We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our wonderful Stay at Melia Palas Atenea”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Palas Atenea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Palas Atenea
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our wonderful Stay at Melia Palas Atenea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have just had a wonderful 6 days in Mallorca, staying at the Palas Atenea. The hotel was beautiful, and the staff very friendly, breakfast was a delight with an unbelievable amount of choice. The weather was wonderful, and we spent one day chilling at the pool, which was lovely with the view of the marina, our room also had a fabulous view of the Marina. Palma was a delight, I have never met such friendly welcoming people, I would like to think we will return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Daolyn,

It is a great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it is a pleasure for us to know that you were delighted with the hotel facilities and our staff.

We are constanly working on providing our very best services for our guests, and we are glad to see that our attempts are appreciated.

We hope you visit us again and of course we will be very pleased to welcome you.


Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    765
    238
    87
    57
See reviews for
251
824
51
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palma De Mallorca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

It was fantastic we can't wait to return,really felt special what a hotel couldn't fault anything.
The location overlooking the marina was incredible while having breakfast and on the sun beds wouldn't go to any other hotel in Palma after our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Susan E,

On behalf the entire team we would like to thank you for reporting your impressions and feelings regarding your last stay at Meliá Palas Atenea.

We appreciate to hear that your expectations wew met with our services and facilities and that you enjoyed it.

We truly hope that you come back and give us another opportunity to reach your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESSEX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just back after 5 lovely days staying at the Melia Palas Atenea in Palma Majorca.
It would be easy to be negative about our stay here but any issues did not really distract from us enjoying our stay. Having booked for bed and breakfast in this 4/5 star hotel the morning breakfast was as expected one of the delights of staying with this hotel chain. As at previous Melia hotels the wonderful selection of fresh food was a delight and the service from the staff was first class.... Endless glasses of good quality "Cava" gave the morning that "Champagne" feeling. It would be difficult to think of anything missing or wrong with the breakfasts.
However, the room was more of a 3 star experience which must be said was rather disappointing. The decor was a little bizarre to say the least, the attempt to modernise would have been OK had the whole room been in the same style ...with one half of the room decorated in light blue lit furniture while the other half was in traditional dark wood doors etc, sorry Melia it doesn't work?? More of a worry in what was meant to be a a 4/5 star experience, was the toilet and bath room? At 6ft tall I shouldn't have to sit sideways on a toilet? Placed in an angled corner it was impossible to sit straight? I suggested we asked to be moved but Jane considered the rest of the rooms would probably be the same? Of course when we booked we were informed there would be tea and coffee facilities in the room.... Well there were, but just on night one, then we continually had to request from reception that they send up milk, tea or coffee as it was never replenished adequately. One afternoon we made calls to reception and catering but still never received our tea or coffee bags. As a result we finished up buying a carton of milk and brought up tea bags from the breakfast bar.
The sea/harbour view was always interesting and gets the morning sun and is shaded in the late afternoon and evening, which in the hot summer must be an advantage. The balcony is small but adequate. Lovely views across the pool area and of the many luxury boats moored in and around the harbour .. Great if you love boat watching. The pool was well organised, well done Melia it looked like you have overcome people reserving sun beds by leaving a towel on the bed while away drinking or eating at the bar. The attendant simply collected in the used towels and replaced it with a newly rolled one showing the bed was unoccupied.. Good system. We also bought two circuits in the spa at 15€ each which was a nice facility! and worth the extra payment.
Staying in a city it is always good to have secure parking facilities and the lock up garage was fine but at 12€ a night a little expensive when already having paid for a 4/5 star room. However, the hotel offered a 10€ per night cash back to spend at the bar so not really an issue. All in all we enjoyed our first stay in Palma, the hotel is in a good position and mostly provided a very good service. It was easy and not expensive to get a taxi into the City or the walk along the harbour which was always interesting and enjoyable. While we didn't eat in the main restaurant in the evening we did try the Tapas bar attached with an entrance door in the hotel reception area. The food and wine here was good but the service was a bit "Faulty Towers" ..where everyone seemed unsure if they had the tapas dish they had ordered ..twice we were offered food ordered by others? Eventually we did get our ordered dished from a smiling apologetic waitress, we were also offered an opportunity to taste the wine before we ordered ... Nice touch!

Melia will remain on my list as a good quality hotel chain with breakfasts to die for but will I use The Palas Atelea for my next visit to Palma ???.. Probably not! I might use the Hotel Victoria or the Trypt Hotel, still in the same Melia Chain. I would suggest the face lift given to The Palas Atalea does not suggest this is worthy of the 4/5 star branding of this hotel. Although lovely large beds, the rooms are rather small with a strange decor and as indicated the toilet and bathroom far from adequate.

Room Tip: Request Size of bathroom toilet when booking a room.. Suggest sea facing room on a high level for go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexJohnjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear EssexJohnjane,

Thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your comments; we believe it is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our guests that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for.

I must apologise for any misunderstanding concerning the size of the toilet and bath room. These areas are separated from each other, being more confortable to many of our guests. I trust you will comprehend that there was never any intention to mislead in this regard and I would like to reiterate my apologies should you have suffered any discomfort during your stay.

With regard to the point of your letter regarding the tea and coffee facilities in the room, I would like to clarify that we will replace the product once a day. If our guests wish more coffee or tea service it will be a Room Service.

We are very sorry if during your stay we did not replace your tea and coffee once a day. Thanks to your comments it will help us to ensure this procedure in future occasions.

We are really sorry to learn that we have not reached your expectations this time.
We will be delighted to welcome you back and provide you our best to make your stay an amazing experience.


Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

In search of some sun we booked last minute through Last Minute.Com because there was the promise of great weather in a Palma. And there was.
A dodgy start when we arrived and there was no record of our booking but Marlaina on reception did a great job of sorting out what was an error by Last Minute.
The hotel is smart modern and comfortable, we up graded to a room at the front and the view over the marina to the Cathedral is as amazing as people say, up grade if you can. The room was comfortable and is equipped with kettle and tea bags but only British TV is Sky news and BBC World News so not great entertainment. We couldn't get the air con to work and should have complained at the time but didn't.
Whilst in a great location for the view there are noisy clubs and bars nearby and we did hear noise in to the early hours which was a pain but then we did open the window as it was so hot and the air con didn't work. In high season I imagine the noise could be a problem. It was also a little far to walk in to the old town so we resorted to takin a taxi, 5 euro to the Cathedral. The old town has a wealth of amazing restaurants and shops. The Menu del Dia at most is fantastic value, try a few. For a v special meal eat at Forno but beware you may need to book for dinner.
Whilst not part of the hotel you should also try Tapas Negro which is accessed via hotel reception. A modern take on Tapas and truly fantastic.
The cocktail bar is good value and has great service but did lack a little atmosphere, perhaps because the reception area it adjoins is so big and open.
Because the weather was so good we also used the terrace and lazed by the pool. Because it is low season the pool and pool bar were not officially open but the sun on the terrace and again the great views made it a great place to be. There is a well equipped gym, ( free) but the spar remains closed.
All in all we had a great time and would return

Room Tip: A room at the front, the view and up graded rooms are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear TerryandJane,

Thank you for reporting us your experience after your last stay at Meliá! It is a real honor to know that you enjoyed it.

I will share your kind words with the person who resolved your booking error. Your positive comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality.

In reference to your Tv channel comments I would like to explain you that after our last channel review our guests should currently see five English channel on television. After your comments we will again review it in order to prevent future situations like yours.

We regret to know that you heard noise during the night although the hotels rooms are soundproof do not hesitate that we will follow your remarks. We are in progress of painting our rooms with special paint and incorporating specific windows.

Our appreciation again for sharing your experience and we look forward to serving you in the future.


Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We had never been to Mallorca before but wanted some sun.

We had had good times at another Melia hotels so we just want for this.

It was only about 20 minutes away from the airport. Check in was smooth. Remembering advice from other reviews I asked for a sea view and got one.

The hotel was not very full though the USS Harry Truman decanted 3000 sailors on the city.

The room was good, clean but reflected the marble, fluorescent and white MDF of the entrance. It was very quiet at night with a superb view.

Breakfast was very good and catered for a wide range of taste. Germans were in the majority but breakfast catered for everybody.

With some frisson over the unpredictable arrival of the shuttle check out took 30 seconds and a fax I needed to send was free. Internet access is fine as well.

The only thing I would change is that I would hire a car.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank woodc0te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear woodcOte,

Thank you very much for the time you took in writing your impressions about our Hotel on TripAdvisor after your recent visit.

We will review which can be the reflected that you describe.

We will be delighted to welcome you back and provide you our best to make your stay an amazing experience.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. We were there only for a 3 night break and the location was good to see the sights, city and airport. The taxis are readily waiting and reasonable prices even though the buses are close by.
We had a classic room which was in need of a refurb although clean it was tired and the carpet had stains. The view from balcony was of the back streets but we were on the 6th floor so didn't hear much noise

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Lainyturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Lainyturn,

Thank you for reporting us your experience after your last stay at Meliá Palas Atenea. It is a real honor to know that you enjoyed it.

In reference to your rooms comments I would like to say that we are presently involved in a plan for prevent maintenance in our Hotel rooms. Also we have renovated many rooms.

We hope we have the chance to meet you soon in our Hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I spent one night here on a recent business trip, and I found the staff friendly and helpful. My room wasn't bad, though rather small, and on a corner with a balcony on two sides. But it's debatable whether anyone would really want to pick this as a holiday resort as it's right on a busy street in Palma. The Internet was terribly slow, although free, and at least there were sufficient power sockets including one by the bed which simplified charging the phone overnight while still being in reach of the alarm function. The temperature on the aircon and heating unit was easy to adjust and efficient without complicated dials and symbols, and this made a pleasant change. Tucked up for the night, I discovered that the bedside light was bright enough for reading but, although the mattress was reasonably comfortable, the pillows were gruesome. Although my room was clean and tidy, the ceiling of the balcony showed flaking paint and plaster that rather spoilt the effect and perhaps hid an element of shabbiness that lay beneath. Overall I've stayed in far worse but I've also experienced far better.

Room Tip: Get a room on a corner overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockstro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear rockstro,

Thank you a lot for taking your time to post a comment and in this way to share with other Trip Advisor’s users about your experience in Meliá.

We take into account your comments about the power sockets. We will include more sockets next to the bed. No comments were received indicating this issue but we think is more comfortable for our guests.

In reference to your paint balcony comments I would like to say that we are presently involved in a plan for prevent maintenance in our Hotel rooms.

About the pillow, we have a pillows menu that is often used for our guests. You are welcome to try it.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in order to provide the best of our service to make your stay more comfortable.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.3 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#29 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#15 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#12 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
#21 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#23 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
1.0 mi away
HM Jaime III
HM Jaime III
#14 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Palas Atenea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Palas Atenea

Property: Melia Palas Atenea
Address: Avinguda de Gabriel Roca, 29, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#10 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#20 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#25 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#26 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Palas Atenea 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Melia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Palas Atenea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Palas Atenea Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Melia Palma De Mallorca
Melia Hotel Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing