We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel with views over Palma marina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Melia Victoria
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Newton Mearns, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good quality hotel with views over Palma marina”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights recently to give my parents a relaxing break. Booking was a bit onerous, as I had to phone the hotel directly to book a disabled access room for my parents, but all resulted okay. Note, there are apparently only 4 disabled access rooms, which are 'standard' rooms without balconies. The rooms are large, clean and well serviced -although a bit old-fashioned in style. A few oddities, such as tea/coffee making facilities provided, but you have to pay extra for the actual tea or coffee !!! Seemed strange for what is quite an expensive 5-star hotel. The service was really good, with 'above & beyond' help provided to my disabled father - very pleasing. Breakfast buffet offered a good range of good quality food (apart from the US style crispy bacon!). We ate at the restaurant on 3 occasions as the food was so good - not an extensive menu, but really good quality (almost fine dining standards). A good wine list, but the prices of both food & wine are at the upper end. The hotel has great views over the marina / harbour and it's a pleasant 1 mile walk along the 'front' to the centre of Palma. The pool area offers plenty of sun loungers, but I would imagine gets very busy in high season. The one downside is that the pool is salt water (which I personally don't like) and also not particularly clean. Note - there is a big nightclub next door but one to the hotel, but we didn't see or hear it at all!

Room Tip: Definitely get a sea view room, or you'll be looking at unattractive back streets & rooftops...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardTasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel. It is always wonderful to get such positive feedback here in Tripadvisor from our guests.
We always try our best to uphold the standard of service and friendliness here at Gran Melia Victoria.
Great to see that you felt well looked after and that you could enjoy your holidays with us.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Amaia Landeta
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    427
    146
    57
    33
See reviews for
220
843
70
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my husband and 9 month old baby for 4 nights.

The hotel: great lobby, bar/restaurant (which we ate at once) and the staff were very helpful.
Its got an indoor pool and an outdoor pool with a small kids pool on the side. The pool area is large with lots of sunbeds in sunny and shady areas. The pool itself is large (perhaps salt water as I didnt get the clorine feel from it). A waterfall is at the end of the pool. There is also a small gym which opens up to the pool area. There is also a restaurant/bar in the pool area.

The rooms: we had a classical room, which had its own entrance you had to walk through in order to get to the bedroom. I guess it is for soundproofing as I could not hear the other guests. It also had a balcony with glimpses of the cathedral and the marina. The room was spaceous, and with remotes for the lights and curtains. You are supplied with shampoo, soap, body lotion and shower gel in the bathroom (but no conditioner, so remember to bring this).

Service: Fantastic service. Friendly staff. We ordered room service twice. The first time we got a little welcome gift (box of chocolates). The service is quick for the room service and bar service.

Value: It was quite expensive (250 Euros per night). With a baby I would probably have opted for a self catering apartment. However, you can make baby food with the tea maker, and the bar can reheat baby food.

Parking: around 17 Euros per day. Free for some luxury rooms.

Breakfast: 29 Euros per person (we went to a local coffee shop where we got what we needed for 10 Euros per person)

Room Tip: There is a great (and cheap) icecream bar at the front of the hotel. The lines can be quite long som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSBNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest
I would like to thank you for all your positive comments about your recent stay at Gran Melia Victoria.
We always strive to deliver quality service. We would also Iike to thank you for your positive comments about our service, rooms and the pool area.
We always welcome any type of comment so that we can always be on the look out what our clients need for a unforgettable experience here at the hotel. We highly value the input of our guests.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back here among us.
Kind Regards
Amaia Landeta
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

When you approach the Gran Melia Victoria you drive through the streets thinking this looks terrible, you turn into the hotel and from the outside you think this looks terrible, its only when you step through the doors you begin to relax.

The inside of the hotel is opulent but a bit dated, the bedrooms are lovely but again the bathrooms are a bit dated.

The staff are competent but with the exception of one or two never give you a smile or even engage in small talk, I found this to be a bit disappointing and they could learn a lot from the American hotel experience.

The breakfast buffet is lovely and we only ate at the pool which was more than acceptable but a limited menu.

The pool guy was one positive very friendly and helped you find a sunbed and fetched you towels.The pool is located directly beside a main road but you soon don't hear it when you begin to relax.

The area surrounding the hotel is just appalling, nightclubs, grotty bars and poor restaurants.

Do yourself a favour and get a taxi into the historic centre of Palma and eat there. Palma itself is lovely in the old town but not very appealing out if it.

This is the second Gran Melia I have stayed in but the one in Seville was far better than the one here.

They can't change the location but they could change the staff's attitude to their customers very easily, an old cliche but a smile and a bit f chit chat costs you nothing.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gazborangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest
First of all i would like to thank you for choosing Gran Melia Victoria as your destination here in Palma de Mallorca.
We always strive to deliver quality service. I am sorry that you feel dissapointed in some aspects of you stay with us. It is our aim to please all our guests, and always with a smile on our face and a positive attitude.
We always welcome any type of comment so that we can always be on the look out what our clients need for a unforgettable experience here at the hotel. We highly value the input of our guests.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back here among us.
Kind Regards
Amaia Landeta
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

What a wonderful place. I am already planning our next trip. We booked with Expedia whose service is second to none, including reminders via their app about itineraries, check in times, and flights! The hotel is a short ride from the airport by taxi (expect E20 - 30).

At reception we were met by Amaia who checked us in and we upgraded to a partial sea view room on 6th floor. Beautiful. The room was really lovely, beautifully furnished, and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was spotless with Clarins toiletries.

The hotel lounges are cool marble with wondeful furnishings; so very relaxing.

The DRY bar and terrace are superb, with views across the marina. We had not intended eating there but we did on both nights as we loved the ambience. I had read on this site that the drinks are expensive, but please know that the measures are spanish (so said one of the waiters!) and the service is exceptional. The view is also worth paying for.

The pool area is is beautifully kept with a terrace for drinks, lunch and coffees.

I can honestly say I didn't want to leave. I even tried out my Spanish on the team! Sarah checked us out and answered questions about bookings through Melia (which I recommend), and about our return trip(s).

I cannot rate this hotel highly enough. We felt indulged. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and to look after us. This is what you pay for, together with the setting, the facilities and the cool and calm interiors. Es fantastico!

Do try to go, and just enjoy all they have to offer. I hope to spend many more weekends away here. It is a gem.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest
First of all i would like to thank you for choosing Gran Melia Victoria as your destination in Palma de Mallorca and also for posting your comments here on Tripadvisor. We would Iike to thank you for your positive comments about our service, rooms and the hotel in general.
We always welcome any type of comment so that we can always be on the look out what our clients need for a unforgettable experience here at the hotel. We highly value the input of our guests.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back here among us.
Kind Regards
Amaia Landeta
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just returned from a 3 night visit to this hotel in Palma.
We stayed in sister hotel few years ago and as this was special occasion decided to try this hotel,wasn't disappointed lovely traditional hotel.
Hotel has fantastic outside pool area which is great if you go in peak season,only downside was didn't get towels or cushions till 10 as pool didn't open till then.
Dry bar was gorgeous with views of cathedral and harbour,drinks were quite expensive but cocktails were outstanding so worth it in my view.
We found staff to be very helpful and friendly without being intrusive.
My husband received a bottle of champagne for his birthday which I think is a lovely gesture.
Toiletries all clarins and lots of little extra touches which is always welcome,turn down service at night and fab chocolates on pillows another nice touch.
We have stayed in a number of melia hotels which we love and have join reward scheme which I would recommend but when booking on this occasion direct with melia we should have received 20 euros per day to spend in bar,when checking out we inquired abou,t this and we're told we needed voucher which we never received we have contacted since returning but have not had much luck in resolving this matter and have found trying to speak to someone very difficult,but would still return to this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Full sea view rooms have fantastic views of harbour and cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simbaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest
First of all i would like to thank you for choosing Gran Melia Victoria as your destination in Palma de Mallorca and also for posting your comments here on Tripadvisor.
We would like to thank you for all your comments.
We always welcome any type of comment so that we can always be on the look out what our clients need for a unforgettable experience here at the hotel. We highly value the input of our guests.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back here among us.
Kind Regards
Amaia Landeta
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We booked to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and the hotel could not have made the occasion more special. From cava on arrival, special treats of fruit (even the apples looked polished) to trays of canapés and small cakes all brought to your room as little surprises during our stay.
Guest amenities are all Clarins which are replaced twice per day as you get extra with turn down service each evening.
The terrace bar staff are lovely with special mentions for Ivan and Antonio who were especially good.
Breakfast is the best with nothing I can think of missing from fresh orange/cava to full cake/pastry table, full fresh cooked service, cheeses, breads and a home made museli that was a must every morning.
Local ice cream parlour, a great fish restaurant and excellent local bus service outside the hotel entrance.

PERFECT ..!!

Room Tip: We booked a full sea view was worth the money and didn't bother with the added Red Level as gene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your kind words about Gran Melia Victoria. It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your stay here with us and that you made your feelings known on Tripadvisor.
Wonderful to know that you enjoyed our lovely terrace area.
We always strive to uphold the highest standards of service and quality. By making your comments known we can be sure to maintain the high level and also know where we can improve. We will forward your comments to Ivan and Antonio. It will very happy.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,


Amaia Landeta
Redglove Service Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andorra La Vella
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel provides comfort, calm, spectacular views and great style for any visitor to Palma. Sit on the deep sofas of the main terrace and marvel at the view across the bay - Palma Cathedral spotlighted against an evening sky, sip at your wine and feel priviliged!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank duenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful words about the Gran Melia Victoria. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you made your comments known on Tripadvisor.
We are very fortunate with the wonderful view we have from the hotel and it is great to know that you appreciated it during your stay. It is always our goal to make our guests feel welcomed and comfortable and I will surely pass on your message to the rest of the staff.
We hope to welcome you back here amongst us the next time you decide to visit beautiful Palma de Mallorca.

Kind regards

Amaia Landeta
Redglove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#12 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
1.5 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.4 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#25 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea
#24 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
2.5 mi away
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxur...
#8 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Victoria

Property: Gran Melia Victoria
Address: Avenida Joan Miro 21, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#9 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#14 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Victoria 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Meliá Victoria is a 5 star hotel located in Paseo Marítimo with wonderful views of the Bay of Palma. A unique experience of traditional luxury and cutting-edge style inside this deluxe 171-room hotel surrounded by history and classic beauty. Rooms equipped with every comfort, excellent facilities and superb services. RedLevel Service in Superior Accommodation: The most superior range of personalized attendance. Admire stunning sunsets from our magnificent terrace or just relax by the pool with panoramic and exclusive views. Enjoy an authentic gourmet experience in our fine dining restaurant and the most innovative cocktails in our bars. It is surrounded by elegant restaurants and close to the most exclusive shops and boutiques and historic city centre of Palma de Mallorca. It is near the airport (15 minutes away). Located in an area noted for its cosmopolitan atmosphere and café terraces which buzz with activity both day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Melia, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gran Melia Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Victoria Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Gran Melia Hotel Victoria
Sol Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Palma Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing