We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
bournemouth
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

When we booked this hotel we requested a twin room but the room we had been allocated had one double bed and a small pull out bed. When we moved the cushion on the sofa bed there were lots of tiny insects crawling around. We went back to reception and explained why we were not happy staying in the room. Poly the receptionist apologised profusely and gave us a free drinks voucher so we could enjoy a drink on the terrace while she sorted us out another room. The second room on the top floor was lovely. The sun was on the balcony from 10am until 8.30pm and the views of the marina were beautiful. My only criticism was there were no tea or coffee making facilities. There were a few issues with various things not working in the room but I feel it would be unfair to detail them as they were rectified promptly once reported.
We stayed on a half board basis and the food was very good indeed. The pool area has a nice relaxing vibe. There were very few children staying at the hotel, probably due to the lack of kids facilities and entertainment which suited us perfectly. We only had one day (Sunday) when there were no sun loungers. There was a lifeguard who was also employed to remove towels from sun loungers if they were unoccupied for more than 30 minutes. This obviously stopped people from selfishly claiming a spot then going off for the day.
The hotel is a fair walk from the centre and a 10 minute walk to the nearest supermarket. We spent quite a lot on taxis as it took 30 minutes or so to walk into town.
The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and efficient (especially Poly the receptionist).
It takes about 20 minutes by taxi from the airport which costs around 20 - 25 euros.
If you are looking for a 'chill out' break with good food, sun and a good book by the pool, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: The 5th floor (top) has the nicest views and is the quietest. Ask for a room which has sun on the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xisco68, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for all your comments about our hotel in tripadvisor. It is a pleasure for us to know that you had such a pleasant stay as you mention in your comment.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed our magnificent views, our excellent pool and of course our friendly and efficient staff (specially Poly).

We will be waiting for your next visit !!.
Best regards from Palma de Mallorca,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    631
    220
    86
    42
See reviews for
254
656
48
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, comfy bed, good bathroom, no balcony but roof terrace was chilled out with amazing view. Quite a bit of walking to get to centre of town but area lovely n quiet. Staff all very obliging n helpful, including cleaners.

Room Tip: Think u may need to upgrade to get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xisco68, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Lucy,

Thank you very much for all your comments about our hotel in tripadvisor. It is a pleasure for us to know that you had such a pleasant stay as you mention in your comment.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed our magnificent views and our friendly and helpful staff.

We will be waiting for your next visit!!.
Best regards from Palma de Mallorca,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I went to Palma with my mum and sister for a week to relax and soak up some sun. Palma is lovely and we certainly got what we went for.
However, the hotel Catalonia is not for the luxury-seekers. The rooms are basic with no tea or coffee making facilities in the room and nowhere inside the hotel to get a coffee before 10am unless you pay €13 for the buffet breakfast. The only refreshments in the room were in the mini-bar which were expensive (€3 for a can of coke). The wifi is really annoying - it only works for a few minutes at a time and you have to log in every time you want to use it. We did room only and found when we ate lunch in the hotel it was expensive (€2.75 for 200ml of coke), although the food was delicious. Our flight wasn't until the evening so we wanted to make use of the pool until we left, therefore needing to shower before going to the airport. When we asked to extend our check out time the only thing they could offer us was another 3 hours but with a charge of €20. We declined and used the showers available in the indoor pool, which was fine.
Saying all that, the pool had a lovely chilled out vibe, with a lifeguard during the week until 6pm. There is also a small gym and an indoor heated pool for those who aren't sun worshippers. The pool over-looks the bay and the view is gorgeous!.
I would recommend Palma but not the Catalonia Majorica hotel.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool would be the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xisco68, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel in Tripadvisor.

On regards to your comments, let me apologize if you have not been fully satisfied with our hotel as we are all very committed to deliver a very high level of service quality.

I sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to demonstrate you the renowned quality of our property if ever your travel bring you back to Palma.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I travelled to Palma last weekend with 2 of my girlfriends for a short 2 night stay - we picked Palma as the flights from Manchester gave us nearly 3 full days on the island. The hotel was excellent value for money & please don't be put off by the negative comments as we had a lovely weekend. We booked a triple room so wasn't sure what to expect when we arrived but were pleasantly surprised to find an average size room with 2 single beds & another inter connecting room with 1 single bed which was huge! The bathroom was clean & ample sized and the air con was a real blessing! The breakfast had a huge choice of food catering for many European's-personally I found the English cooked breakfast a bit disappointing as the sausages resembled hot dogs & the bacon was a type of thick ham that really didn't taste great but that aside there was a hige choice of pastries,breads, continental breakfasts & whatever eggs you wanted & also pancakes with maple syrup!
The reception were very helpful & friendly & provided us with free beach towels & a free room safe key for a small deposit. Taxis' to the waterfront were around 5 Euro's which were always very quick to appear at reception once we'd ordered them & it was about a 15-20 minute walk to the waterfront bars if you wanted to go on foot via the hotel funicular which saved you walking up a few very steep roads!
The hotel appeared busy at lunch time & the service was a bit slow but we only had 1 meal in the hotel so hard for us to judge if this was a one off or not. There was a supermarket about a 5 minute walk from the hotel & we were able to buy soft drinks & store them in the room mini bar which was quite big thankfully!
On arrival we had a free glass of Prosecco & were able to use the pool as soon as we arrived which was large enough to swim a few strokes & cool down - the view of the harbour from the outdoor terrace & pool was fabulous & it was great to see all the cruise ships arrive & depart.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for a quick weekend away as it was only about 10 mins from the airport & cost around 25 euros in a taxi for the 3 of us.
There was an indoor pool which we never used & a tiny gym but again never used that either. The hotel staff were happy to look after our luggage all day on the last day even though we kept going back to our suitcases for various itmes throughout the day.
If you decide to go then I would also recommend the 5 hour Catamaran trip on the MAGIC catamaran -great fun snorkelling, ate a BBQ on board & got to see a lot of the coastline of Palma & some of the amazing private yachts in the harbour!

Room Tip: The sea rooms would have had an amazing view but not worth it for us as we were never in our room to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbados14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xisco68, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to read your comments about our hotel in tripadvisor. This feedback estimulates us to continue with the pursuit of improvement in the service for our clients. It is a pleasure for us to know that you had such a pleasant stay as you mention in your comment.

Thank you very much for choosing us. We will be waiting for your next visit !!.
Best regards from Palma de Mallorca,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The hotel is nice but a bit expensive. Our room had a decent size bathroom and a double bed (we asked for a king size one but they said they only had doubles).
For the money we paid we were expecting a decent TV, decent fridge and good wi-fi reception, however, this was not the case.

The location is really good, just in front of Palma, we could see the Cathedral from our balcony.

Basically, it is not a great hotel but good enough to have a good rest and enjoy your holidays.

Room Tip: Room with a sea view. Views to Palma at night great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xisco68, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Mario,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel in Tripadvisor.

First of all, let me apologize if you have not been fully satisfied with our hotel as we are all very committed to deliver a very high level of service quality.

On regards to your comments I would like to say that the TV sets at all rooms in our hotel are 32" Flat TVs (the most of them with LED tecnology), better than more hotels with the same cathegory and our Wi-Fi runs with 30 Mbs, wich is quite good if you do not try to download big files or films.

I sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to demonstrate you the renowned quality of our property if ever your travel bring you back to Palma.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halmstad, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I'm very disappointed with thé Room and especially thé handling of our complaint . You hear your neighbours when théy shower and flush thé toilet. I woke up every night when the other guest flushed thé toilet or took a shower. I talked to thé staff four times and they Said théy should take a look at thé Room. After I had read thé review I understand that other Guests had same problem. I have also asked for a new room but noone in thé staff seem. To take notice.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xisco68, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Malin,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel in Tripadvisor.

First of all, let me apologize if you have not been fully satisfied with our hotel as we are all very committed to deliver a very high level of service quality.

On regards to your comments about the noises of the neighbour's bathroom, please accept my sincere apologies, but it is the same in all rooms because of the building construction.

I sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to demonstrate you the renowned quality of our property if ever your travel bring you back to Palma.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have had a very enjoyable break at hotel.
Staff in bar very efficient and freindly.
Food was excellent and the service from the bar staff and also the lifeguard at the pool also excellent.
Room was very good and would stay at hotel again.
Our only concern was when we asked a member of staff the best way to get to a local resort, she was unable to assist us and looked on internet to find how far away it was, was made to feel as though we were being an inconvenience.Surely reception staff should be fully informed of the local area and the local amenities/bus services available.When we asked for a bus timetable our request was ignored and finally we told her not to worry.
Overall we had a lovely time but would say be fully informed before you go as you may not get the assistance you may need from reception.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynneysweetdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xisco68, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for all your comments about our hotel in tripadvisor. It is a pleasure for us to know that you had such a pleasant stay as you mention in your comment.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed our hotel. We will follow your recomendation to the reception staff in order to be fully informed about the local activities, amenities and timetables.

We will be waiting for your next visit !!.
Best regards from Palma de Mallorca,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
1.0 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#28 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
2,145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea
#25 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
1,891 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Saratoga
Hotel Saratoga
#35 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#15 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
1,646 reviews
0.7 mi away
Innside by Melia Palma Bosque
Innside by Melia Palma Bosque
#24 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
77 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
#22 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Majorica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Majorica Hotel

Property: Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Address: Calle Garita 3, 07015 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#13 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#15 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#24 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#26 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Majorica Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalonia Majorica hotel is located in a privileged area on the maritime promenade of Palma Bay and just in front of Club del Mar. It is near the Porto Pi shopping centre and the Fundacio Joan Miro. The hotel, refurbished in 2000, combines an elegant style with modern features. It has a total of 168 rooms, all of them with beautiful views, and most of them also have a terrace. In the hotel you will find 3 swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Majorica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Majorica Hotel Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing