We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”
Review of Melia Palas Atenea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Palas Atenea
Ranked #25 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Nice view from Balkon (poolside), small rooms, good bed, bathroom rather old, nice lobby and lobby bar, very good breakfast, very tasty restaurant at the street side ground floor (reservation helps), spa & pool (not tested)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Aris62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Aris62,

Thank you for reporting us your experience after your stay in Meliá Palas Atenea.It has been very kind of you, that you took the time to let us know about your positive feedback.

All our team hopes to get an opportunity to welcome you here again soon!

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

741 - 747 of 1,991 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

My better half treated me to a night out in Palma. The hotel is in a great position right opposite the harbour with great views of the cathedral and old town.

Our room overlooked the pool with the great views, so well worth paying that extra.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcfc1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear bcfcmike,

It has been very kind of you, that you took the time to let us know about your nice experience.
We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

It would be a pleasure for all the Meliá Palas Atenea team to welcome you back in a near future.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Came home yesterday after a 3 night stay at palas atenea. Love the hotel, I went with my niece who was here from USA as we had promised ourselves a little trip, we both loved it the views from our bedroom were lovely, breakfast was delicious and the presentation was spot on. I adore palma and this hotel for me is the icing on the cake, staff are wonderful . Dining room staff so nice. And Andrew on the front desk was so nice to us. Can't wait to go back in September with my husband for a few days. Thanks to everyone at palas atenea

Room Tip: Go for a front room if you can .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stella016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear stella016,

It is a pleasure for us to know that our customers feel comfortable and glad with our facilities and services because this is the main goal of our Hotel and our Company, Meliá Hotels International, and we all thank you for appreciate the hard work.

I will share your kind words with the entire team who will be very glad to know that our effort is highly appreciated by our guests.

We appreciate to hear that your expectations were met.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Third stay. Stil nice with a beautyful wiev of the harbor. Nice room and a good pool area. Great buffet, but kind of had enougt of the same food. Bar prices have thougt been on the rise and it is getting to expensive. Give it a try

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Dan J,

Thank you for reporting us you experience after your last stay at Meliá Palas Atenea! It is a real honor to know that you enjoyed it.

We will check our Bar prices but we have very competitive prices being a positive reference in our area.

It is great to know that is your third visit to Meliá Palas Atenea.

We hope to welcome you back in a near future.


Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Melia Palas Atenea

Good things...location,right opposite the main marina with superb view of the city and cathedral. The rooms are well equipped with air con, free wifi and a decent 42 inch LG TV with HDMI port, electronic safe and plenty of wardrobe space.Deluxe rooms are set back from the road and look over the pool patio which helps to reduce road noise. Windows are double glazed. Our room had a bath and shower with separate toilet and bidet.Hot water in the room was endless.The hotel was fairly quiet when we were there in early April with very few noisy kids and boozers coming back late at night...see later commemts ref Thursday,Friday and Saturday nights. The hotel is pricey enough to filter out most of those. Breakfast is goo quality but nothing exceptional. Reception staff are helpful and older, reflecting the generally older and more mature clientele who were about 80% German.Decor in our room and the lobby is new and modern. Lots of charging points in the rooms..standard two round pin type of plugs.The hotel is close to several decent restaurants and cafes on the front...we liked Kapricio for tapas and pizza. A short uphill walk to Bellber Castle and 20 mins into the city centre. We paid 20 Euros exactly for a taxi from the airport,but the no 1 bus stops near the hotel for 3 Euros each. The no 1 also takes you to Placa d'Espanya which is where you can take the train or bus to Soller (no 211).The pool is a decent size but not heated. The spa pool which my wife enjoyed costs 15 Euros for 2 hrs while the well equipped gym is free but without windows.

Bad things ... a few niggles. If you think you can have a free night as a Melia points member for your birthday, you will have to wait 12 months after you join to get it. This is not made clear on the website. The patio door in our room didn't lock and given the ease of moving from one balcony to another this was a security risk especially as I was keeping an expensive rental bicycle in the room. The lock was half fixed when it was reported but still didn't work properly. The bathroom is a bit pokey. The bedroom door to the vestibule wouldn't close properly. The toilet was in a corner and very close to the wall. The hairdryer cut out after 30 seconds.Street noise from the six lane highway in front of the hotel woke us up three nights in a row. Quad bikes and motorbikes seem to use it as a drag strip at 0300 and drunks on their way home seem to want to shout at each other at 0500.Far from ideal if you need your sleep. This main road and associated noise are reasons why we won't return to this hotel.

Summary ... good location, noisy road,decent standard but nothing exceptional given the price.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JohnKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear JohnKirk,

I would like to thank you for such a completely and inspirited review regarding your stay in our Hotel. We hugely appreciate your kind and sincere words.

I would like to say how much I deeply regret that you suffered external noise and left our facilities unsatisfied with us. The Hotel can not control the external noise but what is certain is that we always try to do our best for our guests.

The Meliá Rewards members can book a free night with their birthday bonus thirty days after the birthday date. If you have different information please let us know.

Finally, I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write to us and for your constructive observations. In Meliá Palas Atenea we believe that it is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our customers, that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for.

Although your recent experience did not completely satisfy the expectations that you had of our Hotel, I would dearly hope that your experience in the Meliá Palas Atenea does not deter you from any further visits to us and to have the opportunity to receive you once ahain in our Hotel and change your last impression.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel with a friend of mine; we wanted to relax and enjoy a lovely setting. Our room was clean and modern and we had the most amazing view of the marina and pool. Staff were efficient and check in/out was really good.
Perfect location and would return. Local restaurants and bars all nearby. A wonderful view of the cathedral and the old town just a 20 minute walk away. Swimming pool lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Kelly R,

Thank you for reporting us your experience after your last stay al Meliá Palas Atenea. It is a real honor to know that you enjoyed it. I will share with my team your good comments.

Your nice review will help others travelers that would like to come, so I would like to presentyou again all of my appreciation.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Got the opportunity to go away on a 5 day trip with my wife and leaving the kids at home. Wanted a nice hotel where we could relax and got just that. Really nice hotel with walking distance to restaurants and shops.

Room were really good and the breakfast was superb. Also liked the pool and the poolbars where we relaxed during the days.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with view over the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Daniel H,

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it is a pleasure for us to know that you were delighted with the hotel facilities and our staff.

We are constantly working on providing our very best services for our guests, and we are glad to see that our attempts are appreciated.

We will be glad to welcome you in a future and make your visit unforgettable.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.1 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,750 reviews
0.3 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#28 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
#16 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
#24 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,688 reviews
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#27 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,599 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#14 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Palas Atenea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Palas Atenea

Address: Avinguda de Gabriel Roca, 29, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#20 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#25 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#26 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: £117 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Palas Atenea 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
·Modern, bright rooms equipped with everything you need to enjoy a wonderful stay in Mallorca ·Fantastic new lobby area to enjoy a gin and tonic in the new Blue Lounge Bar ·YHI Spa with water circuit, 7 treatment rooms and a full gym measuring over 1,200 m2! * ·Delicious breakfast buffet with show cooking and breakfast area on the terrace to enjoy the views* ·Just 10 minutes from Palma de Mallorca airport and the main attractions in the city ·The best hotel in Mallorca for groups of over 300 people *extra charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Melia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Palas Atenea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Palas Atenea Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Melia Palma De Mallorca
Melia Hotel Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing