We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor experience- far from 5 star quality.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Melia Victoria
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor experience- far from 5 star quality.”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We came here for a short relaxed stay in palma. The city itself is a beautiful place however we had very mixed feelings about this hotel. From what we have seen, this is one of the grandest hotels in Palma. However the first rooms we got were the classic rooms. they were shabby, old, the balcony view was blocked from branches and trees, the towels had dead flies stuck to them, the bed sheets were unclean and the bathroom smelt of blocked drains.

However we upgraded to the finer sea-view rooms which were lovely and much cleaner. It felt more like a 5 star until night time. The noise pollution from the large nightclub 'tito's' next door caused me to be kept up most of the night. It felt like my room was vibrating, and at around 4 am I was again woken by the noise of crowds outside the hotel and beeping taxis.

Such a shame to locate a 5 star hotel next to such a bit club. Although service was superb, not much is to be said about this hotel and I sadly will not be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurenp38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear guest,

I would like to start by thanking you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at the Gran Melia Victoria.
I am sorry that you feel disappointed in some aspects of your stay with us. Each guest has a different experience and we always try our best to make everyone feel welcomed and comfortable.
It is always better to make your issues known beforehand whilst you are here with us so that we can try to find a solution as quickly as possible.
The night club Tito`s was built after the hotel so unfortunately we have no control over this issue. All our rooms have a double seal door on the balcony so that noise from the street gets cancelled out. Once again we thank you for your comments and sincerely hope that you will reconsider Gran Melia Victoria the next time you choose to visit wonderful Palma de Mallorca.
Kind regards


Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    441
    149
    60
    37
See reviews for
228
880
72
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My room was nicely furnished and comfortable however as i didnt have a sea view room it over looks the entrance to the road which ordinarily wouldnt be too much of an issue BUT as in the hotels opinion "its not hot yet" at 26* outside they turned off the air conditioning to the whole building. This meant i had a couple very uncomfortable (hot) nights sleep, i did try opening a window but as it over looked the road and service entrances i was woken up but noises outside as well....

used the hotel bar once as it was extremely expensive for just a starter and a couple drinks was best part of €30 however the included breakfast was fresh, tasty and there was a large selection of food so i made the most of this.
Hotel was a little of a maze at times and i only found the internal pool by chance and after exploring the place for 30 minutes, it was reasonable warm unlikely the outside pool which was freezing so i didnt use it.

despite the issues i have to say all the staff were perfect, spoke english very well and were extremely friendly so if youre looking for somewhere comfortable to sleep (when they decide to turn on the aircon) and looking at eating elsewhere you really cant go wrong here. Its not what i could call 5 star overall, perhaps somewhere between 3 & 4 although nearer to 4

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment here on Tripadvisor and also for choosing Gran Melia Victoria on your recent holiday.
I would like to thank you for all your comments. We always value the opinions of all our guests and we would like to know how their experience with us was.
We are glad to see that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and also that you felt that the staff treated you in such a lovely manner. It is always our goal to make our guests feel as welcome as possible.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards

Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
271 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Rooms are nice and comfortable, despite the fact that on the second day I left the towel on the floor for replacement, it was picked up folded and kept without replacement. The bathroom is not properly cleaned . The air conditioning does not work well and you need a course to close curtains and turn lights off. Not hassle free. Food is pretty average and breakfast is poor, not recommended

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank HugoD33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear guest
I would like to thank you for taking the time making your comments known on Tripadvisor.
It is with disappointment that I read your stay with us was not to your satisfaction. We always strive to offer our guests the best service and make their stay with us a memorable one.
We hope to welcome you back to the Gran Melia Victoria one day so that we can change your opinion about us.

Kind regards

Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma De Mallorca
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Always carry your passport. My husband was all but refused check in as he did not have his passport. Despite the fact that the booking was in my name and paid for by me. And we have a house in Mallorca! Bedroom was like a sauna. No a/c available on 4th April.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Mary Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear guest
Firstly I would like to thank you for your comments.
I am dissapointed to see that you had such a unfortunate incident at the Gran Melia Victoria.
It is by law that we have to take down details of all the guests that are staying in the hotel. In any hotel these days the guest has to present their passport. This way if there is any incident we can be sure to have the details of the client on hand. That your husband did not have his passport with him, was unfortunate.
We thank you for taking the time to make your comments known and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards


Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The high level of service that you expect from a Melia Hotel with excellent staff whom are on the ball.

However I did feel that some general things let the hotel down. No hot drink making facilities in the room is a shame for a 5 star hotel anywhere in the world, followed up by expensive drinks in the hotel for example a bottle of standard Spanish beer at 6.50 euros is criminal.

The room was at the front of the hotel over reception so a just a view of the car park, bare this in mind when booking and go for a room at the back over looking the marina which had an excellent outlook. The room was large, in well maintained order, very clean but it did feel dated in a traditional style, i did however get a good nights sleep on 3 nights, the bed was comfy and the room quiet. Clairns products in the bathroom which is a nice touch.

Location wise a lot of reviews are saying great location, on a sunny day when you want a 20 minute walk to the centre then it probably is, but if your there for a week you may find it annoying especially if you are not very able bodied. Additionally the area around the hotel felt a little shabby and there were several bars which were a little unsavoury with men outside asking you in to meet young ladies, I came out the hotels marina entrance and was propositioned within about 10 yards. However, this entrance is the one you should use, it takes you straight on to the prom.

Food wise some mixed reviews on breakfast, personally i thought the choice was great and the chef will quickly make you an omelette.

It's sister hotel which is less than 100 yards away felt much nicer, modern, airy & good bars.

Room Tip: Marina side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattperks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear guest
I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at the Gran Melia Victoria.
I am sorry that you feel disappointed in some aspects of your stay with us. We always strive to make the stay of our guests as pleasant as possible and that they can take some good memories back home with them.
Pleased to see that you had a good nights rest in your room and that you enjoyed our breakfast service and variety.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future and that you can enjoy your stay and also make the most of your time in wonderful Palma de Mallorca.
Kind regards

Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed at this nice and elegant hotel. Room standard is great and athmosphere is overall good. Location is central but a bit besides mainstream downtown area.
Breakast was a Little dissappointing and price high.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Checker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear guest

Firstly I would like to thank you for your kind words about the Gran Melia Victoria and placing your comments on tripadvisor.
I am sorry that you feel disappointed in our breakfast variety and price, but I assure you that we aim to deliver a quality 5 star breakfast buffet to our guests every morning. We always strive to deliver quality service with a smile and make our guests feel welcome.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future and that you can enjoy your stay and also make the most of your time in wonderful Palma de Mallorca.
Kind regards

Amaia Landeta
Redglove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I stayed in this historical beautiful pearl last week. It is a symbol of high quality service since the first minute of checking-in. Our suite wad on the third floor with panoramic view to the sea. The hotel employees are very well experienced, polite & charming people. They make simply feel at home. Drinks in the bar and breakfast buffet are great. We got a wonderful tasty dinner with Spanish cuisine & professional friendly service. I will definitely come back for a longer holiday in this elegant pearl in Mallorca.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victors_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear guest

I would like to thank you for your kind words about the Gran Melia Victoria. Wonderful to know that you found us to be relaxing and with elegance and that you enjoyed your suite with the wonderful view over the bay of Palma.
We always strive to deliver quality service with a smile and make our guests feel welcome.
We would like them to feel that at Gran Melia Victoria they are at their home away from home.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future and that you can enjoy your stay and also make the most of your time in wonderful Palma de Mallorca.
Kind regards


Amaia Landeta
Redglove Service >Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,443 reviews
1.5 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
754 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea
#24 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#25 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,047 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
418 reviews
2.5 mi away
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxur...
#8 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Victoria

Property: Gran Melia Victoria
Address: Avenida Joan Miro 21, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#9 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#14 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Victoria 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Meliá Victoria is a 5 star hotel located in Paseo Marítimo with wonderful views of the Bay of Palma. A unique experience of traditional luxury and cutting-edge style inside this deluxe 171-room hotel surrounded by history and classic beauty. Rooms equipped with every comfort, excellent facilities and superb services. RedLevel Service in Superior Accommodation: The most superior range of personalized attendance. Admire stunning sunsets from our magnificent terrace or just relax by the pool with panoramic and exclusive views. Enjoy an authentic gourmet experience in our fine dining restaurant and the most innovative cocktails in our bars. It is surrounded by elegant restaurants and close to the most exclusive shops and boutiques and historic city centre of Palma de Mallorca. It is near the airport (15 minutes away). Located in an area noted for its cosmopolitan atmosphere and café terraces which buzz with activity both day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Melia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Melia Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Victoria Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Gran Melia Hotel Victoria
Sol Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Palma Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing