We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic building in heart of old city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Historic building in heart of old city”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Have just spent five glorious days enjoying the Can Cera Hotel and its surroundings. The building itself is discreet and very beautiful, with a fabulous courtyard entrance, one of the delights of old Palma. The staff were extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The bottle of bubbly (to celebrate our 40 yr anniversary), was very much appreciated after our flight and though there was some noise from the central courtyard, it was not enough to put us off our stay. It is the centre of the city after all. We'd go again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank millpark44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    77
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
56
353
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Our group stayed 7 nights in 3 different rooms at Hotel Con Cera during Oct of 2013. Here is what you need to know:

- the hotel has only 12 rooms, and you are treated as if you are the only guest. Everyone we met treated us royally, with a smile, and was very helpful
- the BEST feature of this hotel are all the sitting areas you can use, there are at least 5 rooms with couches, chairs and tables all in an intimate setting so you feel as if you are in a house vs. a hotel
- the location of this hotel is right in downtown old-town Mallorca, so you can walk anywhere to the open markets (Placa Major), the churches (St. Francis, Eulaya, etc.) and the luxury shopping streets. Nothing seemed far by foot from this hotel
- there is a sunning area on the roof of this hotel, but personally the view isn't so great (just see other roof tops, and it's quite small), but it's worth going up those stairs once.
- There is a small spa at the hotel that you can reserve and it's free- there is a hot tub, a Finnish Sauna, a steam room and a shower.
-The free wi-fi is spotty, drops often and is sometimes slow .... so if you are planning to work from here, be careful
- We didn't take the 'breakfast' rate because other travelers said that the breakfast was the same every day and not that interesting, so we at at local cafes instead, so we can't comment on the breakfast
- the ceilings are very high in this hotel and most all the floors are tile -- so sounds carry very easily. For example, rooms 10 at the top floor, and room 6 are above where people check in, so if there are people talking in the lobby, you an hear them (that wasn't a problem for us, but you may want to wear ear plugs if you are sensitive to noise). Room 5 is just off one of the salons where people can congregate, so you'll hear them if you are in your room -- again, not a big problem, but take ear plugs if you are sensitive to noise.
-The Rooms:
- Rooms 10, 11 and 12 are on the top floor, you can't get to them without walking up at least one flight of stairs. If you want, you can walk up all 4 flights (which we did), but if you have mobility problems these are not the rooms for you. Take rooms 4,5 6 or 7, because you can get to them by using the elevator only.
Room 11 has a FANTASTIC SHOWER compared to rooms 10 and 6. By this I mean, there is a separate bath tub with a hand-held shower wand, but also a walk-in shower with a door and a shower head hanging from the ceiling, it was wonderful. I mention this because rooms 10 and 6 had only a bath tub (very high to step into), and the hand held shower wand, that if you weren't careful, easily sprayed water all over. We are Americans and not used to having only the shower hand-held, so if you are used to it, fine, if not, get a room with a regular shower in it!
Room 5, 7 and 8 are right off the salons where people can congregate (rooms with a wifi router, couches, chairs, etc. nice living rooms) so if there is a loud group, you may have noise.

The net/net - most rooms will have noise. Request a room with a walk-in shower if that's important to you. I liked room 11 the best, but 10 was also airy and nice (with the non walk-in shower).

That's it -- have a wonderful time!! I'll be back here, the positives of this hotel far outweigh the minor negatives.

Room Tip: Request a room with a walk in shower, they are much better than the bathtub-only, hand-held shower w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here during a short weekend in Palma (not long enough - a great place to visit). We were really welcomed warmly - we even got to share a complimentary bottle of wine with our friends! The whole hotel has an amazing feel and the décor is so impressive! In summary - recommended without reservation. Just go visit!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

From the moment that we arrived we were welcomed by enthusiastic staff coupled together with great decor and complimentary Cava made a superb first impression.

It is a truly special place stay in a fantastic central location. We had a bed and breakfast deal staying in room 4. It overlooks the courtyard and has a huge bathroom! Breakfast was a treat in the morning and was always served with a smile. The bed was awesome and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay as the staff were always prepared to help you. We hope to be back soon and would definitely recommend this to others.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank londonbelgian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Wonderful location set in the heart of old Palma, very conveniently situated in a quiet back street near the cathedral. We had the large suite which was beautiful, very elegant with four poster bed, antique furniture but with an immaculate high tech bathroom. We sampled the spa which was very good and had dinner in the restaurant which was top notch - try the taster menu which was delicious. Lovely friendly staff who made us feel so welcome. I can't recommend it highly enough and look forward to another visit.

Room Tip: I would imagine all the rooms would be excellent, just depends on how much you want to spend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
389 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Can Cera hotel is a little oasis of tranquility in the heart of the old town in Palma. Converted from a large private residence about 2 years ago it is built round an open court yard which is used as the lobby area and bar. the building is old and is simply stunningly beautiful. The rooms and there are 12 are set over 2 floors and are of varying sizes. We had a junior suite (a complementary up-grade as it was my wife's birthday which along with the bottle of fizz on the day was a lovely touch) Room 9 was large and airy The bed was large and very comfortable the bathroom was stone and marble and well appointed. Toiletries provided were lovely. Windows with shutters opened on one side onto the very narrow street and on the other side onto the central courtyard. The room had air con, large LG FST(but no DVD player or iPod dock) a fridge and a safe. There was ample wardrobe space. Breakfast is a buffet affair with a cooked option also and the bacon and poached eggs were particularly nice. The hotel has a "gastronomic" restaurant and having eaten here on our first night I can recommend it.
The hotel has free WiFi though out and this seemed to work well enough.
There is I think a spar also.
I booked our stay directly with the hotel and they were happy also to arrange transport to and from the airport (there was a charge for this).
The hotel has a sister hotel 5 minutes walk away which is also boutique but more modern and has views out over the sea from the top floor balcony.
The cost of rooms is not cheap certainly but then quality costs.
All in all a beautiful hotel, excellently managed. I will certainly return when next in Palma
Photos to follow.

Room Tip: Room 9 was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here from 9th - 11th October 2013 for a late break. We stayed in room 3 the Can Cera suit, it was beautiful, spacious with little touches of fresh flowers and little jelly sweets left out at night. So clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. Lovely location, lovely food and bar area. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.1 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
752 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
415 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#16 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AH Art Hotel Palma
AH Art Hotel Palma
#2 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
281 reviews
3.3 mi away
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxur...
#8 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
865 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Can Cera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Can Cera

Property: Boutique Hotel Can Cera
Address: Calle San Francisco de Sales 8, 07004 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#1 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#5 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Boutique Hotel Can Cera 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At over 700 years old, Can Cera has one of the longest histories in Palma. The building dates back to before 1232 when Jaume I conquered the island with Catalan and Aragonese troops. Located inside the ancient city walls close to the Cathedral, Can Cera is in the very heart of the Old City, between the Plaza de Santa Eulalia and the Plaza de San Francisco. Over the years, Can Cera’s many owners have made alterations to the original building. The most important of these were done in the 17th Century, when –as in many of the surrounding houses– Italian Renaissance architects inspired the creation of the celebrated patios, giving the houses their singularly attractive, yet austere, character. Inside, the house is significant and rich with well-proportioned rooms, high ceilings of sculptured plasterwork, balconies and above all, palatial adornments. Today, Can Cera, has been thoroughly renovated and equipped as a first class Hotel. The traditional Majorcan patio, with its majestic arches, exuberant Kentia and other lush plants, leads to the Reception area and the Can Cera Restaurant. A marble stairway leads up to a surprising space: a comfortable and welcoming Home with its original layout intact. Period furniture and contemporary paintings abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mirai, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Boutique Hotel Can Cera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Can Cera Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing