We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best - loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Melia Victoria
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Stayed there for about a week in the beginning of September 2012 for business.

My review.
+++
+ Excellent decor. I generally love natural materials, like marble and wood. So everything is there. The hotel has excellent furniture which looks great and the upholstery is new. Tastefully decorated with small items and fresh flowers. Light aroma is added in the lobby - unusual touch to the ambiance.
+ Excellent service. Just these two words.
+ Relatively large rooms. I've stayed in 340, which had a side sea view and I could also see the beautiful sunrise I the morning.
+ There is a conference center in the hotel which also looks and feels great.
+ Located near the sea.
+ Breakfast service is great: the food is good and the service is fast and efficient.
+ Own large swimming pool and sun beds

- - -
- The Internet is painfully slow and disconnects very often. Impossible to work properly.
- There is no beach close to the hotel. You'll have to take a taxi (5-10) minutes.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
Thank DmitryV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for having so carefully written about your recent stay at the Gran Meliá Victoria. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your time; also, that you found our interior’s decoration comfortable and the whole aura of our establishment of your taste.
We also thank you for the positive comments about our Staff; your satisfaction is what makes our work worthwhile.
We assure you in advance of our utmost care and attention if you decide to use our premises in the near future.

We remain at your entire disposal for any further enquiry you may have.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,076 - 1,082 of 1,715 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

This is an excellent hotel with stunning views over the harbour.
We sat out on our balcony watching the boats and yachts coming and stayed there until dark.
We went for dinner but couldn’t wait to get back and sit on the balcony with a glass of wine, this has got to be one of the best situated hotels in Palma.
The free wifi seems to work okay in the rooms but is dreadful in the reception.
Drinks and food are expensive but this is to be expected in a hotel of this calibre and worth paying the extra to stay in a hotel like this.
Buffet breakfast is okay but nothing special.
We had the biggest bed I have ever seen in my life
Unfortunately there is no coffee making facilities

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ethan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you very much for all your constructive comments on our Hotel and its services.
It is a pleasure that you found our Accommodation comfortable and you enjoyed the balcony and the privileged view from the Gran Meliá Victoria.

We take note about the problems with the internet you have experienced at the Reception and the coffee making facilities. Your opinion is very important to us since it helps us to improve and meet our Guests needs.

We would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future and offer you a most enjoyable stay.

Warm greeting form Palma de Mallorca,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The high end hotel overlooks the marina of the Palma Bay, positioned about 15-20 minutes walking distance from Palma center.

The location was important to us, but disappointingly the area in the immediate vicinity is filled with fast foods and a few fairly run down properties showing signs of recession. Not the type of district you would expect to find an upscale 5 star hotel in. It took us a 15 minute walk along the marina to find a good quality local seafood restaurant. On a positive note, there are some good bars close by along the sea; especially try Martin's for excellent cocktails.

The nearest sea beach is a couple of km away, but easily reachable in few minutes by bus that stops very close to the main entrance. The pool area at the hotel is fine for its purpose, with large seawater pool and sufficient number of sun loungers. The bar offer decent quality drinks.

The deluxe side view room on 6th floor was great, still demonstrating the attributes and style of classic grandeur in which the hotel was designed. Sufficiently spacious with king size bed, marble bathroom and balcony overlooking Palma cathedral and the sea bay. Free internet worked well enough for email, browsing and even youtube.

Haven't had the time to try the main restaurant, but the food at breakfast is unwarranted for the price of 28 Euros. Mostly the type of things that you would get for free in many hotels of lower level.
Overall, all internal services are on the expensive side, and if not careful, one can easily bill double over the original price of the room, though this is normal for such hotels.

Finally, on an important note, the staff need to learn to use the door bell before entering the room. Breaking in after knocking for literally 1 second, even at 11 pm, is unacceptable. Never experienced this at a hotel of this level before.

On the whole a good, though not amazing five star hotel. We would probably return if staying in Palma area for a few days, unless can find the same or better room more centrally, but there are important improvements to be made.

Room Tip: Regarding side rooms, balcony views are better on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank constantino3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for having so carefully written about your recent stay at the Gran Meliá Victoria. Your opinion is of a high importance to us. We are grateful for the constructive comments and take note of all your impressions. We would like to offer our sincere apologise for a late turn-down service of the rooms and the inconvenience it has caused you.
We assure you in advance of our utmost care and attention and hope to have the opportunity to offer you an enjoyable stay in the future.
We remain at your entire disposal for any further enquiry you may have.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I would not recommend this hotel at all. A friend and I have just spent four days staying there.
Issues as follows:
- terrible smell in the lobby area (incense/ joss sticks) which is sickly. We got in and out of the lobby as quickly as possible and while we would like to have had a drink in the bar, we didn't because of this.
- We asked for ice to be delivered to our room and they charged €4.50 for this.
- The pool area is ok but half of it is covered by a canapy which means that sunbeds in the sun are limited. The pool attendant is not at all flexible about moving beds around.
- We had lunch by the pool the first day and it was awful. I had prawn caesar salad and the prawns had not been cleaned.

Location-wise, the hotel is a good 30 min walk from the centre so not the most convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lorraine30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience. We take note of your impressions and opinions and apologise for the inconveniences you have experienced. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to improve our services and prevent any future dissatisfaction of our Guests.
We value all your constructive comments since they help us to improve and know our Guests expectation.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Gran Meliá Victoria.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed a couple of nights to explore Palma. The main attractions are either a short taxi ride or a 20 minute walk - longer at hotter times. Hotel enjoys a great position overlooking the marina. Food and service all excellent. Check in was a bit slow and bureaucratic but very friendly and well meaning. We were offered an upgrade to a suite for a good price so the room was amazing. Pool is well maintained. The hotel can be a bit noisy with traffic and late night party goers so rooms in the lower floors may be more affected. That said, we were never distrubed for long! When we visited not all the restaurants were open. e ate in the hotel one evening and although it was a buffet, the quality was very good. Breakfast was also of a high standard. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Despite the risk of more noise and the higher cost, get a room at the front as the views are awesome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarperzMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for having so carefully written about your recent stay at the Gran Meliá Victoria. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and Palma de Mallorca itself. We are grateful for the encouraging comments about our Staff.
Please rest assured that we have passed on your positive feedback to the various Departments.
We assure you in advance of our utmost care and attention with hope to give you our warmest welcome in the near future.
We remain at your entire disposal.

Kindest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Just returned from a long weekend for our anniversary. We'd communicated with the Hotel prior to arriving as we wanted to upgrade, the reception staff were excellent, very helpful and we joined a loyalty Melia club which allowed a good upgrade option.

Lovely hotel, staff very very good, great location and really nice pool area

Room Tip: Its worth joining the loyalty club to upgrade. You still pay extra but the rooms facing the front/ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TINOF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that your comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and the staff. Your positive feedback makes our work worthwhile.
We are delighted to know that you have joined our MaS Loyalty Programme and we hope it will not be long till you return to the Gran Meliá Victoria to enjoy its benefits.

Thank you for sharing your anniversary with us.
Warm greeting from Palma de Mallorca.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We´ve just returned from our vacation in beautiful Mallorca. This was our first trip to Palma and we picked out the hotel by chance. And what a great choice! From the minute we arrived we felt the warm presence of excellent service - completely surrounded by exquisite staff and one of the most beautiful places we have ever been. We upgraded our room to premium, which included a balcony and great view. AC and excellent cleaning, and we sure enjoyed the nice touch with chocolate every evening :-) We were a bit worried about the distance to the beach, but instead we found the pool area to our liking - not to mention the staff in the Aquarium bar and the always present and cheerful "soccorista". We had breakfast every day - it had a large selection of fresh fruit and all kind of hot and cold dishes, freshly prepared. We also had lunch in the pool area - nice choice in the shade after some hours in the very hot sun! Clean restrooms all over the place. All in all, this hotes is mostly recommended. To use and old quote: We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HegeTonsberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Gran Meliá Victoria for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that their comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and the staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palma de Mallorca
0.1 mi away
Melia Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea
#25 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,973 reviews
0.4 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#29 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#15 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#5 of 181 in Calvia
1,002 reviews
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#27 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,557 reviews
1.5 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Victoria

Address: Avenida Joan Miro 21, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#9 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#13 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: £124 - £434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Victoria 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Meliá Victoria is a 5 star hotel located in Paseo Marítimo with wonderful views of the Bay of Palma. A unique experience of traditional luxury and cutting-edge style inside this deluxe 171-room hotel surrounded by history and classic beauty. Rooms equipped with every comfort, excellent facilities and superb services. RedLevel Service in Superior Accommodation: The most superior range of personalized attendance. Admire stunning sunsets from our magnificent terrace or just relax by the pool with panoramic and exclusive views. Enjoy an authentic gourmet experience in our fine dining restaurant and the most innovative cocktails in our bars. It is surrounded by elegant restaurants and close to the most exclusive shops and boutiques and historic city centre of Palma de Mallorca. It is near the airport (15 minutes away). Located in an area noted for its cosmopolitan atmosphere and café terraces which buzz with activity both day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Melia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Melia Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Victoria Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Gran Melia Hotel Victoria
Sol Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Palma Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing