We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with superb views and the best Tapas restaurant in Palma”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Palas Atenea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melia Palas Atenea
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location with superb views and the best Tapas restaurant in Palma”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Just returned from a week in the Melia Palas. The hotel is in a grand location on the marina, boasting fabulous views across to the Cathedral. It is a brisk 20 minute walk to the start of historic Palma but worth the hike, with plenty places for a pit stop on the return journey. The amenities are good, with a spacious and well equipped gym and spa with a fabulous hydrotherapy pool, which is usually empty so a delight to enjoy. The pool and outside bar areas are well laid out, albeit with the usual sunbed hoggers, out with their towels before breakfast then not appearing until lunchtime. But as we were not there to sunbathe, it wasn't an issue. The interior decor and furnishings in the the corridors and rooms are unfortunatey outdated and rather tired however the rooms are kept spotlessly clean and the staff are pleasant. Room service provided a complimentary bottle of Cava on one of our birthdays which was a nice touch. The jewel is Tapa Negra, the ground floor restaurant. The menus is creative and varied and the presentation and flavours deliver on every level. The restaurant decor is modern and spotless with friendly and helpful staff. A must go to if you are in the area.

Room Tip: Definitely book a sea view room, higher up in the building as there can be some noise at the weekend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    766
    239
    87
    57
See reviews for
252
825
51
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

The stay at this hotel was one of the high points of our visit to Mallorca. We were lucky enough to get a harbor view room on the 8th (top) floor of the hotel with a view of the Cathedral across the always busy harbor. Since we were close to Downtown Palma and our ferry to Ibeza, you really couldn't beat the location.
The hotel wasn't overly busy while we were there, but the pool area does fill up fairly early. The breakfast, while remarkable, was pretty huge and a little pricey. There are a number of good spots for breakfast streetside right outside the hotel.
Beautiful lobby area and the rooms are being renovated. Ours had not been and was still in great shape and quite clean.
All in all, a wonderful hotel and a definite repeater for us.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a harbor view and a higher room to get away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tfpape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

A very enjoyable stay in a room with an unbeatable view across Palma. The hotel is attractive and spacious inside although if there is a conference going on it can feel very busy (there was one whilst we were there). The dining room is spacious with a terrace overlooking the bay and serves a great buffet breakfast which is good value if you can get it packaged with the room rate.
The premium room was comfortable and everything kept very clean.The pool area which also has great views was at times very busy and there are not sufficient umbrellas for the sunbeds.
It is easy to get a bus (1.5 euros number 3 bus) to Cala Major and Illetas where there are lovely beaches. The best part of staying here was the easy walk into Palma Old Town around the bay or there are always taxis waiting outside if you do not wish to walk. The airport bus (number1 ) also runs past the hotel around the bay into the town. There are many bars, cafes and restaurants close by. There are also Palma's nightclubs close by but we were not disturbed by these at all.
We had a very enjoyable stay here and I would recommend the hotel to others but I also feel that it needs a refurbishment all round, then it would be a wonderful hotel in the best position in Palma.

Room Tip: A premium room on a higher floor is essential to maximise the views across Palma. I would not book t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

A four star hotel with five star quality. Certainly will not disappoint.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

I have stayed at this hotel before so was aware of the fabulous location that it had overlooking the marina from the pool and breakfast area which sets this apart from many other hotels. the only down side of the accommodation is that the rooms are looking dated and could do with being refurbished although the bathrooms are immaculate the bedroom areas are a little shabby! Overall though a lovely place to explore Palma from.

Room Tip: If you can afford to get sea view rooms do so
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleW475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We spent the weekend at the Melia Palas. We had a sea facing room on the top floor giving a super panoramic view of the yacht harbour. The room was spacious, and the comfortable bed extra large. The breakfast is spectacular, what a variety, and excellent quality, served next to the lavish pool deck. The entrance hall was rather large and cavernous but very comfortably appointed. Parking was available. The reception desk staff and catering were not as friendly as the staff in most of the other hotels that we stayed in. Pity because everything else was great

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We have just returned from another great trip to Palma and the Melia Palas remains a great base for our stay. We booked a premium sea front room and it is well worth the bit extra for the views over the marina. Breakfast is worth every last penny with a great selection of both hot and cold items, fresh orange juice and cava. The check in procedure can be a little slow however a drink from the lobby bar at the same time does help!! There is a good sized terrace with pool and plenty of sun loungers along with an outside bar. A taxi into the city is just 5 euros and this is the place to go with some excellent bars and fantastic tapas. Abaco is the place for a huge cocktail but be prepared to pay for it. La Boveda is a great place for trying lots of different tapas. You can sit at the counter and choose from what is in front or from the menu.
The city is a great place to shop with lots of little streets and do visit the Cathedral if for nothing else the beautiful windows and the colours from the sun shining through them.
The Melia Palas is then great to come back to and relax before hitting the city again!

Room Tip: A sea front room is just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryGeorge_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.3 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#27 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#16 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#12 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
#21 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#23 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
1.0 mi away
HM Jaime III
HM Jaime III
#13 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Palas Atenea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Palas Atenea

Property: Melia Palas Atenea
Address: Avinguda de Gabriel Roca, 29, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#10 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#20 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#25 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#26 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Palas Atenea 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Palas Atenea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Palas Atenea Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Melia Palma De Mallorca
Melia Hotel Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing