We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, what a good hotel”
Review of Melia Palas Atenea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Palas Atenea
Ranked #26 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We had never been to Mallorca before but wanted some sun.

We had had good times at another Melia hotels so we just want for this.

It was only about 20 minutes away from the airport. Check in was smooth. Remembering advice from other reviews I asked for a sea view and got one.

The hotel was not very full though the USS Harry Truman decanted 3000 sailors on the city.

The room was good, clean but reflected the marble, fluorescent and white MDF of the entrance. It was very quiet at night with a superb view.

Breakfast was very good and catered for a wide range of taste. Germans were in the majority but breakfast catered for everybody.

With some frisson over the unpredictable arrival of the shuttle check out took 30 seconds and a fax I needed to send was free. Internet access is fine as well.

The only thing I would change is that I would hire a car.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank woodc0te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear woodcOte,

Thank you very much for the time you took in writing your impressions about our Hotel on TripAdvisor after your recent visit.

We will review which can be the reflected that you describe.

We will be delighted to welcome you back and provide you our best to make your stay an amazing experience.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,998)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

754 - 760 of 1,998 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. We were there only for a 3 night break and the location was good to see the sights, city and airport. The taxis are readily waiting and reasonable prices even though the buses are close by.
We had a classic room which was in need of a refurb although clean it was tired and the carpet had stains. The view from balcony was of the back streets but we were on the 6th floor so didn't hear much noise

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank Lainyturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Lainyturn,

Thank you for reporting us your experience after your last stay at Meliá Palas Atenea. It is a real honor to know that you enjoyed it.

In reference to your rooms comments I would like to say that we are presently involved in a plan for prevent maintenance in our Hotel rooms. Also we have renovated many rooms.

We hope we have the chance to meet you soon in our Hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I spent one night here on a recent business trip, and I found the staff friendly and helpful. My room wasn't bad, though rather small, and on a corner with a balcony on two sides. But it's debatable whether anyone would really want to pick this as a holiday resort as it's right on a busy street in Palma. The Internet was terribly slow, although free, and at least there were sufficient power sockets including one by the bed which simplified charging the phone overnight while still being in reach of the alarm function. The temperature on the aircon and heating unit was easy to adjust and efficient without complicated dials and symbols, and this made a pleasant change. Tucked up for the night, I discovered that the bedside light was bright enough for reading but, although the mattress was reasonably comfortable, the pillows were gruesome. Although my room was clean and tidy, the ceiling of the balcony showed flaking paint and plaster that rather spoilt the effect and perhaps hid an element of shabbiness that lay beneath. Overall I've stayed in far worse but I've also experienced far better.

Room Tip: Get a room on a corner overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockstro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear rockstro,

Thank you a lot for taking your time to post a comment and in this way to share with other Trip Advisor’s users about your experience in Meliá.

We take into account your comments about the power sockets. We will include more sockets next to the bed. No comments were received indicating this issue but we think is more comfortable for our guests.

In reference to your paint balcony comments I would like to say that we are presently involved in a plan for prevent maintenance in our Hotel rooms.

About the pillow, we have a pillows menu that is often used for our guests. You are welcome to try it.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in order to provide the best of our service to make your stay more comfortable.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I have stayed here now 4 times and every time it has been as good as the last. Excellent service, clean rooms, recently updated on my last visit - very nice they are too! Fantastic location, ideal for couples and friends - not great for kids, but that is why I liked it - there have not been many here on any of my stays and not that I don't like children - but when you are on an adult only holiday I don't like being splashed and hearing lots of other peoples kids yelling and screaming whilst having a nice relax by the pool so this is a definite plus for me :) on my way back again very soon as I just love the handy location, fab breakfast and cool rooms !!!

Room Tip: rooms 320- 326 and so on on each floor eg 420 - 426 are good rooms :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _an8ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear an8ie24,

Thank your for reporting us your experience after your last stay at Meliá! It is a real honor to know that you enjoyed it!

One of the aspects most highly valued by customers is the service, as a result of the our passion to deliver above and beyond and to exceed our guest expectations every day.

The entire staff is looking forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Hotel in excellent position.rooms were very clean,view from room superb.Reception staff and bar staff very friendly and helpful.We had a superior sea view room,not sure whether the extra cost was worthwhile as views from other rooms was as good.Hotel was very quiet at this time of year (first night we were only ones in restaurant for evening meal).Negative;the spa and indoor facilities were closed for refurbishment during the course of our stay,and although we only booked the week previous there was no indication of this on hotel details.We were very disappointed with this,as our booking was based on the availability of this facility.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Norman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear NormanC,

Thank you so much for your comments, moreover for taking the time in sharing your Experience.

We are very sorry if during your stay with us you could not enjoy the Yhi Spa facilities but due to an external fault we had to close our facilities in order to enable them to do their work efficiently.

Otherwise, we are very happy to know that you have enjoyed amazing views and a very friendly staff attitude.

The entire team will be very glad to welcome you soon.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We booked into the Palas Atenea for a week commencing 10th February. Quality Manchester flights have only just commenced after the Christmas/New Year Period. Excellent room overlooking the Marina. We could even see our Yacht from the Balcony. Great Breakfast and the Omelette Chef was very obliging, even game me a few Spanish Grammar tips.We ate a couple of times in the adjoining Restaurant which although appears to be part of the Hotel, is owned and run separately. The Reception Staff were Polite, Efficient and Friendly. We had checked in at 7pm and there was a problem with our Safe. I went to the Reception to report the problem and by the time I was back at the room the In House Maintenance was there. Everything fixed within in 30 minutes, and that at 8pm. To top off our week we had Sunshine every day with temperatures 17C to 23C.It does rapidly go chilly after 5pm hence our not wanting to stay on board. A lot of wind so only managed 1 comfortable days sailing. I couldn't have written the story better myself and the Hotel fulfilled its part. Roger Dean. Manchester.

Room Tip: We didn't use the Spa. Book a Sea View Room, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerDean2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear RogerDean2929,

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it is a pleasure for us to know that you were delighted with the Hotel facilities and our staff. We are constantly working on providing our very best services for our guests, and we are glad to see that our attempts are appreciated.

We are very happy to know thay you had a nice temperature. Palma de Mallorca is a nice place where the tourists can enjoy a superb climate with many sunny days to enjoy throughout the year.

We will be glad to welcome you in a future and make your visit unforgettable.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We booked this hotel for 3 nights directly with them and they failed to inform us that the spa and indoor pool were closed which was disappointing since it was one of the reasons why we chose the hotel. The room had good views but it was cold, so the next morning they sent someone to repair the heating. No apologies were given. It was quite a walk to the center of Palma but you could park easily in front of the hotel which was nice. To me it is a hotel for business people no holidays.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canari0na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear canari0na,

I would like to thank you for choosing Meliá Palas Atenea Hotel and for sharing your experience with other travelers.Your opinion makes us aware of aspects we must improve and I thank you for this opportunity.

We regret to know that your stay with us was not as pleasant as we wished due to the closure of the Yhi Spa. The Thermal Circuit has been closed to the public for maintenance works.

About the heating repair I would like to say that is unusual. Normally it is strictly supervised daily by our cleaning team.

Our apologies for the inconveniences you have had in your stay. We do our best to exceed our guest expectations and we are really sorry to know that we have not reached yours.

I looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.1 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#15 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,775 reviews
0.2 mi away
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
#12 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palma Bellver By Melia
Palma Bellver By Melia
#29 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
#25 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,694 reviews
2.2 mi away
Melia Palma Bay
Melia Palma Bay
#21 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
300 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel UR Portofino
Hotel UR Portofino
#38 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Palas Atenea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Palas Atenea

Address: Avinguda de Gabriel Roca, 29, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#26 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#26 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: £106 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Palas Atenea 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
·Modern, bright rooms equipped with everything you need to enjoy a wonderful stay in Mallorca ·Fantastic new lobby area to enjoy a gin and tonic in the new Blue Lounge Bar ·YHI Spa with water circuit, 7 treatment rooms and a full gym measuring over 1,200 m2! * ·Delicious breakfast buffet with show cooking and breakfast area on the terrace to enjoy the views* ·Just 10 minutes from Palma de Mallorca airport and the main attractions in the city ·The best hotel in Mallorca for groups of over 300 people *extra charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Palas Atenea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Palas Atenea Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Melia Palma De Mallorca
Melia Hotel Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing