We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spanish Holiday”
Review of Melia Palas Atenea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Palas Atenea
Ranked #24 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Spanish Holiday”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here with my Husband as part of a weeks holiday in Majorca. We had two separate stays in this hotel the first for two nights the second for one night in July. Very nice Hotel beautiful downstairs foyer and lounge welcoming reception. Our stay included bed and breakfast. The bedroom was very nice and clean fairly standard décor was comfortable and well stocked with toiletries. The Breakfast was a buffet style and was very nice. I would describe the hotel as a business/city type hotel as opposed to holiday style. I did find the bar to be very expensive. Hotel is well located in the centre of Palma.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Vivienne H,

Thank you for reporting us your experience after your last stay with us. We are hugely pleased to read that your room and the breakfast did meet your expectations.

The Bar menu has been recently checked. The price is adequate to a four star hotel and also similar establishments in this area have similar price.

We will be delighted to welcome you back and provide you our best to make your stay an amazing experience.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    804
    256
    93
    58
See reviews for
268
874
55
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here with my mother for a long weekend break. I have to say in my opinion it's the best hotel I've ever stayed in. The staff couldn't do enough to help us, the breakfast was out of this world, ( the complimentary champagne went down a treat!) and the views from the pool area are outstanding! DEFINITELY worth a visit and I'll definitely visit again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MrsB231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear MrsB231,

Thank you for recommending our Hotel. Your nice review will help others travelers that would like to come, so I would like to present all of my appreciation.

We hugely appreciate your kind and sincere words because for us your feedback is very important. It is a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I will share your comments with the entire team who will be very glad to know that our effort is highly appreciated by our guests.

The entire team will be very glad to welcome you soon.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gargalianoi, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Very beautiful and clean hotel. The view from the pool and rooms with pool view is excellent. Very friendly and helpful staff. The room was very comfortable with lots of mirror sbut hte best part was the bed. Best matress i have ever slept! There are 2 diferent bus lines in front and behind the hotel if you don't want to walk 10 minutes to the centre of the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DionysisV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Dionysis V,

Thank you for reporting us your experience after your last stay at Meliá Palas Atenea. It is a real honor to know that you enjoyed it!.

It is apleasure to know that our customers feel comfortable and glad with our facilities and services because this is the main goal of our Hotel and our Company, Meliá Hotels International, and we all thank you for appreciate the hard work that all our team do every day.

The entire team will be very glad to welcome you soon.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Great location with wonderful views.

There have been a lot of comments regarding the lack of sunbeds at this hotel, however there really isn't space for any more. If you want a sunbed, get up early and get out there - it really is worth it!

The breakfast was as good as all the reviews we had read, and makes a fantastic start to the day.

Rooms are great (we had a grand premium sea view room) and have everything you need for a good holiday.

Can't wait to go back!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank missch57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear missch57,

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it is a pleasure for us to know that you were delighted with your Grand premium room. Our guests value very possitive this type of room.

Can’t wait to welcome you again!

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antrim
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We chose this hotel solely based on its location overlooking the marina and reasonable proximity to the airport so no lengthy transfer. Taxi from the airport takes 15 -20 minutes, cost 18 - 20 euro depending on number of passengers and luggage.
Hotel lobby huge and very quiet during our 4 night stay at the end of July. We never had to wait long for one of the 4 lifts and rarely had to share.
We had a grand premium sea view room at the front of the hotel which gave us a fantastic view over the marina and pool area. There were 3 of us (adults) sharing one room which had 2 very comfortable beds and a roll out bed which was ok if not a little hard. The extra bed made the room fairly cramped but not uncomfortably so. We had tea making facilities in the room which is always a welcome facility, also a small mini bar in which we could store milk. The balcony was quite small but adequate for 2 people. The best thing about the balcony was that we could see the early morning (before 7am) ritual of people reserving sunbeds and then disappearing until after 11 am or later. The lack of sunbeds has been well documented on trip advisor, most reviews have commented on it. It would be very easily rectified - if beds have towels on them and there is no one using them the pool management should remove them. I was on my bed from just after 7 and usually was alone until after 9 am at least, except for the people reserving sunbeds and disappearing, presumably going back to bed. Apart from all that, the pool area was generally very quiet with a nice bar serving hot and cold drinks and food available during the day. Breakfast was excellent, huge variety, something to suit everyone. We had dinner in the hotel a couple of times, the food was fine but the menu fairly limited.
There is a small shop right beside the hotel which was handy for cold drinks, crisps etc. Plenty of cafes and restaurants all along the street.
We took an open top bus trip round Palma which was a great way of having a look round as you could hop off and on at many stops, 15 euro for 24 hour ticket. A walk from the hotel up to the cathedral takes about 30 minutes but its well worth it, the scenery is beautiful. You dont really notice the distance as you stroll along the marina looking at the enormous yachts.
All in all a lovely hotel in a fantastic location, would definitely return.

Room Tip: Take a room at the front of the hotel, it will cost extra but is worth it for the view. The rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyAntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear cindyAntrim,

I would like to thank you for such a completely and inspirited review regarding your stay in our Hotel. We hugely appreciate your kind and sincere words.

I regret if the mattress of the extra bed it was too hard. We will check our extra beds.

In reference to your comments of the swimming pool area, I would like to say that we have a limited number of sunbeds at the pool, due to the size of the swimming pool area. For this reason it is not allow to book sunbeds and it is also reflected in our swimming pool rules. The person responsible for managing the sunbeds area must has the same criteria and we have to respect this important rule. It has been very difficult to avoid book the sunbeds but we are working very hard in order to remedy that situation. I would like to say how much I deeply regret if you was unsatisfied with this issue.

Your nice review will help others travelers that would like to come, so I would like to present you again all of my appreciation.


Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I would like to recommend this hotel for its great location, very helpful staff and nice rooms. I stayed for 4 nights which i personally believe is enough in the city. The hotel was quiet which is good for me as there are not enough sun loungers and it did appear to be a disappointment for those who like to put their towels out first thing in the morning, have breakfast and generally come back hours later. Staff remove towels which have been there annoyingly long (I believe a good thing).
I would choose to stay here again, gets my thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JmDodd1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear JmDodd1980,

Thank you for recommending our Hotel. It would be a pleasure for all the team to welcome you back in your next visit to Palma de Mallorca.

In reference to your comments of the swimming pool area, I would like to say that we have a limited number of sunbeds at the pool, due to the size of the swimming pool area. For this reason it is not allow to book sunbeds and it is also reflected in our swimming pool rules. The person responsible for managing the sunbeds area must has the same criteria and we have to respect this important rule.

I would like to inform you that we are working very hard with the aim of satisfying our guest in the swimming pool area. I would like to say how much I deeply regret if you was unsatisfied with this issue. We are studying several possibilities for improving this issue.


Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Excellent hotel but has a well known problem with pool area being too small and there being insufficient beds and umbrellas for the number of guests using the hotel pool. The breakfast was outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Terence70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Terence70,

Thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your feedback after your last stay with us.

With reference to your sunbeds comments, I would like to inform you that the Hotel offers a limit number of sunbeds according to the size of the swimming pool area, for this reason in order to provide a good service, it is not allowed to book sunbeds. In this way, the guests that stay on the terrace will enjoy it. We are sorry if you did not find sunbeds at any time during your stay with us, the possibility of incorporating a small amount of sunbeds that would be uncomfortable for our guests. And yet, we considered the possibility of incorporate some sunbeds.

I regret if the sunbeds area did not completely satisfy your expectations.We are studying several possibilities for improving this issue.

We hope you visit us again and of course we will be very pleased to welcome you.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.1 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#15 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,612 reviews
0.3 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#25 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,093 reviews
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#23 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,464 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Saratoga
Hotel Saratoga
#33 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,076 reviews
2.2 mi away
Melia Palma Bay
Melia Palma Bay
#35 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Palas Atenea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Palas Atenea

Property: Melia Palas Atenea
Address: Avinguda de Gabriel Roca, 29, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#10 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#20 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#24 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#26 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Palas Atenea 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Melia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Palas Atenea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Palas Atenea Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Melia Palma De Mallorca
Melia Hotel Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing