We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Palas Atenea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Palas Atenea
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2008

Stayed for 5 nights 29/07/08 it was the most pleasant hotel with great staff. We will be back next year for a short break. Room 618 was perfect, what a view from our balcony. Palma is great. Try Bar Dia in the old town for Tapas. Small and local but the food was almost as good as the hotel breakfast. Champagne at 9.00am - tops.

  • Liked — Clean helpful staff great food
  • Disliked — bathroom was a bit small
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dickyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    766
    239
    87
    57
See reviews for
252
825
51
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Coast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2008

Hotel is in nice location, though I wish it was just a little closer to the Old City. Very impressive lobby area and hallways. The rooms were adequate but clearly a shadow of their former selves. The furniture and decor could use some updating. We had a nice large bathroom, even complete with bidet. We did not have a seaview room but one rather on the side of the hotel which still had a decent partial sea view from the small but good sized balcony. We were above some nightclubs which kept going until 4 am but actually we were so tired from our travels that we slept very well anyway. The beds, despite being old, were still quite comfortable. Great mini bar.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank scoobydoobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
158 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2008

All in all we had an enjoyable stay in Palma at this hotel. It's a big chain hotel on Palma port. Nice view of the port and cathedral in the distance. Only about 20 minute walk to old town. We found some great restaurants closeby in an area called Santa Catalina which like an on the up East Village (NY) (about 10 minutes walk from the hotel)

Breakfast in hotel was huge variety. Lobby area and bar were nice. On a downside the indoor swimming pool/sauna/spa which they advertise was not available (closed for renovation) and there is no wireless internet access( 8 euro minimum charge for connection with modem) Did not hear any noise from nightclubs but lots of traffic if you leave the window open!

We paid 108 euros per night for the room inc breakfast. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TEDBUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2008

The hotel is in a great location over-looking the harbour. Very impressive reception area. We paid extra for a superior room with sea/cathedral view and it was well worth it, the view was stunning. The room was clean, bathroom small but it did have a bath, with shower above. No tea/coffee facilities in room. Lots of little extras in the bathroom like travel shaving kit, toothbrush kit, cotton wool etc. Balcony was not huge, stunning view compensated for it, big enough for 2 chairs and small table. I had requested a high floor to make the most of the view - did I mention it was stunning!?? We were placed on the 6th floor which was great. We did not hear any noise from the nearby nigthclub. Staff were very friendly.

We spent 2 afternoons by the pool - lots of sunbeds, towels supplied at the pool - but pool bar was pricey - 2 lemonades, 2 packets of crisps 9 euros.

Lots of cafes, restaurants nearby, old city/cathedral 15 minutes walk. A must see is the Cathedral, and Abaco bar/ club, it has to be seen to be believed.

Tip for booking - We did save a bit of money by booking through laterooms a couple of days before we went, cancelling the orginal booking which I made 2 months ago through a booking agency. We got the room for 138 euros per night incl taxes etc - something which some of booking agents did not include in their price.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsdrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, Berkshire
Level Contributor
128 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2008

I am not one to normally complain about these sort of things ( good old english stiff upper lip). We reviewed trip advisor before booking our long weekend and i simply canot recall anyone mentioning in their reviewsd about the nightclub nextto the hotel. Don't get me wrong the The Hotel Melia Palas Atenea has plenty of good points on offer and I can see why it has a four star rating ie. the room sizes are good, the service is excellent, the facilities are clean and more than adequate, the location is ok and the breakfasts are superb. But be warned their is a nightclub next to the hotel that kicks off at 12.00pm and finishes at 5.30 am. Maybe I am just getting old and grumpy but it was very difficult to sleep through the booming noise each night (Thursday, Friday and Saturday) as it simply interupted your sleep and kept you awake for long periods!!!.

  • Liked — Views of the Marina and Breakfast
  • Disliked — The nightclub next door
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BenhamParty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2008

Location is great, right on the ocean, however, next time I will book closer to the city center.

I love Mallorca, cuisine is the typical fantastic Meditteranean that I love. Location is ideal, walking distance to all sorts of great restaurants and inexpensive little cafes.

Beds were nice and big, but not the most comfortable, but we still managed to sleep okay. Breakfast was a nice variety, service at breakfast was fine, nothing to write home about though!

My only major disappointment was that the spa/pool that they advertised on their website was closed for renovation - and did not state this when I booked. I would definitely not have booked at this hotel had I known that, because when I am on vacation, after walking 6-8km a day, first thing I do is go to the hot tub and/or a nice massage...

If I were to return to Mallorca, I would consider returning to this hotel, but would not automatically.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Spa/Pool was closed
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvidTravellerDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2008

Just returned to cold Britain from the beautiful city of Palma, which has so many things to offer in terms of sights, shops, restaurants, bars etc.
I am not sure I would necessarily want to visit in July/August but April was perfect.
The Hotel Melia Palas Atenea was excellent. A great position some 15/20 minutes walk to the Cathedral/central area, passing along the marina.
Whilst we were there, unfortunately, the indoor pool area was being refurbished which was a disappointment and we were not informed of the fact. However, all other facilities were as promised.
The reviewer who said the breakfast was poor must have been in a different hotel as we found it to be superb. Four tables with everything from cereals, yoghurts, breads and cakes to cheeses, meats, fresh fruit all ripe and a hot grill table which cooked eggs any way you wanted whilst you waited, all topped off with glass of sparkling wine. I guess some people are never satisfied.
The room was overlooking the harbour and cathedral and was first class, the extra for the view is worth it.
If I have one gripe it is that some, not all, of the staff need to learn how to smile to make guests feel welcome, in fact we found many of the Palma inhabitants were a little on the glum side, why I have no idea, as they have such a beatiful city.
We may have been influenced by not long returning from the Far East where smiling comes so naturally and is so welcoming to visitors.
All in all we loved our time there and would recommend the hotel without any qualms.

  • Liked — Location and the gemneral quality of the hotel
  • Disliked — The few non smiling staff
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubbenhall_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.3 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#29 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#15 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#13 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
#21 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#24 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
1.0 mi away
HM Jaime III
HM Jaime III
#14 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Palas Atenea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Palas Atenea

Property: Melia Palas Atenea
Address: Avinguda de Gabriel Roca, 29, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#10 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#20 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#25 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#26 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Palas Atenea 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Melia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Palas Atenea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Palas Atenea Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Melia Palma De Mallorca
Melia Hotel Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing