We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed it !”
Review of Melia Palas Atenea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Palas Atenea
Ranked #24 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed it !”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed one night through Melia Rewards.We had stayed earlier in the week at the nearby Melia Victoria so we expected this hotel not to be quite as good.
We were wrong because although this hotel is much larger and perhaps not as 'posh' it was fantastic and great value.
On arrival they upgraded us to a sea view /Marina room. The room was modern and tasteful. The bed was comfortable and we had a fantastic marina view with our own small balcony. A lovely touch was a bottle of cava on ice when we got in for the evening.
The staff were friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
The bar menu was good value and it attracted a younger crowd around the pool compared to the Victoria. They could definitely use more sunbeds and seating around the pool. The usual selfish brits are putting towels out but if you see the nice pool attendant she will supply you with towels and help you.
The Wifi is fantastic and works well.
The whole ambience of the hotel is space and cool.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
Theres a shop next door if you are on a budget, approx 20 Euros in a taxi from the airport and the breakfast has a vast choice and is of high quality.
20 minute walk to Palma city
If you like it a bit upmarket stay at the Melia Victoria but if you dont mind a bit noisier poolside this is perfect.

Room Tip: Try and get a Sea view, its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheppy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Sheppy01,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Meliá Palas Atenea after a stay at our sister property the Gran Meliá Victoria.

We are very happy to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience and most of all that you thought the service was excellent as we really aim at exceeding our guest’s expectations and making sure that their stays with us are memorable ones.

We really hope that we hace the opportunity to welcome you back to the Meliá Palas Atenea again very soon.

Best regards,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    804
    257
    93
    58
See reviews for
268
875
55
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Some chatter about this hotel in the reviews, having stayed last year at the Melia Victoria I did notice a difference between the 2 hotels which was due to star rating - however my stay was still spot on.
As a lot of travellers state it is worth upgrading and getting a refurbished room, I would agree if just for the harbour view alone. These rooms are a good standard and nicely decorated in a modern hotel style.
What was evident in this hotel was the service of all the staff from check in to departure, this seems to be the norm in Melia hotels.
The breakfasts were historic with everything you could wish for, enjoyed sitting outside with a class of cava and sampling traditional Spanish foods. Tried a couple of lunches, which were fine.
Sunbeds are a big issue, it was the height of summer so no surprise everyone wanted to sun bathe. The only solution is to get up early and out of you want a bed as space is limited.
Will definitely consider another stay in the future.

Room Tip: Upgrade for a sea or side sea view with the hotel, good rate offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunn73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Dunn73,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments about you recent experience with us at the Meliá Palas Atenea. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that we have managed to join your loyalty and hence you will consider us whenever you decide to visit Palma again.

Regarding the sunbeds, we are sorry that you have experienced any inconveniences but we have a limited number of sunbeds due to the reduced space of the swimming pool area.
Again, thank you very much for your comments!

Warm regards

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have been staying here for a number of years, and, once again this July the hotel did not let us down.Location is its premier asset while the newly-refurbished bedrooms overlooking the marina are really excellent. However I would like to comment on some of the negative comments on this forum by other guests.
1.Complaints about lack of sunbeds.
There are approximately 90 sunbeds available which serve a total of 361 rooms.Simple mathematics tell you this cannot always meet demand. In peak months of July and August demand will always exceed supply and I believe at this time of year most other hotels will come up against the same problem. There is also less space on the pool terrace now the gazebo area has been reserved for dining.
2.Complaints about noise.
These emanate from the entertainment evenings which run nightly Monday to Friday on the pool terrace, a relatively new departure for the hotel. It could be a jazz night or a flamenco evening. The music generally starts about 9pm and finishes by 11.30pm at the latest.I do not think that is too much to endure.
Other minor complaints from other guests involved housekeepers entering bedrooms without knocking. The solution? Put the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the outside of the door.That is what they are there for!
As for the complaints about the state of the rear non-refurbished bedrooms, yes they do look a bit tired but all rooms are being gradually refurbished.In the meantime if you want one of the new rooms pay extra!
In summary I believe the Palas Atenea is well up to standard with its general facilities and services worthy of its four star rating and we will certainly be back there in the future.
Do not let anyone on this forum try and put you off!

Room Tip: Go for the newly refurbished front-facing rooms on a high floor even if it means paying extra.You wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Anthony H,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent stay with us!. We are very grateful for your understanding and it is a real pleasure to know that you really enjoyed your time with us despite minor flaws that we are trying to correct to enhance the experience we provide to our guests.

I am delighted to inform you that we have already refurbished 200 rooms and are planning to work on the remaining ones so that they are available next season so that all our guests can live a Meliá experience.

Anthony H, we are really looking forward to welcoming you again to the Meliá Palas Atenea, your home in Palma, to ensure that you experience another unforgettable stay with us!

Warm regards,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I know some of the Melia properties can be a litte "old" and worn but I enjoyed staying in this Hotel. Great views of the harbor and Pool and ecellent Service provided by a well educated staff. Luxery Breakfast Buffet will cover your apetite for the rest of the day. Rooms are excellent with nice shower and bathroom and very "clean" room. Nice and comfy beds....
I did enjoy the gym at the healthclub which was all up to date modern equipment.

Room Tip: Sea or Harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stalenbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Stalenbu,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at our hotel. We really focus on looking after our guests and we feel very passionate about what we do hence it is a great satisfaction to hear that you thought that the service provided was excellent!. We will share your feedback with the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel or any other Meliá property around the world in the near future.

Warm regards,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 9 nights from 30th June in a Junior Suite and we has a great holiday - the suite was smaller than most we have had in other hotels but the views over the Marina more than made up for it and anyway I have decided recently that less is more when packing for holidays so managed perfectly well with storage space too.......

We loved the pool area too with the lovely views tho you do have to be out early to get a sunbed but to be fair to hotel they have as many as would fit around pool........

Breakfast too was very very nice and one waiter in particular who may be Juan Carlos was exceptionally pleasant and helpful tho others were too it was just he was much more chatty to all the guests - very nice man who shook our hand when we were leaving

We holiday at least 3 times a year and mostly in Melia hotels so think this might just be one that we will return to on an annual basis - loved Palma too and the italian restuarant Piccolo something that someone mentioned before is wonderful........

Room Tip: Rooms facing Marina are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Annie132,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us!. We are very satisfied to learn that yourself and your partner had such a wonderful time with us and will be passing your comments on to Juan Carlos and the rest of the team who will be delighted to hear the feedback as our goal is to exceed the expectations of our guests.

We really do hope that like you mentioned we have the chance to welcome you back to our hotel next year, we will be looking forward to that!.

Best regards,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights from the 5th to the 7th of July with my daughter to celebrate her birthday. We had booked a premier room which was well worth it. The room had been completely refurbished to vey modern standards and décor, it faced the marina, cathedral and pool and came equipped with kettle, tea coffee etc. Location excellent, about a 10 minute walk into Palma with a taxi rank outside so easy access from the airport. Stayed on a room only basis but we did eat lunch around the pool which was in keeping with 5 star hotel prices and was very good. Although we were at the front of the hotel there was no noise. The reception area was lovely and a great place for pre dinner drinks, prices were also reasonable. My daughter had a lovely surprise on her birthday when a bottle of cava was unexpectedly delivered to the room by the management, her date of birth must have been picked up from her passport. Well done Melia and keep up the good customer service. Almost forgot there was free wifi.

Room Tip: Select a premier room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Ely,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments on your recent experience with us at the Meliá Palas Atenea. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that we managed to exceed your expectations. We really like to pamper our guests and that is why we are extremely happy to learn that you liked the small present that we sent up to your room for your daughter’s birthday.

We really hope that we have the chance to welcome you back to your home in Majorca, the Meliá Palas Atenea.

Best regards,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location and having stayed last year I decided to come back with friends.
We had booked a classic room which was at the side of the hotel, no front sea view and was in need of a little renovation but nevertheless clean throughout and comfortable beds. A small let down was not having a kettle and despite asking at reception was told not all rooms have them, I think regardless of room a small kettle should really be as standard!
Hairdryer problem was dealt with immediately and efficiently.
The breakfast here is fantastic, a full array of hot and cold foods of very good quality and great service.
A problem seems to occur with the sunbeds, there are not enough for guests who understandably then get agitated when they can't get them and attempt to reserve early on in the morning which isn't permitted. This did add a certain amount of stress thinking about our 'sunbed strategy' for the next day, which you don't want when the purpose of your trip is to relax.
Overall we had a great stay here, main tips would be to book the premium room with sea view as these are some that are refurbished and have the great forward facing sea view..and a kettle!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claireangel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Claireangel2014,

Thank you for the time you took in writing your impressions about out Hotel after your recent visit.

We do not have kettle in every room. We would be delighted to add more kettles in the near future; we are working on that at the moment.

We are very sorry if during your stay with us you could find some inconvenience with the hairdryer. I am pleased that it has been fixed quickly.

With reference to your sunbeds comments, I would like to inform you that the Hotel offers a limit number of sunbeds according to the size of the swimming pool area, for this reason in order to provide a good service, it is not allowed to book sunbeds. In this way, the guests that stay on the terrace will enjoy it. We are sorry if you did not find sunbeds at any time during your stay with us.

We look forward to receive your visit soon and we remain at your disposal.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.1 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#15 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,612 reviews
0.3 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#25 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,093 reviews
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#23 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,464 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Saratoga
Hotel Saratoga
#33 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,076 reviews
2.2 mi away
Melia Palma Bay
Melia Palma Bay
#35 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Palas Atenea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Palas Atenea

Property: Melia Palas Atenea
Address: Avinguda de Gabriel Roca, 29, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#10 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#20 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#24 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#26 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Palas Atenea 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Melia, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Palas Atenea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Palas Atenea Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Melia Palma De Mallorca
Melia Hotel Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing