We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely peaceful hideaway.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Ranked #27 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Reviewed 18 July 2013

A wonderful welcome by Belen at reception, who let me practice my Spanish! Christina also very helpful. All staff in all areas spoke good English were welcoming and smiley.Adequate and spotlessly clean room with a side sea view from the balcony, towels changed daily, room air con/fan no extra cost.
Meals-on B&B Breakfast , good selection of cereals, fruit, tortilla, pastries and cooked to order 'full English'.Snack bar-limited menu, bit disappointing , setting fabulous though with views over harbour.
Pool area, great view, not enough sun beds or parasols and beds were not very comfy. Rubbish needed removing including dirty ashtrays around pool area and it would benefit from a pool bar service. Did not use the indoor pool or gym but did use showers on departure day , that area requires attention and refurbishment.
Transport to Palma- very easy to get into town on number 3 bus for 1.50 euros, no 1 bus to and from airport 2.50 euros.
Highlights- Staff fabulous, although did not like their black uniforms, quite sombre, like funeral attire!
Location- A quiet retreat not far from the accessible centre.
Looking to stay again in 2013.

Room Tip: Request a non smoking sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louise p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

535 - 541 of 1,556 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights for a long weekend in July and everything was PERFECT!
The location is set of the prom but easy access via the lift down to the road is great. Only a 20minute walk into town along the water front or the number 3 bus. The rooms and beds are great and it's worth paying for a sea view because the view is amazing across the bay! Plus the Porto Pi shopping centre is a 5 minute walk away with some great shops,supermarket(stock up with the cheap beer, water etc..)and great places to eat! The only downside is no tea/coffee in the room and unless u get the breakfast none available until 10 when the bar opens :@( but a quick walk along the front you'll stumble across loads of little local cafes doing breakfast. The pool area is great and peaceful with awesome views across the bay just like the terrace for the bar @ night.

As for Palma, it's a great city and the shopping is great probably 6/7 times bigger than liverpool's shopping area. The cafes/restaurants are great, not your normal Spanish experience as the city is for the locals not tourists so you don't get hassled as you wander around!
Overall this is a great hotel to enjoy a great city and I will be back in the near future.

Room Tip: Sea view, enough said!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liaoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had a very nice stay in this hotel, I will summarize some of the strong points as well as weak ones.
Great location, amazing view, very nice pool, decent breakfast.
weaker points: the wi-fi was working very poorly, most of time times didnt work at all, other times it was only by accident that it worked. The staff couldnt help, they told me the issues was with my phone (actually, both smartphones and one tablet). For a 4 star hotel I would say this is a setback.
however, the view is AMAZING, the terrace bar and restaurant make one forget about Internet and just enjoy the great climate and summer air :)
The breakfast was indeed healthy and satisfactory. I would complain about lack of fresh vegetables - there were only fresh tomatoes and some overcooked veggies. I would've appreciated some cucumber, carrots, and so on, perhaps some smoked salmon also.
The room had a spectacular view, a small yet perfectly fitted terrace, large bathroom.
There were small details that should be improved: old doors, some paint chopped here and there, some mold, for a 4 star hotel this looks bad.
Yet for the price we paid I consider it more than a good deal.
I do recommend this for families as well as for couples.
There is a great funicular taking you from the top of the terrace to a street close to the pier, that is also very helpful.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 031 - close to the pool, facing the pier yet not very high up. It was a sortof apar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We needed a place to stay for just one night and the Catalonia was perfect. We had a sea view room and watched the cruise ships coming in and out of the port. The bed was comfortable and the room clean. The terrace is a lovely place with a great view over Palma to have drinks. The reception staff were lovely people, some of the friendliest I have encountered during my travels this year. They were so welcoming and helpful with directions and services and we here to find things. I would recommend this hotel if you're staying in Palma.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AlisAquilae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

What a gem of a hotel overlooking the marina.
lovely rooms, ask for seaview 2nd floor.
Great Breakfast clean rooms.
Situated about 20 minutes walk from centre of Palma on top of a hill.
The hotel has a lift that takes you down to street level.
There you can catch a bus number 3 that takes you to centre of town.
In the oppersite direction it goes to various beaches on route.
Ask people at reception who are very friendly and helpfull .
I arrived early at hotel.
But a lovely girl called Anna said no problem your room is ready for you.
She also helped me a bit later when my safe key got jammed.!
would def go back to this hotel. D

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank millwall_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Great hotel & great view of the marina! Set a little way back but made easier by sing the funicular lift which is great fun! All clean & rooms very comfortable! Breakfast is amazing with lots of choice & lots of fresh foods & the coffee is great! Defo be back all the hotel staff very friendly & welcoming! :-)))!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank FeeFee1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I have nothing but praise for the hotel. The staff were great, rooms spotlessly clean and chilled friendly atmosphere. The hotel is situated on a hill overlooking Palma and the coast. When we first got there we were dropped off on a hill and my girlfriend and I initially thought "Uh Oh!" However, the hotel has two entrances. One via a a large hill, and the second via the main road - This is accessed by a lift (remember to note this unless you like hill walking!!). The hotel staff and location was in general great. It is right next to a bus stop. (Best and cheapest way to get around - and every tourist uses it). It is also walking distance to Porto Pi (5 mins). This is a big shopping complex with supermarkets and major brand stores. You can pick up almost anything you need or have forgot to bring on holiday.
There are a few places around, but I would also say have meal in the hotel. They had some mouthwatering menu's! :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrIncredible007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.7 mi away
Innside by Melia Palma Bosque
Innside by Melia Palma Bosque
#20 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
144 reviews
1.0 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#29 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,237 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea
#25 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amic Horizonte
Hotel Amic Horizonte
#59 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
912 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Saratoga
Hotel Saratoga
#35 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Majorica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Majorica Hotel

Address: Calle Garita 3, 07015 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#13 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#15 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#24 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#27 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: £67 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Majorica Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalonia Majorica hotel is located in a privileged area on the maritime promenade of Palma Bay and just in front of Club del Mar. It is near the Porto Pi shopping centre and the Fundacio Joan Miro. The hotel, refurbished in 2000, combines an elegant style with modern features. It has a total of 168 rooms, all of them with beautiful views, and most of them also have a terrace. In the hotel you will find 3 swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Catalonia Majorica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Majorica Hotel Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing