We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Having spent several years on cruise holidays we decided to try a 'Thomas Cook' eight-night B&B on 20 June in Majorca.
After a slight delay arriving, a 22 euro taxi ride took us to the hotel.
We were given a sea-view balcony room (no 15) on the ground floor. Reception advised rooms on higher floors were all occupied!. The room was spacious but very basic with laminate flooring, two chairs, one stained, an old Grundig tele with one English channel-Sky News, no telephone for contacting reception, a squeaky settee, no vanity mirror but a decent bathroom and air conditioning. The balcony had a lovely view of bay & Cathedral. This could not be classed as 'four star'. Hopefully the rooms on the floors above were better- equipped. The rooms on this level are near a service & bar area, the sound of slamming doors used by staff was constant. If you are a light sleeper avoid rooms 11-15 on this corridor.
Apart from the room all the public areas were very pleasant & well maintained & staff friendly & helpful.
Excellent buffet breakfast in the dining room with a good selection of hot & cold fare.
We enjoyed a snack/wine on the terrace overlooking the port & watching cruise ships come & go. Also tried the buffet dinner one night, very good,18 euros,(drinks extra).
The practice of reserving a sun-bed around the pool with a towel before breakfast still exists! although this happens on cruises as well.
There are plenty of buses into Palma, mainly the no 3. Buy your ticket from the Farmacia in Port Pi - 10 euros covers 10 trips (the tobacconist nearby doesnt sell them only the tourist-bus tickets).
A good shopping mall in Port Pi is worth a visit & browse around the many shops. You can also purchase your bottled water/wine from the Carrefour.
The area is not very attractive with some premises closed & in need of repair but it is certainly not intimidating.
You can spend many hours exploring the lovely city of Palma & when in need of refreshment try a lunch at Celler Sa Premsa,(a converted wine cellar) for a spanish atmosphere, good food & service or Born 8 for a coffee or glass of wine.The pastries & cakes are delicious.
We enjoyed our holiday stay at this hotel, however it is unlikely we will return as there are so many other places to visit. I think I can feel a cruise coming on.

Room Tip: sea view on higher floor. Dont go out on your balcony & close sliding door--You wont be able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    559
    195
    79
    39
See reviews for
222
587
44
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

The hotel is nice but a little old-fashioned. The same goes for the rooms which are not sound proof - especially the neighboors use of water is very noticeable.
We asked for a non-smoking room but found 5 ash-trays, including in the bathroom.

The breakfast is 13 euros extra per person and is a must. The hotel was fully booked but the breakfast area did not get crowded. Breakfast is nice and plentiful and saves my 4 rating of the hotel.

You may take bus no. 1 (not the express) from the airport to the "Club de Mar" bus stop, where you must climb som steep stairs to Joan Miro street where you can take the Funicular to the reception level. Alternatively you may get off at the "Porto Pi" bus stop to avoid the stairs. The bus tour takes about 45 minutes but may be regarded as a nice sightseeing.

To get some variation to sitting by the pool take bus no. 3 in Joan Miro street to the westernly end-stop for the two best beaches in Palma. Bus no. 3 runs more frequently than bus no. 1 and may also be taken to visit Palma center.

There is a very nice Italian restaurant Otto Mare down by the water front beneath the hotel - modern and trendy with very good and reasonably priced food.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EBlakstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Fabulous hotel with a breakfast to die for. Freshly baked bread straight from the oven, chef cooks to order whatever you want. Pool needs more sunbeds & parasols. If you get there after 11am you've no chance & during the day there is no shade. Terrace service slow but the staff are really friendly & Javier is so funny & the best waiter I have ever met. Not a hotel for kids & unless you get on a bus there is nothing apart from the biggest shopping mall I have ever been to! Overall would I come back again - move the hotel to Santa ponza! Best Spanish hotel I have ever stayed in but totally wrong location for a relaxing holiday. FYi crap wifi.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreaj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Myself and my best friend stayed for 3 nights on a girly week-end and ended up at this hotel. Upon arrival the staff were fantastic and went through some different room options for us as we wanted a more spacious room. We were given a triple which was perfect. For an extra 35 euros you can go to a room with amazing views but this didn't bother us but our room was still fantastic. Bags of space and a packed mini bar as well !!!!

The pool was amazing and over looked the harbour. At first it was very quiet but as we went over a week-end it got busier but was still very relaxing and hardly any children there either.

The breakfasts were out of this world !! So much choice and even a chef on hand to make omlettes and any variety of eggs you wanted.

My only gripe would be is that you are a bit in the middle of nowhere. Whilst it is easy to get onto a bus, everything is very scattered around and we had to do alot of research to find the bars and the nightlife. Magaluf is only 20 euros away but we did that 20yrs ago and it was too much for us then !!!!!

We had a fantastic time here and would highly recommend it !!

Room Tip: We had a corner triple room and it was very quiet and spacious (room 105)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paxpenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Just got back from this hotel. It is lovely, very clean and the staff are very helpful. The sea view is essential, it is a brilliant view. There were none available on arrival except for an upgrade to the suite which we took - it was an incredible room with a huge terrace with sunbeds and a luxurious bathroom, certainly worth it. The breakfast was very good and we found some lovely places to eat in the evening. The terrace bar is ok for lunch but service is slow. The pool is great but probably not enough sunbeds, you need to go down early to get one although I imagine this is only the case in high season. All in all, we had a lovely time and will certainly recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haze E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

This four star hotel is situated high above Porto Pi Harbour and the big ship harbour of Palma City. It is an older Mallorquin hotel, which has been there for many years.
Very late check in was dealt with quickly and perfectly.
Room with sea view is essential. The views are unsurpassed.
Had a small room but beautifully decorated in boutique style. Had a good bathroom and a huge balcony. Floor 5.
Breakfast was substantial. Nothing missing really. Good quality and the service was friendly and good.
Outdoor pool was small and you need to get your bed sorted out before breakfast. Views of Palma city and the cathedral from the pool area were wonderful.
Service throughout was smiley, friendly and efficient. They work hard to make your stay a pleasure.
They do have a small funicular lift down from the hotel but the walk is not too bad if you are reasonably fit, to get to the waterfront area. Use the lift back up maybe.
I would definitely stay with this hotel again and would recommend it for someone not looking for total luxury or huge bedrooms and many facilities. The price however is very good for the quality of the hotel and in a quiet area of a busy city.

Room Tip: Sea View - High Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WOLFSPIRITTRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed for just 3 days at this welcoming hotel and we were only looking for a base to explore Palma, but found a total gem of a place! The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were well proportioned and clean with a lovely cool bar and a terrace with a view to die for. The fernicular lift takes you down to street level and saves time and effort climbing the hill! The buses are regular, cheap and generally cool and clean, but watch out for pickpockets.

Palma itself is a extremely pretty, typically Spanish city with lovely hidden squares and long tree-lined avenues lined with excellent shops and beautiful cafes. We had delicious tapas and cocktails in the old town area and meandered down to the harbour to admire the boats and cool down in one of the classy bars by the quayside. Any negatives? Should have booked an extra night!!

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view as the harbour is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#13 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
1.0 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#29 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
#21 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel UR Portofino
Hotel UR Portofino
#23 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amic Horizonte
Hotel Amic Horizonte
#54 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hesperia Ciutat Mallorca
Hesperia Ciutat Mallorca
#38 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Majorica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Majorica Hotel

Property: Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Address: Calle Garita 3, 07015 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#15 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#24 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#24 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Majorica Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalonia Majorica hotel is located in a privileged area on the maritime promenade of Palma Bay and just in front of Club del Mar. It is near the Porto Pi shopping centre and the Fundacio Joan Miro. The hotel, refurbished in 2000, combines an elegant style with modern features. It has a total of 168 rooms, all of them with beautiful views, and most of them also have a terrace. In the hotel you will find 3 swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Majorica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Majorica Hotel Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing