We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely, lovely hotel”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel in September 2012. The location is perfect, right in the centre of the old town. We stayed in room 1 which was very large and comfortable. The bed was lovely with very nice linens. The bathroom was huge, and super modern with separate rooms for the toilet/bidet and shower areas. The window looked out onto a narrow area between buildings and sometimes in the morning you could hear people talking and what seemed like kitchen noises. We were greeted with a glass of cava (Spanish champagne) upon arrival and then given a quick tour of the hotel's ammenities. The staff were excellent and very helpful. We spent some time both days on the rooftop deck, a wonderful little area with comfy chairs and interesting views. I had left my purse slung over the back of a chair up on the rooftop deck and a couple of hours later when I realized I had done that I was very panicky. The staff had it safely tucked away at the front desk and it was such a relief. Thank you so much. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Floatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    77
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
56
352
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arona, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

An old style hotel with perfect location. Excellent staff, really helpful and polite. The parking in town is a nightmare so if you are renting a car don't forget to reserve a space in their private garage. Excellent big bed with nice pillows. If you have had a holiday before in Spain you will value this esoecially. Went here on a business trip and only read reviews in trip Advisor today. I stayed in room 8 and the noise wasn't to noticable though I am used to back ground hubbub.

Only one tiny, tiny, tiny complaint. Ants. To be more precise, termites. Harmless, but never the less, in abundant amounts. We bought some pastries (as one does in Palma Mallorca) and even though they were in a large plastic bag, the little buggers went to town!

Don't be put off. Just don't take any food to your room, which was spotless on arrival. Really, anyone who has read any of my other reviews will see that I am not easily placated.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My Husband and I have just returned from three nights at this simply fantastic hotel. It was a treat for his "big" birthday.
We were upgraded on arrival and given a complimentary bottle of cava.
The room was fabulous, the bathroom was a wet room plus separate bath. The bed was huge and very comfortable with gorgeous linen.
I have never stayed anywhere where, without exception, every member of staff was outstanding. They were all polite, helpful, efficient and friendly. Cannot speak highly enough of this absolute jewel of a hotel.
It's not the cheapest in Palma, but I cannot believe there is anywhere better.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sark76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Just finding this hotel was fun (or annoying, depending on your pov). It's hidden in a small alley and is close to shops, restaurants, etc. Upon seeing the entrance, you know you're in for a treat.

Our room was lovely and bright, the bed linens were delicious, and the bathroom was large with a separate toilet area. The door to the toilet is glass so might be an issue for a couple who is squeamish about such things.

The staff are really wonderful. They're extremely knowledgeable and helpful--they arranged a boat trip (do NOT use OndineEscapes; awful ride and hotel has said they are going to reevaluate this partnership) and organized a car rental with the hotel we were headed to next. We also had a welcome bottle of cava as a nod to our 10th anniversary. Very nice touch.

Tiny nits: dinner napkins should be linen. Fine to have paper for breakfast and lunch, but at dinner, it just seemed out of place. Also, fresh flowers should be used, as opposed to fake. If expense is an issue, I would prefer to see less flowers, as long as they are real.

Overall, a really special spot. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were in Room 10, which was lovely and bright (note that it is over the courtyard, so voices do ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IslandGirlNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Wonderful hotel with the best staff I have ever encountered. From the glass of Cava on arrival, the warm welcome from Carlos on reception who gave us a guided tour of the hotel before showing us to our room (10 ), the young lady on breakfast duty who was friendly but professional every morning, the gentleman on duty in the restaurant at night was always attentive without being intrusive. All of the staff I encountered were a credit to the manageress and the hotel.
Room number 10 was a double on the 2nd floor with a large bathroom, large bed and ample wardrope space. The food at breakfast was more than sufficient with a good selection of cold meats, cheese, yoghurts, cereals and pastires. The meal I ate in the restaurant was he best I had in Palma during my 4 night stay.
Palma itself is a beautiful compact city with lots to see and do during a city break.
One word of caution, the taxi driver from the airport ripped me of big time, so if getting a taxi from the airport ask how much first as it should cost no more than 15-18 euros to the city centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doad58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
478 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Having visited Mallorca on 3 previous occasions and only spending a few hours in Palma after an early morning flight on a Saturday from Bristol, we decided to spend a couple of days in Palma to see a little more of the city, before heading up to a villa near Pollenca for the following week.

We selected Can Cera based on good reviews on TA and chose the Can Cera Suite to spoil ourselves.

We arrived at Son Sant Joan airport early and rather than head straight in to Palma decided to head down to Port Andratx for a wander, coffee, juice and snack. This meant that we headed back to the City just after midday. Our Sat Nav, as is often the case, took a while to find our destination, it could not find the address initially, but after selecting Palma first and then typing the address, seemed to find the right place. However she (are all Sat Nav's female?) did want to take turns that were not allowed legally, but eventually after ignoring her from time to time, she found the Placa Sant Francesco where someone pointed us to a parking space - I have no idea who this was. A quick wander around the Placa found the right street and walking down it, I soon found the hotel.

The very helpful gentleman on reception came back with me to show us where the reserved parking was and left us to park while he took the cases back to the hotel.

As someone who normally parks on a wide driveway, or in my space at the office when usually no-one else has arrived, parking our hire car, sitting on the wrong side, without a parking camera in a very narrow space next to a Lexus, was probably the most stressful event of our whole holiday.

Fortunately the glass of Cava that we were offered in the bar on our arrival at the hotel soon removed the stress, and a short while later when the room was ready we were given a quick tour of the hotel, which is small but very nice.

The room was excellent, with wardrobes that had apparently been listed and so the fronts were original with modern wardrobes built behind them. The small terrace area, which had a small tabkle and 2 chairs, was a great place to enjoy the bottle of Cava that greated us on our arrival in the room and to enjoy the remainder of the snacks we picked up at the airport lounge many hours earlier. (By the way we did pay extra at Bristol Airport for the use of the airport lounge, which was not all that expensive when the snacks we selected kept us going for quite a while and also paying EJ for speedy boarding was well worth it as the queue for this was 2 people and the queue for everyone else was massive and what was even more surpising was that it worked in Palma on our return almost as well).

Although we did wander around Palma later to see if we fancied eating out, in the end we came back and had a very nice taster menu in the brasserie area of the hotel. We also ate there on Friday evening and again had a very pleasant meal.

A number of reviewers have commented on some of the rooms being noisy. Being a City centre hotel, particularly one that is small, it is unlikely that you would find total peace and quiet, but the noise that we heard did not spoil our stay and on the Thursady and Friday that we stayed, it did not stop us getting a rreasonable night's sleep (although the Cava and then wine with dinner may have helped!)

Breakfast was served in the brasserie area and the choices were quite sufficient and very tasty.

Overall a very pleasant stay with very helpful and friendly staff. Definitely a hotel we would return to without a second thought.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlieCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
138 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Can Cera is a beautiful boutique hotel hidden in an alleyway in the heart of old Palma. If you like buildings with a history and understated elegance this is the hotel for you. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the bathrooms huge and the common areas spacious and comfortable. The hotel also has a very good restaurant which is excellent value for money. Service everwhere in the hotel is impeccable and guests are made to feel completely at home from the moment they arrive. Arriving at Can Cera straight from the airport was one of the best starts to a holiday I have ever had. We're planning our return trip already.

Room Tip: Avoid room no1. It is spacious but noisy (above the kitchens)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bitternwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.1 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
3.3 mi away
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxur...
#8 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#15 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#12 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Art Hotel Palma
Art Hotel Palma
#2 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Can Cera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Can Cera

Property: Boutique Hotel Can Cera
Address: Calle San Francisco de Sales 8, 07004 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#1 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#5 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Boutique Hotel Can Cera 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At over 700 years old, Can Cera has one of the longest histories in Palma. The building dates back to before 1232 when Jaume I conquered the island with Catalan and Aragonese troops. Located inside the ancient city walls close to the Cathedral, Can Cera is in the very heart of the Old City, between the Plaza de Santa Eulalia and the Plaza de San Francisco. Over the years, Can Cera’s many owners have made alterations to the original building. The most important of these were done in the 17th Century, when –as in many of the surrounding houses– Italian Renaissance architects inspired the creation of the celebrated patios, giving the houses their singularly attractive, yet austere, character. Inside, the house is significant and rich with well-proportioned rooms, high ceilings of sculptured plasterwork, balconies and above all, palatial adornments. Today, Can Cera, has been thoroughly renovated and equipped as a first class Hotel. The traditional Majorcan patio, with its majestic arches, exuberant Kentia and other lush plants, leads to the Reception area and the Can Cera Restaurant. A marble stairway leads up to a surprising space: a comfortable and welcoming Home with its original layout intact. Period furniture and contemporary paintings abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Mirai, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Boutique Hotel Can Cera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Can Cera Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing