We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you are visiting Palma, stay here!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Melia Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gran Melia Victoria
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“If you are visiting Palma, stay here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Overall this is a pretty good 5 star hotel. We enjoyed a long weekend break here and can certainly recommend it. The location is good, 30 mins walk to the old town and the facilities are of the standard you would expect.
The lounge area is massive with plenty of comfortable seating and a friendly bar service.
As made clear in other reports, the level of enjoyment here can depend on the room location. Full sea view rooms would no doubt have the best views, but may suffer a little from noise from the road or the night clubs, especially on lower floors. We opted for a side sea view and although set well back in room 538 the balconies are angled and we were delighted with our full-on if not full-width view over trees and gardens to the marina and cathedral. This location was quiet which was exactly what we had requested. Side view rooms at the opposite end of the hotel (castle end) probably not so good due to the proximity of Tito`s night club, however the hotel has done a lot in the way of side screens on the balconies to minimise any unpleasant views.
Our room was a good size and very well furnished and equipped and with a striking marble bathroom, again equipped as you would expect in a five star. Mini bar prices we found were normal for this class of hotel, Euro 5 for a beer (and a coke is not Euro 8.50!).
Breakfast is good with a wide choice of hot or cold offerings. All eggs are cooked to order so this can create a bit of a queue. Cava is provided if you fancy a bucks fizz. The only slight shortcoming was the tea which would have needed several more tea bags to get anywhere near a decent cuppa.
We dined on the Terrace one evening and had an excellent view, service and food, the lobster pasta starter was superb and the fillet steak and lamb both cooked perfectly as ordered. Wine prices here seemed about half what you would pay in a five star in London (superb Rioja Euro 30) Total bill for two people including wine Euro 120, not bad!
We only spent a couple of hours at the pool, everything seemed very clean and well run and drinks prices were again no more than you would expect. There is a side gate near the pool leading onto the marina area and this is the best way in and out of the hotel to avoid the trek round the back streets (room key opens the gate).
Our only slight negatives were being stuck in the lift between floors one night for half an hour, which we were able to laugh about afterwards, and the wierd way the reception showed mini bar items on our bill, which afterwards we thought was overcharged by Euro 26, so worth keeping an eye on this.
We would certainly use this hotel again, if you are visiting Palma stay here!

Room Tip: HIgh floors are best views, side views still very good, nicer and quieter at cathedral end than at c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonsieurTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amaia l, Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our Hotel and Staff. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and experience at the Gran Meliá Victoria. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Pilar Molina
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    417
    141
    55
    29
See reviews for
215
797
67
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Before I go any holidays I always check out trip advisor; however it appears more and more that there are people who for whatever reason write nonsense. Trip advisor should reject the ones that are so obvious nonsense.
One can only assume they are competitors or just the sort of customer the hotel is glad to see the back off.
In general most of the reviews were ok but a bit high on some of the scores as top marks should be rare .
Reviews for Gran Victoria
Sid g review to me is very accurate ,
GS11 to give 1 point is a joke (get a life )
clubley rude staff (the staff were all excellent and most people agree) so have a long look at yourself .
My plus and negative points over and above his review would be
Nightclubs next door and below stay open till early morning
Staff is a credit to the hotel and have all been well trained and I felt they cared
Price I thought was a bit expensive
Shower pressure a joke for a 5 star, crucial to have a good shower
No welcome book with hotel info
The view if you have sea view is awesome
Nice touch on the departing gift (a plate of delicious sweets)
Mass voucher offering 40 Euros per day is a con and must cause all sort of pain at checkout , if you are going to offer something don’t complicate it
Final comments would be there are 2 sides to the hotel, if you go out the harbour side it is all nice bars and restaurants if you go out the other side at reception its very down market.
And management stop doing standard replies on trip advisor it looks silly

Room Tip: Get a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amaia l, Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Dear Tripadvisor member,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your stay. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are extremely happy to have been able to do so on this occasion.

We would be absolutely delighted to accommodate you on your next visit to Mallorca.

Kindest regards,


Pilar Molina
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights before moving to another part of the island. The hotel itself is very well run and all areas were well cared for. Our room was well mainted with extremely comfortable beds and a small but well equiped marble bathroom. We liked the location you can see the marina and the cathedral from the main terrace and walk into Palma if you are fit or a few euros taxi fare (that was us). The staff were faultless in every area, attentive and charming without being fussy. The breakfast was excellent and to suit all tastes. We dined on the hotel terrace one evening with excellent food and lovely views of the bay.I'ts a lovely place to have a drink early evening. As the Melia group are very experienced hoteliers I'm sure they know there market but I felt if they had also had an informal resturant more people would have dined in the hotel. The pool area was clean with a very helpful pool attendant so no scramble for sunbeds.
The staff made this hotel and believe me I don't like fussy or pretentious staff, they got it just right. 5 star all the way

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lottie-grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pilaramaia, General Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our Hotel and Staff. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and experience at the Gran Meliá Victoria. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,


Miguel Bermúdez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

The hotel is in a good position. The staff are really freindly.
Not enough sunbeds are available around the pool area. People had to sunbathe on the sunbed covers as not enough beds were free.
The drinks round the pool are expensive but not as expensive as the minibar. I had a bottle of coke from the minibar & it was 8.50euros. I know its a 5star hotel but I feel the drinks are over priced.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilba78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pilaramaia, General Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our Hotel and Staff. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and experience at the Gran Meliá Victoria. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,


Miguel Bermúdez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

This was a 25th wedding anniversary celebration and we had planned to stay at Portixol. This was booked out so we opted for Gran Melia. We were slightly apprehensive after reading some of the reviews on trip advisor. No need. Hotel is really excellent.We arrived at hotel at 12.30pm. Our room was not quite ready so we were offered a welcome glass of champagne and were able to relax in the lovely reception area.All the staff were totally professional throughout our entire stay.
It would appear from reading previous reviews that quaility of stay at this hotel is determined by the location of room. We had a fifth floor room with sea view which was absolutely fantastic. There was some noise from busy main road below but not enough to spoil our lovely weekend.
Will definately return,

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seav1ew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amaia l, Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our Hotel and Staff. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and experience at the Gran Meliá Victoria. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,


Miguel Bermúdez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Welcoming, friendly and very comfortable hotel. Great location for exploring Palma. Plenty of restaurants and bars close by. We will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morag1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amaia l, General Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our Hotel and Staff. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and experience at the Gran Meliá Victoria. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,


Miguel Bermúdez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

This hotel has many plus points and a couple of disappointing aspects that I will mention below.

The hotel's exterior is well maintained with a partial wall mounted fountain and a clean and crisp reception area. The reception staff are attentive and check-in formalities were completed with ease and efficiency.

The room itself was well appointed and had all the amenities one would expect of a 5* hotel room. The bathrooms looked like they had been recently grouted so had no stains or marks.

However, the Deluxe Partial Sea View rooms do look over Tito's nightclub which is a dark stained and slightly tumbledown building, but this is not the hotel's fault.

Breakfast consists of a choice of bread and cold cuts along with various cereals alongside a hot option of beans, eggs etc. There is a live counter at which one can order egg dishes such as pancakes and omlettes. Overall I would give the breakfast a thumbs up. It also continues till 10.30am which is handy if one does not feel like rising at the crack of dawn.

The pool area is clean and tidy with a recently laid wood effect flooring which is non-slip and very clean. The salt water pool is refreshing and at a lovely temperature. The attendants are lovely and very helpful.

Unfortunately, this hotel does not have what I would call a functioning gymnasium. They have got a treadmill, a sub-standard cross-trainer machine and a very poorly maintained and rusty multi-gym machine. The multi-gym is a joke and is jammed so is particularly useless. The other problem is that the 'gym' is outdoors next to the pool area and so really only useful after the pool has closed for the day.

The sauna and indoor pool are both further sources of despair. They are unfortunately housed in a large chamber that is characterless and a little to humid. The sauna is very small and has an oversized heater that render the tiny space useless as the heat rises too quickly. The overall feel of the sauna area is tacky and cheap.

Good: Reception, Room, Staff, Breakfast, Room Service, Food, Ambience, Location, Pool and Sun Loungers

Bad: Sauna and Indoor Pool Area, Deluxe Partial Sea View Rooms look over a delapidated building.

Very Bad: Lack of gym facilities, Poor maintenance of existing gym equipment.

Room Tip: Sea View Rooms are good - Deluxe Partial Sea View Rooms look over an old building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amaia l, General Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our Hotel and Staff. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and experience at the Gran Meliá Victoria. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,


Miguel Bermúdez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#13 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.4 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#28 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
1.5 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea
#24 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
2.6 mi away
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxur...
#8 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
#20 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Victoria

Property: Gran Melia Victoria
Address: Avenida Joan Miro 21, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#9 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#14 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Victoria 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Meliá Victoria is a 5 star hotel located in Paseo Marítimo with wonderful views of the Bay of Palma. A unique experience of traditional luxury and cutting-edge style inside this deluxe 171-room hotel surrounded by history and classic beauty. Rooms equipped with every comfort, excellent facilities and superb services. RedLevel Service in Superior Accommodation: The most superior range of personalized attendance. Admire stunning sunsets from our magnificent terrace or just relax by the pool with panoramic and exclusive views. Enjoy an authentic gourmet experience in our fine dining restaurant and the most innovative cocktails in our bars. It is surrounded by elegant restaurants and close to the most exclusive shops and boutiques and historic city centre of Palma de Mallorca. It is near the airport (15 minutes away). Located in an area noted for its cosmopolitan atmosphere and café terraces which buzz with activity both day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Melia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Gran Melia Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Victoria Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Gran Melia Hotel Victoria
Sol Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Palma Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing