We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poolside nearish the centre.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Melia Victoria
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Near the centre? Depends on your age/fitness/attitiude. For us it was OK. The buses outside the hotel run regularly, and for just E1.25 you are in the centre in 5 minutes. Alternatively, walk into the centre in 20 minutes.
Good staff, good accommodation and good food at what is a very good rate for the quality. Excellent buffet breakfast. We were B&B. I understand that it may seem expensive if you are not, so go for the inclusive rate and fill up on a good range of hot and cold dishes, including made-to-order omelettes and home-made yoghurts.
The pool may be by the main sea-front road., but raised on its terrace you are oblivious to this. If, like us, you are "country folk" then you may notice the road noise in the rooms. For most people however. this is probably not an issue. We asked to be moved to a higher floor and they did so with no fuss, moving our luggage for us while we were out.
Wifi is expensive. As other people have pointed out, there is free wifi in a couple of local bars. We made a daily visit to bar Veintiocho to get 2 drinks each and unlimited wifi for under 10 Euros. Nice place, friendly staff/owner. Probably a bit of a sports/party bar later on but was a nice place to hang out and chill early evening and food was OK.
Finally - a nice touch at the hotel was a small tray of deserts sent to our room on the last afternoon as a "thank you for coming" from the management.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Porky-Borky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,686)
There are newer reviews for Gran Melia Victoria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,133 - 1,139 of 1,687 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2011

Overall this is a pretty good 5 star hotel. We enjoyed a long weekend break here and can certainly recommend it. The location is good, 30 mins walk to the old town and the facilities are of the standard you would expect.
The lounge area is massive with plenty of comfortable seating and a friendly bar service.
As made clear in other reports, the level of enjoyment here can depend on the room location. Full sea view rooms would no doubt have the best views, but may suffer a little from noise from the road or the night clubs, especially on lower floors. We opted for a side sea view and although set well back in room 538 the balconies are angled and we were delighted with our full-on if not full-width view over trees and gardens to the marina and cathedral. This location was quiet which was exactly what we had requested. Side view rooms at the opposite end of the hotel (castle end) probably not so good due to the proximity of Tito`s night club, however the hotel has done a lot in the way of side screens on the balconies to minimise any unpleasant views.
Our room was a good size and very well furnished and equipped and with a striking marble bathroom, again equipped as you would expect in a five star. Mini bar prices we found were normal for this class of hotel, Euro 5 for a beer (and a coke is not Euro 8.50!).
Breakfast is good with a wide choice of hot or cold offerings. All eggs are cooked to order so this can create a bit of a queue. Cava is provided if you fancy a bucks fizz. The only slight shortcoming was the tea which would have needed several more tea bags to get anywhere near a decent cuppa.
We dined on the Terrace one evening and had an excellent view, service and food, the lobster pasta starter was superb and the fillet steak and lamb both cooked perfectly as ordered. Wine prices here seemed about half what you would pay in a five star in London (superb Rioja Euro 30) Total bill for two people including wine Euro 120, not bad!
We only spent a couple of hours at the pool, everything seemed very clean and well run and drinks prices were again no more than you would expect. There is a side gate near the pool leading onto the marina area and this is the best way in and out of the hotel to avoid the trek round the back streets (room key opens the gate).
Our only slight negatives were being stuck in the lift between floors one night for half an hour, which we were able to laugh about afterwards, and the wierd way the reception showed mini bar items on our bill, which afterwards we thought was overcharged by Euro 26, so worth keeping an eye on this.
We would certainly use this hotel again, if you are visiting Palma stay here!

Room Tip: HIgh floors are best views, side views still very good, nicer and quieter at cathedral end than at c...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MonsieurTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amaia l, Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our Hotel and Staff. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and experience at the Gran Meliá Victoria. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Pilar Molina
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Before I go any holidays I always check out trip advisor; however it appears more and more that there are people who for whatever reason write nonsense. Trip advisor should reject the ones that are so obvious nonsense.
One can only assume they are competitors or just the sort of customer the hotel is glad to see the back off.
In general most of the reviews were ok but a bit high on some of the scores as top marks should be rare .
Reviews for Gran Victoria
Sid g review to me is very accurate ,
GS11 to give 1 point is a joke (get a life )
clubley rude staff (the staff were all excellent and most people agree) so have a long look at yourself .
My plus and negative points over and above his review would be
Nightclubs next door and below stay open till early morning
Staff is a credit to the hotel and have all been well trained and I felt they cared
Price I thought was a bit expensive
Shower pressure a joke for a 5 star, crucial to have a good shower
No welcome book with hotel info
The view if you have sea view is awesome
Nice touch on the departing gift (a plate of delicious sweets)
Mass voucher offering 40 Euros per day is a con and must cause all sort of pain at checkout , if you are going to offer something don’t complicate it
Final comments would be there are 2 sides to the hotel, if you go out the harbour side it is all nice bars and restaurants if you go out the other side at reception its very down market.
And management stop doing standard replies on trip advisor it looks silly

Room Tip: Get a harbour view
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amaia l, Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Dear Tripadvisor member,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your stay. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are extremely happy to have been able to do so on this occasion.

We would be absolutely delighted to accommodate you on your next visit to Mallorca.

Kindest regards,


Pilar Molina
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights before moving to another part of the island. The hotel itself is very well run and all areas were well cared for. Our room was well mainted with extremely comfortable beds and a small but well equiped marble bathroom. We liked the location you can see the marina and the cathedral from the main terrace and walk into Palma if you are fit or a few euros taxi fare (that was us). The staff were faultless in every area, attentive and charming without being fussy. The breakfast was excellent and to suit all tastes. We dined on the hotel terrace one evening with excellent food and lovely views of the bay.I'ts a lovely place to have a drink early evening. As the Melia group are very experienced hoteliers I'm sure they know there market but I felt if they had also had an informal resturant more people would have dined in the hotel. The pool area was clean with a very helpful pool attendant so no scramble for sunbeds.
The staff made this hotel and believe me I don't like fussy or pretentious staff, they got it just right. 5 star all the way

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lottie-grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pilaramaia, General Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our Hotel and Staff. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and experience at the Gran Meliá Victoria. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,


Miguel Bermúdez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

The hotel is in a good position. The staff are really freindly.
Not enough sunbeds are available around the pool area. People had to sunbathe on the sunbed covers as not enough beds were free.
The drinks round the pool are expensive but not as expensive as the minibar. I had a bottle of coke from the minibar & it was 8.50euros. I know its a 5star hotel but I feel the drinks are over priced.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wilba78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pilaramaia, General Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our Hotel and Staff. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and experience at the Gran Meliá Victoria. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,


Miguel Bermúdez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

This was a 25th wedding anniversary celebration and we had planned to stay at Portixol. This was booked out so we opted for Gran Melia. We were slightly apprehensive after reading some of the reviews on trip advisor. No need. Hotel is really excellent.We arrived at hotel at 12.30pm. Our room was not quite ready so we were offered a welcome glass of champagne and were able to relax in the lovely reception area.All the staff were totally professional throughout our entire stay.
It would appear from reading previous reviews that quaility of stay at this hotel is determined by the location of room. We had a fifth floor room with sea view which was absolutely fantastic. There was some noise from busy main road below but not enough to spoil our lovely weekend.
Will definately return,

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seav1ew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amaia l, Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our Hotel and Staff. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and experience at the Gran Meliá Victoria. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,


Miguel Bermúdez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Welcoming, friendly and very comfortable hotel. Great location for exploring Palma. Plenty of restaurants and bars close by. We will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morag1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amaia l, General Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2011

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our Hotel and Staff. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and experience at the Gran Meliá Victoria. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,


Miguel Bermúdez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.1 mi away
Melia Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea
#25 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,936 reviews
0.4 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#27 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,202 reviews
1.5 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#14 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,511 reviews
0.7 mi away
GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA
GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA
#19 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
622 reviews
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#26 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Victoria

Address: Avenida Joan Miro 21, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#9 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#16 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: £124 - £487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Victoria 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Meliá Victoria is a 5 star hotel located in Paseo Marítimo with wonderful views of the Bay of Palma. A unique experience of traditional luxury and cutting-edge style inside this deluxe 171-room hotel surrounded by history and classic beauty. Rooms equipped with every comfort, excellent facilities and superb services. RedLevel Service in Superior Accommodation: The most superior range of personalized attendance. Admire stunning sunsets from our magnificent terrace or just relax by the pool with panoramic and exclusive views. Enjoy an authentic gourmet experience in our fine dining restaurant and the most innovative cocktails in our bars. It is surrounded by elegant restaurants and close to the most exclusive shops and boutiques and historic city centre of Palma de Mallorca. It is near the airport (15 minutes away). Located in an area noted for its cosmopolitan atmosphere and café terraces which buzz with activity both day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Melia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Melia Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Victoria Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Gran Melia Hotel Victoria
Sol Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Palma Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing