We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel.”
Review of Melia Palas Atenea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Palas Atenea
Ranked #26 of 75 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Looks like a hotel built in the 70's - the mustard coloured tiles on the balcony appear from that era. We asked for an upgrade to a sea/harbour view but were told that there were no rooms available. Our room on the 6th floor at the back of the hotel had a view of Bellver Castle, but also of some garish graffiti and a burnt out building. From the other side we could see a strip bar! Not great. Room was ok, clean, and bed was very comfy to be fair, but carpet was stained and worn in places. The bathroom was ok but my biggest bugbear is the shower - it was pathetic! My basic requirement from a hotel room is a good shower. This was a mere trickle of water.
There is a strange pervasive smell in the lobby area. It smells more like chemicals than air freshener.
Breakfast was nice. Staff were nice. Location is good.
Probably would not return though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taffy029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear taffy029,

Thank you so much for your comments, moreover for taking the time in sharing your Experience.

Please contact with melia.palas.atenea@melia.com in order to know your room number and we will review the carpet and shower. Our apologies for the inconveniences you have had in your stay for these reasons.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in order to provide the best of our service to make your stay more comfortable.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

726 - 732 of 1,999 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Good well appointed hotel overlooking marina in Palma. There on a business conference and everything was well organised. Good internet, good breakfasts and a lovely area around the pool. Room was large, very clean and the staff were always helpful. View over marina to cathedral was very pleasant with hundreds of luxurious boats on display. Definitely recommend.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank digifella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear digifella,

On behalf of the entire team of Meliá Palas Atenea we would like to thank you for the time you took to share your positive opinion about your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure for us to know that our customers feel comfortable amd glad with our facilities and services because this is the main goal of our Hotel and our Company, and we all thank you for appreciate the hard work that all our team do very day.

Your nice review will help others travelers that would like to come, so I would like to present you again all of my appreciation.

The entire team will be glad to welcome you soon.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Couldn't have been better placed for Marina, Cathedral, Apuntadores etc. Nice rooms and reception area, decent bar and right next to the bus stop for day trips to Portals Nous, CAmp de Mar etc. Will definitely look at staying here again in future

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Jason B,

On behalf the entire team we would like to thank you for reporting your impressions and feelings regarding your last stay at Meliá Palas Atenea.

We are very proud to know that your last experience satisfied your expectations. Your kind comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain.

All our team hopes to get an opportunity to welcome you here again soon!.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Good hotel very much worth its 4 stars, excellent breakfast, staff are very attentive, any problems are quickly resolved. bathroom is very well equipped. I just hope they reduce the “air freshener smell” in the hotel in general some time it is overpowering especially in the lobby. I will certainly consider staying again at the same hotel or group.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Muthana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Muthana A,

Thank you for reporting us your experience after your last stay at Meliá Palas Atenea. It is a real honor to know that you enjoyed it.

At least to date, we have received valuable feedback from our air freshener smell, but after carefully reading your opinion we will review this issue. The aroma depends on the airflow, the number of people into the hall of the Hotel and sometimes the area may have much or less aroma for any of these reasons.

It would be a pleasure for all Meliá Palas Atenea team to welcome you back in a near future.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

JohnKirk, Birmingham has given a good overall review but I would like to add that this Melia is a very high standard for a Spanish 4 * hotel, in that the room soundproofing is very good. The halls and bedrooms are carpeted, so you can't hear people clomping around or chairs being scrapped at all hours. Beds are very comfortable and the rooms are very clean and well maintained. However, There are no tea/coffee facilities in the room. There is a mini bar, safe etc. You can use wifi in the room. We had a room at the back of the hotel, which does overlook an English Pub......it can be noisy sometimes but you will encounter this in a city environment.

The lift system is brilliant! Know this is a bit odd to report on, but in some hotels I have waited 10 minutes or more for a lift, everyday! Very annoying.

The pool terrace is lovely with an excellent view and plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas. There is traffic noise but you soon ignore it. Best thing is there was no piped music around pool, although there is at pool bar and restaurant nearby......therefore pleasing everyone! The pool area wasn't geared up for small children ie no separate pool or play area.....just an observation.

We booked on a Room Only basis, which seemed the best option at the time of booking, checking the hotel web site as well, so we were delighted to arrive to find the current promotion was breakfast at €9.50 instead of €20! Trust me, we are not normally this lucky.....

Breakfast good quality and good selection, with fresh eggs and omelettes being cooked on demand with a free glass of Cava if you're up for it.....Didn't eat lunch or dinner at the hotel. Plenty of bars, restaurants, cafes nearby with a shop just outside for water, alcohol, etc.

Taxis are always outside and the hotel is on a bus route. No 1 from the airport, which I think carries on to Magaluf.....

We had a very relaxing 4 nights here and the answer to the big question 'Would you come back?' The answer is a Big YES!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarionFlood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear MarionFlood,

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay wirh us and it is a pleasure for us to know that you were delighted with the Hotel facilities. Wea re constantly working on providing our very best services for our guests, and we are glad to see that our attempts are appreciated.

Thank you a lot for taking your time to post a comment and in this way to share with other Trp advisor´s users about your experience in Meliá Palas Atenea. Your nice review will help others travelers that would like to come, so I would like to present you again all of my appreciation.

The entire team will be very glad to welcome you soon.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Smart lobby leads you to expect a smart room, unless you have paid for one at the front of the hotel you're going to be very disappointed. The location is good and the view (in a good room) is lovely. Apart from that, it's too much money for what you get. Not even really comparable to a holiday inn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
2  Thank Shoebox777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Shoebox777,

Thank you for reporting us your experience after your last stay at meliá Palas Atenea.
We are really sorry for not having reached your expectations during your stay.

In reference to your room comments, I would like to inform you that the Hotel has different room typologies, classic room, meliá room with views, premium room and grand premium room and we are in the process of renewal, and for the moment we do not have all our room renovated. We hope will have renovated all our rooms in the near future.

We would be glad to have the opportunity to receive you once again in our Hotel and change your last impression.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is one of those hotels that is dated (I guess from the 80's) and although it's been maintained it does show its age. The staff is fine and I could check in very early which was kind and helpful but the room is basic with old fashioned blankets and no separate shower. I had dinner in the restaurant which does not do very Spanish cooking, more like standard hotel food, but there are plenty of places to around for a nicer dinner so don't worry.
If you value a quiet night's rest then make sure you ask for a room on the sea side or at least not on the street side of the hotel which remains noisy at night (I sleep with the window open).
Room rate was 150 euro incl breakfast and the taxi from the airport was 20 euro. I would not take public transport as it takes 1,5 hour.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogiervanderheide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear rogiervanderheide,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us
It is great to see that you appreciated the central location of our hotel. Furthermore, we will take your comments on board as we are always trying to meet our guests’ expectations and provide the best possible service.

Our restaurant has regional and international cuisine and is a very well recognized restaurant with a wide variety of Spanish dishes, as well of Salmorejo, Arroz negro, Jamón Ibérico etc.

The Hotel can not control the Street noise but we will take good notice of all your impressions. Do not hesitate that every single comment will be carefully analyzed, following our continuous improvement plan.

We sincerely hope that we have the chance to welcome you again very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.2 mi away
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
#16 of 75 in Palma de Mallorca
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#15 of 75 in Palma de Mallorca
1,783 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palma Bellver By Melia
Hotel Palma Bellver By Melia
#30 of 75 in Palma de Mallorca
2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Melia Palma Bay
Melia Palma Bay
#22 of 75 in Palma de Mallorca
314 reviews
1.5 mi away
Innside by Melia Palma Center
Innside by Melia Palma Center
#11 of 75 in Palma de Mallorca
760 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
#25 of 75 in Palma de Mallorca
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Palas Atenea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Palas Atenea

Address: Avinguda de Gabriel Roca, 29, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#26 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#26 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: £103 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Palas Atenea 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
·Modern, bright rooms equipped with everything you need to enjoy a wonderful stay in Mallorca ·Fantastic new lobby area to enjoy a gin and tonic in the new Blue Lounge Bar ·YHI Spa with water circuit, 7 treatment rooms and a full gym measuring over 1,200 m2! * ·Delicious breakfast buffet with show cooking and breakfast area on the terrace to enjoy the views* ·Just 10 minutes from Palma de Mallorca airport and the main attractions in the city ·The best hotel in Mallorca for groups of over 300 people *extra charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Melia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Palas Atenea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Palas Atenea Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Melia Palma De Mallorca
Melia Hotel Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing