

Property: Hotel Amic Horizonte
Address: Calle Vista Alegre 1 | La Bonanova, 07015 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amic Horizonte 2*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Horizonte Free Wi-Fi *** . is a family run Hotel up a hill in Palma managed by brothers Marga and Andreu . We are not the best Hotel in Palma but we work always to improve things day by day . let,s meet ! We offer stunning views of Palma Bay as you can read in TA thats why we always recomend to book our superior rooms with sea view in stead of cheaper ones standard No sea view ( it is really worthy ) Close to the Puerto de Palma Harbour. It features an outdoor pool and rooms with balconies, 2,5 km from central Palma cathedral .All air-conditioned accommodation at the Horizonte has simple, bright décor. Each room comes with satellite TV and private bathroom.The hotel has a buffet restaurant which serves a selection of Mediterranean cuisine and features a terrace, offering Mediterranean Sea views. . The nearest beach is Playa Cala Mayor Beach,2,5 km from the hotel and Palma’s old town can be reached in 20 minutes, by bus. You can find the Porto Pí Shopping Center and Mallorca Casino in a short walk , Pacha Dico . The city’s airport is just 9 km away and the port is a 10-minute walk from the Horizonte. We recomend to use the public bus 46 at 40 mts of the door or use the taxi because of the If any doubts we always recomend you to contact us before you buy your holidays so no surprises will appear in future . We will be glad to answer you all doubts . Be happy Amic ! Marga and Andreu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Amic Horizonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizonte Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Hotel Amic Horizonte Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing