We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, Quiet yet excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Melia Victoria
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I recently stayed at the Gran Melia Victoria Hotel in Palma, Mallorca for business. This is a beautiful hotel located back from the street which creates an oasis feel and preserves quiet. There is a preserved old world feel yet the hotel has large bathrooms and beds. The back entrance leads right to the waterfront and the marina. The views from the hotel are beautiful, featuring the blue sky, water and lush palms and gardens. The back entrance also gives easy access to the dining, shopping and bike paths that I look forward to on my trips. I was able to safely walk to all the sights and restaurants. The bed was amazingly comfortable as I have found the beds in Europe often lacking. There is a close business that rents bikes as Mallorca is an amazing place to bike. The hotel dining is wonderful, including a large breakfast buffet. The dining area looks out on the marina and outdoor dining is available also. The staff were attentive. I did find the check in process slow and some of our colleagues had there reservations mixed up, but this was probably a problem with the meeting and translations. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The marina views are amazing, but we were also perfectly happy with our front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank knitdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our Hotel and Staff. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and experience at the Gran Meliá Victoria. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,150 - 1,156 of 1,748 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2012

This hotel is 20 mins car ride from PMI. The entrance is quite grand and the staff are wonderful. We had a room on the 3rd floor over looking the marina and in the distance the cathedral was a fantastic addition. The room was large and everything was controlled by a bedside consul (lights, radio- yes they have a gran melia station- as well as curtains). The Wifi was dfast but you had to sign in each time you used it. The bed weas a large king and ever so comfortable. the TV had access to the BBC, Fox, CNN as well as Russian Italian and French channels.
Breakfast was worth going to!! Beautiful room, and wonderful service. The coffee was delicious and the spread amazing and tasty. They had an egg station that made eggs in any style. The fruit selection was delicious- the kiwi was a little tart at times but the watermelon was fabulous. Try and eat on the balcony.
You can walk to the heart of town in 15-20 minuters and explore the lovewly city with the museums, cathedral (well worth it) and the Plaza's.
in the evening avoid the bar as it really is expensive- a gin and tonic was 14 euros!!- you do get crisp and peanuts though!!
Exercise room was small and the indoor pool was a large hot tub but warm. The outdoor pool looked great (large with a good deep end) but was being cleaned for the tourist season.

Room Tip: Get a room over looking the cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duddoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our Hotel and Staff. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and experience at the Gran Meliá Victoria. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,


Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We used this hotel as a base for a short stay in Palma and were surprised by the value for money. It is only a short taxi journey from the airport and within walking distance (just) of the old town. The views of the marina and the cathedral were more than we had expected and the standard of service was excellent. It isn't situated in the most up-market of areas but gave a feeling of privacy all round. Well worth the stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob_Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our Hotel and Staff. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and experience at the Gran Meliá Victoria. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager



Amaia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We have stayed at the hotel several times in the past and been most impressed with the breakfast - this time it was a shadow of what it used to be, which was a shame. Breakfast used to be magnificent - now it is just rather ordinary. The fruit salad, for example, was rather basic fruits, the mango was totally unripe and should not have been used, pastries were OK but 'egg station' manned by a unsmiling woman.
The rooms are comfortable, a bit dated, with very annoying light system, but the sea view is great. Bathrooms spacious but showers need updating. Beware if you like a high floor, the top floor is Smoking! The rooms stink. We were moved but it took some pressure.
Health centre is 3 machines at the end of the pool - hardly 5*. Too many stairs for anyone disabled, indoor pool is not inviting. Access to waterfront could be improved it is a long flight of stairs.

Room Tip: Sea view is good, partial sea view is very restricted.Right hand side sea view (facing the front and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeglegSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our Hotel and Staff. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and experience at the Gran Meliá Victoria. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,


Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I booked the hotel, transfers and flights all independently and couldn't of wished for a nicer hotel. I booked a private taxi transfer and saw my name being held up and we followed the taxi driver to his vehicle and within 20 minutes we were at the hotel.

Check in was a breeze and we were offered a glass of champagne to help us relax and we were shown to our room, with a side sea view. What a room. It was on an angle, with an entrance hall and lovely large double bed, balcony with a partial sea view, but a glorious view of the cathedral. We unpacked, went down to reception in the lift and changed to the second life that took us to the lower floors and the pool and back entrance, that leads onto the main road and across to the promenade and harbour for a stroll and to get our bearings and find a place to eat at that night.

We had alovely walk and choose locations to eat the second (Chicago rock cafe) and third night (lovely italian next to the very quiet cinema) and decided to eat at the restaurant just outside the back gate after we had showered and changed. The meal was lovely and it was nice to watch the world go back as we ate. We returned to hotel and sat on the sofa's, listening to the piano music and looking at the granduer of the hotel and all the marble floors, tiles and pillars.

The bedroom was very good, with a lovely bath seperated away from the toilet, electric draps and a nice large bed: we slept well. Breakfast was excellent, with a great choice from hot and cold items. We wandered round Palma each morning, looking at the grand architecture, strolling around the cathedral site and the shops and finding a couple of nice places to lunch, before walking back to the hotel, changing and catching some lovely sunshine. Whilst we went in mid september, the temperatures were in the mid 30's and the hotel had plenty of sun loungers for every one. The hotel pool was located next to the main road, but was elevated and whilst some road noise was heard, the height allowed for some nice cool air to cool you down, before retiring back to the sun lounger, the music and the reading material. The main harbourside is dominated by the harbour, so if you wanted sand, you would need to go further a field.

A shop was located almost opposite the main entrance to the hotel, where water, fruit and other snacks could be purchased.

The hotel was located a bit further away from the centre of Palma than i would of wanted, so if you had a little bit of difficulty walking, i would recommend using the buses or finding a more central location.

It was a very lovely hotel and i would return to it again.

Room Tip: The higher the better for a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard250gto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

Great situation on the seafront. Hotel is not new but tastefully decorated with a number of spanish antiques. What is outstanding is the friendliness of staff and efficiency, as well as attention with customer needs. Hotel staff coincidentally learned in casual conversation with my parents that they would be celebrate 50 years of marriage in a week, and a congratulation with champagne was delivered to their room, all this in a very nice and natural way.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoseFaessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

i booked a last minute holiday to majorca so my sons could meet up with thier cousins, i looked for 5 star hotels near palma and this place seemed the best of the bunch, id not been to majorca before and the arrival at the hotel seemed to be taking us down some less than desirabe streets however once we pulled up at the hotel and walked through to the loby everything was fine. i had booked two basic rooms as ths was only a short break and we wernt intending to spend a lot of time in the rooms. My children both board at school so during the holidays i ted to cut them some slack in terms of getting up time so i booked room only. when we arrived we were offered a free upgrade to two rooms with balconies, we were also offered a 2 for 1 deal on breakfast. the rooms we were shown t were very nice and very clean with good quality bathrooms, the balcony was small but welcome, we arrived on the 2nd april and found out that the out door pool didnt open until the 5th april, we were not told this at the time of booking, the hotel does have an indoor pool which is heated but its quite small and tucked away so its only good for a bit of splashing around in. when the outdoor pool was opened it was un heated and whilst i can imagin in the summer its great as it is quite large and has a 2 meter deep end, unheated in april it was a non starter. my girlfriend and i wandered down to the local cafe about 250 meters from the hotle for breakfast most mornings, we only tried the hotel buffet once and at 30 euros per head, although discounted as a two for one, wold say that it didnt represent value for money. we ordered room service a few times, nothing too elaberate just tea and coffee, burger and fries and some icecream and were very impressed by the speed and quality of service. as its my first time to majorca i have nothing to compare this hotel to but its doing a good job of trying to be a cosmopolitan hotel, all in all i would stay again

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lobosr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear Tripadvisor member,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your stay. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are extremely happy to have been able to do so on this occasion.

We would be absolutely delighted to accommodate you on your next visit to Mallorca.

Kindest regards,

Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.1 mi away
Melia Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea
#25 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,989 reviews
0.2 mi away
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
#19 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#30 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
HM Balanguera
HM Balanguera
#11 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
964 reviews
0.7 mi away
GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA
GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA
#21 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
641 reviews
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#27 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Victoria

Address: Avenida Joan Miro 21, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#9 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#13 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: £106 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Victoria 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Meliá Victoria is a 5 star hotel located in Paseo Marítimo with wonderful views of the Bay of Palma. A unique experience of traditional luxury and cutting-edge style inside this deluxe 171-room hotel surrounded by history and classic beauty. Rooms equipped with every comfort, excellent facilities and superb services. RedLevel Service in Superior Accommodation: The most superior range of personalized attendance. Admire stunning sunsets from our magnificent terrace or just relax by the pool with panoramic and exclusive views. Enjoy an authentic gourmet experience in our fine dining restaurant and the most innovative cocktails in our bars. It is surrounded by elegant restaurants and close to the most exclusive shops and boutiques and historic city centre of Palma de Mallorca. It is near the airport (15 minutes away). Located in an area noted for its cosmopolitan atmosphere and café terraces which buzz with activity both day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Southall Travel, Melia, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gran Melia Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Victoria Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Gran Melia Hotel Victoria
Sol Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Palma Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing