We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Catalonia Majorca Hotel (22-26 June 2014).” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catalonia Majorica Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Catalonia Majorca Hotel (22-26 June 2014).”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a four night stay the Catalonia Majorca Hotel (22-26 June 2014).

We got a private taxi transfer from the airport but were robbed at being charged 34 Euros - apparently it is a bit more expensive on Sundays and late at night - but otherwise expect to pay around 21 Euros.

The hotel has an elevated position near the port area and it has magnificent panoramic views of Palma.

We were fortunate to be upgraded to a lovely room (Room 215) with magnificent views across the Bay of Palma..

It took us around 35 minutes to walk into Palma at a gentle walking pace whilst appreciating the amazing boats and yachts in the marinas

For those who would prefer public transport Majorca has an excellent bus service.

The hotel was spotlessly clean with helpful and caring staff.

Two slightly adverse comments; for a four star hotel we would have expected a 'courtesy room' rather than have to 'make do' using the facilities of the gym - the facilities in this area are not four star, and there was no hairdryer!

The other comment is that the otherwise excellent cooked breakfast was spoiled by the lady chef who was pretty hopeless (albeit 'nice') at frying eggs and bacon! She broke nearly every egg and then laughed shrugging her shoulders as if it wasn't her fault.

Excellent choice of fruit, cold meats and cheeses and freshly baked breads and cakes etc. for breakfast.

We would certainly recommend this hotel to those looking for a few quiet days away in the sun.

Perhaps more suited to discerning couples, rather than those seeking the night clubs of Palma, and in our view not really suitable for young children.

Room Tip: Request a Bay View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike-and-Lynne1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xisco68, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Dave,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about our hotel in tripadvisor. This feedback estimulates us to continue with the pursuit of improvement in the service for our clients.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you had such a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed very much our hotel, apart from the incident with the fried eggs. For your information, the girl at the show cooking was new and still had to improve her tecnique. Nowadays it does not happen any more.

We will be waiting for your next visit !!.
Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    544
    189
    79
    37
See reviews for
213
568
44
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

My friend and i [ we are 2 mature ladies ] have just come back from here having 1 week We got the holiday off the internet which we concider a very good ice. The staff were friendly , helpful and cheerful .The food had a wide range at breakfast and evening meal and you could always find something that you liked .We did walk a little way to find a stone free swimming area on the beach but a minor detail .The pool area wasnt that big but we are beach people so it didnt matter to us . There were a few complaints that if you were not up by 6 45 to put your towel down you would have to take pot luck .[ Not Germans i might add but English early risers ] Would we go or recommend this hotel most definately

Room Tip: my friend and i had a room at the back of the hotel which overlooked the pool . A perfect view with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarkeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xisco68, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Madam,

It is a pleasure to read your comments about our hotel in tripadvisor. This feedback estimulates us to continue with the pursuit of improvement in the service for our clients. It is a pleasure for us to know that you had such a pleasant stay as you mention in your comment.

Thank you very much. We will be waiting for your next visit !!.
Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Gleaming corridors, stylish rooms and friendly staff, all adds up to excellent. Located close to the port and within walking distance of the town. Great views of the marina from the terrace and pool area. If you are on a budget get the airport bus for 3 euros each and is within 5 minutes of the Port bus stop. Great place to chill for a few days.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xisco68, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Chris,

Thank you very much for all your extremely nice comments about the rooms, the staff, the pool area, the views and so on in tripadvisor, and we are really pleased because you felt very well assisted by our team.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you had such a pleasant stay as you mention in your comment.

We will be waiting for your next visit !!.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed with my son in June -14.
+ Got a room at floor 3 but it smelled of smoking so the blond lady at the reception gave us a new one at floor 5 - nice service.
+ Hotel is next to a big shoppingcenter Porto Pi.
+ Don't walk up the hill - the hotel has an elevator that takes you right down to the street below, where also the bus stops are. Easy access.
+ It costs 1,50 to take the bus to centre of Palma. Not very far. Also 1,50 the other way to beaches. Very beautiful beach and friendly busdrivers.
+ Big breakfast. The first lady did however not know how to make the omelette but the next one did OK and very friendly staff at the breakfast.
- When booking through homepage you are promised early book-in (never got it), a bottle of water (never got it), welcome-drink (got it two days late when complaining), late check-out (we checked out at 3 o'clock which was wonderful)
+ man at reception was very helpful and kind
- lady with long dark hair at reception was not very serviceminded. Slow and when a woman called to ask if they had found her bag by the pool, she was rude and not helpful. The guest came running from a taxi and got the bag later but it could have been easy to calm her by checking. My son got upset that the reception wasn't helping a guest and I had to agree.
- The aircondition is very noicy
+ There is a lifeguard at the pool who works hard and always has a smile.
+ We paid extra for a view and it was very worth it. Spectacular view. Two chairs and a table.
+ wonderful pool. Big and never crowded even when 37 degrees sunny.
I would recommend the hotel and would go back. Thankyou for a nice holiday.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IngerC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xisco68, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Inger,

Thank you very much in the name of all the Catalonia Majórica Team for all your kink comments about our hotel in tripadvisor. It is a pleasure for us to know that you had such a pleasant stay as you mention in your comment.

I take note to improve our service with the promised upgrades that you never got, like early book-in, bottle of water and welcome-drink

We will be waiting for your next stay by us!!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent 3 days at the Hotel Catalonia Majorca. It proved to be a heck of a hotel and at such a reasonable price.

Things we loved about the Catalonia Majorca:

Rooms were spacious and clean

Little terrace was great for fixing a snack in the evenings

Pool area and view were to die for!

Easy access to bus line for transportation throughout Palma

EXTREMELY courteous staff and helpful

Eurocar delivers a rental car to the hotel for your use at very reasonable prices.

Just want coffee in the morning? Great machine in the buffet room brews delicious espresso and cafe latte.

Anyway, we were so pleased with this hotel..it really made the visit to Isle Majorca a great experience.

Room Tip: Higher floors get a great breeze at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xisco_barea, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Don,

Thank you very much for all your extremely nice comments about the breakfast, the pool, the views and so on in tripadvisor, and we are really pleased because you felt very well assisted by our team.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you had such a pleasant stay as you mention in your comment.

We will be waiting for your next visit !!.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were one week, everything very well, the service of the excellent dining room, the a bit antipathetic waitresses of the bar but for everything else, very satisfied .. the balearics islands are wonderful!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Georginandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xisco_barea, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Georgina & John,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and of course for your kind review in Tripadvisor.

We are really pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in the Catalonia Majórica and we look forward to seeing you again very soon. Regarding your comment about our bar waitresses, I will do my best in order to ensure that it will not happen again.

Best regards from Palma de Mallorca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
226 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

that´s beauty place very big room like suite like the people there very nice, Like go to nice resturant like eat beef and like drink so wine and chocolate cake later go hear music go nice bar jazz music dance nice person like go walk

Room Tip: like the suite big room in the coner great sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carmen409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xisco_barea, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Carmen:

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Catalonia Majórica

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best regards from Palma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#13 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
#20 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
1.0 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#28 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amic Horizonte
Hotel Amic Horizonte
#54 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel UR Portofino
Hotel UR Portofino
#22 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Armadams
Hotel Armadams
#46 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Majorica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Majorica Hotel

Property: Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Address: Calle Garita 3, 07015 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#15 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#24 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#25 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Majorica Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalonia Majorica hotel is located in a privileged area on the maritime promenade of Palma Bay and just in front of Club del Mar. It is near the Porto Pi shopping centre and the Fundacio Joan Miro. The hotel, refurbished in 2000, combines an elegant style with modern features. It has a total of 168 rooms, all of them with beautiful views, and most of them also have a terrace. In the hotel you will find 3 swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Lastminute, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Catalonia Majorica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Majorica Hotel Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing