We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely for a weeks break in the sun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Melia Victoria
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely for a weeks break in the sun”
Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

Decided to choose this hotel due to its location within Palma, it's only about 20 mins in a taxi from the airport. On arrival the staff were very attentive and as we arrived before the check in time, we were shown our room. We choose a sea view with also a view of the cathedral.

Room - excellent we stayed in room 422, which is very central to the hotel, the bed was great, had a good nights sleep, Clarins toiletries were provided. 

Pool was. Nice for the week we were there, it wasn't cold and it cooled you down nicely after sunbathing. I must say that there were other guests which seemed to hoard beds and at times it was difficult to get the sun all day. As the pool is right behind the main road, we did get some noise from this, but you do expect this for a city centre hotel.

Breakfast was ok nothing too special and not the best selection, I have been to less rated hotels and had a better experience with what was on offer.

Drinks - I like a gin and tonic, but you need to be very careful here, round the pool it was €11 and in the lobby bar it was €12.50. This was the only down side regarding the hotel. Drinks too expensive and because of that the hotel lobby was empty at night. It could have been cheaper and I guess a lot more residents would have drank in the bar instead of going outside to the local bars, where a drink outside was between €6 and €7.50.

I like Mallorca as it is only a short journey from the uk and it always proves a hit with me.

Would I stay at this hotel again, although I did enjoy it, it was expensive and I would have preferred this standard of hotel to be cheaper, so I would say not. 

I would definitely return to Mallorca but not Palma again.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Fendifinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at Gran Meliá Victoria. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed our Premium Accommodation.

We are also grateful for the constructive comments and take note. Your opinion is highly valuable and helps us improve our services.

We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    932
    457
    152
    66
    40
See reviews for
236
924
77
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

.Our family ended up staying at the Gran Melia Victoria but default....our flight was delayed and the airline arranged for us to stay here.

After a stressful few hours at the airport, and finding our evening flight was delayed till the next day, we arrived with two tired and hungry children. We checked and were sent straight to the restaurant where a meal had been organised. The food and service we received at such a late hour was exceptional.

We found the bedrooms to be excellent, spacious and comfortable, beautifully decorated and it was fantastic to be able to have a relaxing bath and get some sleep. The bathroom was filled with fantastic toiletries and we left refreshed and feeling 100% better than when we arrived.

The only regret I had was not being able to thank the staff for the warm welcome and excellent service as we had to leave so early to be back at the airport.

I will most definitely be returning to this hotel again with my partner , this time in better circumstances and to enjoy a longer stay.
Thank you Gran Melia Victoria, your service and hospitality was exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHICKEN_CHOPS_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It is a true pleasure that you and your family have enjoyed your experience at the Gran Meliá Victoria. We would like to thank you for such a positive feedback and encouraging comments about our Hotel and its Presonnel.

Please rest assured that your comments have been forwarded to the various Departments.

In the name of the whole team, we hope that the opportunity to accomodate you and your family arises in the near future and hopefully, your next visit will turn to be for a longer period of time time so you will be able to enjoy all that the Gran Meliá Victoria can offer.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My daughter & I have just returned from 5 lovely days in Palma, staying at this hotel. We had a wonderful time and loved the hotel. The room was beautiful with a fabulous view of the bay and the cathedral. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was marble tiled & stocked with Clarins toiletries! The service at the hotel was great and all the staff were really friendly and helpful. A propos the comments about road noise, the hotel is right on the Paseo Maritimo! The location is right at the heart of everything, which is one of the best things about it as far as we were concerned. We definitely want to go back.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthSale_Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

We are delighted to find out that both you and your daughter had a wonderful stay at the Gran Meliá Victoria. Thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our Hotel and Staff.

It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and such a positive feedback really make our work worthwhile.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel.
We stayed in a great room on a high floor overlooking the bay, the views are amazing!!!
With the previous posts about the noise, im a light sleeper and didnt hear a peep!!!!
Checking inn was fast and professional with a smile and they couldnt have been anymore helpful.
The food, from breakfast ( with a bit of fizz) to our evening meal ( with a G&T ) was fabulous. Having been very fortunate to travel with my job I have the pleasure in staying in some very swish hotels and this I found to be up there! The clarins products in the bathroom was a great little touch.
I admit to previous posts this hotel did seem to be rather quiet, especially in August, however I liked the fact there was no hustle and bustle. Its also very clear that points raised on this site are acted on too.
Would go back and stay at this hotel again YES YES YES!!!

Room Tip: Pay that little more for a sea view, awesome view watching the cruise liners come into the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

We would like to express our sincere gratitude for the positive comments you made about your stay. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are extremely happy to have been able to do so on this occasion.

We would be absolutely delighted to accommodate you on your next visit to Mallorca and offer you an enjoyable stay.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

An old style hotel with a few too many fluffy curly girly pictures and oldish decor, but very well maintained and the staff is excellent.

I had a so called "standard" room which is industry-speak for worst-room-in-the-hotel-facing-the-back-alley. Although clean and well kept, it was possibly the worst laid out and disfunctional hotel room I have ever been in.

Biggest asset is the location which is very near restaurants and the marina. The common areas of the hotel are a delight and the best restaurant view in this part of town.

Room Tip: Always remember that "standard" is industry-speak for worst-room-in-the-hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G4gene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Tripadvisor member,

We would like to offer our apologies for not meeting your expectations. Your feedbaack is indeed very important to us.

We would like to inform you that we offer a number of different room types and if the opportunity to welcome you back ariss in the future it would be our pleasure to accomodate you in one of our premium rooms or either Junior o Senior Suites that have extraordinary panoramic views to the Bay of Palma.

Regarding the paintings and the deco, the Gran Meliá Victoria offers pieces of furniture and paintings comming form a variety of exceptional artists.

Thank you for your comments as they can help us to know our Guests more and learn what are their preferences.

We hope to see you again in the near future and to have the opportunity to offer you a very enjoyable experience.


Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Just back from two weeks at the Gran Melia Victoria in Palma..
what a superb break and lovely staff. We were a bit worried having read some of the reviews on
Trip Advisor, after booking. All our fears were dismissed - gorgeous room overlooking the bay, excellent breakfasts (staff couldnt do enough for us) Oscar the pool 'boy' found us sun beds even on a busy Sunday..all done with charm and courtesy.
Diego in the dining room a real welcoming delight...moving chairs in to sun, out of sun as and when we wanted to 'eat in the shade' or not.
There were four DISCOS nearby (great for daughter and boyfriend), thought we would be disturbed...didnt hear a peep and they were open til six in the morning!
Would go back tomorrow
Thanks Gran Melia Staff

Room Tip: Room with a balcony overlooking the bay was slightly more expensive but well worth it..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Such positive feedback as yours make our work worthwhile.
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience.

I can assure you that we have passed on the gratitude to all our Staff. We are delighted that you found yourselves like home and had a restful time.

We cannot wait to welcome you back and offer you another wonderful holiday time on the sunny island of Mallorca.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The hotel has a nice foyer, albeit the lounge and bar area were deserted each evening. The room we had was fine, although I wouldn't say it was different from a typical four star hotel. The staff kept themselves to themselves, unless you were near the pool, then you felt you were being kept an eye on to ensure your sun bed was not angled out of line! The gym consists of one runner, one stepper and one weights machine overlooking the pool and is completely open so that everyone around the pool can see you training. The pool is good, however there is the constant roar of traffic from buses, cars and scooters etc. If you have a balcony this noise is again very present pretty much all day and all night. On the subject of noise... there are nightclubs around the hotel, one particularly large one, the noise from street is considerable with people entering and leaving the clubs which are open until 6 am. The walk to Palma Old Town is about 20 to 25 minutes and is not particularly easy if it's hot. My partner and I are both fit but found it more comfortable to take a taxi than arrive in the Old Town tired and hot from walking in the heat. So I guess our grumbles are it's noisy, it's a fair way away from where we liked to spend an evening (away from the clubs) and lacking atmosphere. Breakfast is expensive for what you get. There is a small shop opposite the hotel and a great ice-cream shop near the rear of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view be prepared for some noise. The traffic, but also noise from other rooms was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SunnyDays1092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We are very sorry that you experience did no meet your expectations, please allow me to express our sincerest apologies.

Hotel Gran Meliá Victoria is a very special place with a lot of history and a great numer of loyal Guests that visit us every year. We are aware that some areas must be renewed and I assure you that we are constantly working on providing a high quality of maintenance and also adapting all our areas to the standarts of modern tourism.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns and we hope to take the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.1 mi away
Melia Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea
#25 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
1,891 reviews
1.5 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
791 reviews
0.4 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#28 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA
GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA
#18 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#13 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
1,485 reviews
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#26 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Victoria

Property: Gran Melia Victoria
Address: Avenida Joan Miro 21, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#9 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#15 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Victoria 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Meliá Victoria is a 5 star hotel located in Paseo Marítimo with wonderful views of the Bay of Palma. A unique experience of traditional luxury and cutting-edge style inside this deluxe 171-room hotel surrounded by history and classic beauty. Rooms equipped with every comfort, excellent facilities and superb services. RedLevel Service in Superior Accommodation: The most superior range of personalized attendance. Admire stunning sunsets from our magnificent terrace or just relax by the pool with panoramic and exclusive views. Enjoy an authentic gourmet experience in our fine dining restaurant and the most innovative cocktails in our bars. It is surrounded by elegant restaurants and close to the most exclusive shops and boutiques and historic city centre of Palma de Mallorca. It is near the airport (15 minutes away). Located in an area noted for its cosmopolitan atmosphere and café terraces which buzz with activity both day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Melia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Melia Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Victoria Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Gran Melia Hotel Victoria
Sol Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Palma Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing