We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy, great location, food, staff superb”
Review of HM Jaime III

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HM Jaime III
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Nice
1 review
“Trendy, great location, food, staff superb”
Reviewed 15 July 2009

WE booked this hotel last January for a 2 week holiday in June/July following good reviews on Trip Advisor. Got a superb price for room & breakfast. I can't recommend it highly enough - really trendy interiors, bed large and comfy, nice bathroom, small fridge and CD player in the room. Breakfast and meals were superb and more reasonable (and better) than the tourist resto's in town. On the edge of the old town bordering the old river, and within walking distance to everywhere; airport bus stops outside and great access to Palma's superb bus system to get to the beaches. As recommended by Trip Advisor, book your room on the 7th or 8th floor at the front. West facing and great sunsets. A tip - for the more discerning, spend a day at PURO Beach at Can Pastilla (no 15 bus). Cool, trendy, great food but bit expensive (count on 120 euros a day for beds, lunch and drinks). But luxury - and not for kids. Also visit ABACO for cocktails and have dinner at the contemporary art museum - a glass resto set amid centuries-old walls overloking the bay of Palma.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToscaNice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    996
    654
    176
    55
    24
See reviews for
255
992
74
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2009

HM Jaime is quite expensive and unless you're really bothered about a spa, modern deco and a bit of pretension just go for something a bit cheaper.
Accomodation:
The best things about this hotel were the location and the breakfast.
Its only a 5-10 minute walk from the centre, shops, harbour and old town and looks out over the canal which is surrounded by little palms and fir trees. However the main road it sits on is pretty busy and we didnt use the balcony as it was too hot - not the hotels fault.
The room was fine, not enormous but tidy, clean and modern.
There are some particularly odd pices of art dotted around and the canoe in the middle of the reception is a health hazard.
There is a spa also with a jacuzzi etc. - we used the changing rooms here on our last day - our flight was in the evening, so left our bags, went to the beach and went back to the hotel to freshen up, which was a big plus.
Breakfast: loads of choice from british cooked brek to smoked salmon, sweet pastries, cereals, yoghurt and champagne!
Most of the restaurants are either inthe old town or dotted about the main streets to the east of the central area. The restaurant beside the hotel 'Block house' though was really good and worth a visit if you dont want to go far.
Palma is v. touristy and the shops are pretty good - try massimo dutti for clothes.

If you're planning to go to the beach don't believe the receptionist when he tells you its a mere 10 min stroll - its 45 minutes of hard, sun battering down on your back graft - either get the bus to Illetes or further, for some little coves or further east to las maravillas/ses cadenes which i'm told runs a sort of light railway along the coast - v. long beach with lidos.

Lastly - know the difference between pinchos and tapas. Tapas seemed more like a main meal size whereas the pinchos were more the size that you'd think of here - little tasty bites of stuff - buen viajo?!?.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliviag24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
99 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2009

Stayed at the Hotel Jaime on a short visit to Palma- this hotel is an AMAZING value. It is in a great city location within walking distance to shops and great restaurants....the hotel has a restaurant downstairs and i think it was 17 euro for their breakfast buffet. There were a lot of cafes and restaurants next door though, so I didnt eat there. There is also a city bus stop that leaves from the airport and drops you off right in front of the hotel...it only takes a few minutes and if I recall correctly, it costs 2 euro rather than paying for a taxi. I dont speak any Spanish and I showed the bus driver the hotel name and he knew right where it was.

The hotel is a short walk from a lot of the other trendy hotels- Hotel Tres, Puro, and Santa Clara... There's also a great tapas place that's a short walking distance called La Cueva- highly recommended!

The decor is contemporary- there is cool art throughout the lobby, sitting rooms, and guest rooms. I stayed with my sister and we were pleased with the room size and bathroom size. Everything was pristine clean. And free wireless in case you have your laptop. Our room was on the 4th floor facing the main street and had a nice balcony to sit outside on. It was surprisingly quiet though...no trouble with street noise when I went to bed.

The only downside to this hotel is it's distance from the beach (you need a car or taxi). If you stay here, you won't be having a beach vacation...but as long as you know that going in, I have no bad feedback about this place. Jose at the front desk was awesome, I can't believe the hotel rate for the decor and location of the hotel.

Highly recommend this place for a stay in Palma city!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AP_Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

We couldn't fault this hotel at all, brilliant location, great rooms and even better terraces!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoBondBingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

Fristly, we were overcharged for the price a glass of wine as they tried to charge for a bottle of wine. Secondly, two mini bottles of champagne which we had left in our room, while we went out for the early evening, were 'removed' along with a bar of chocolate from the mini fridge.
Thirdly, on waking up in the morningI found dried, old blood on my pillow which made me feel sick.
The most disappointing bit was that the bar/lounging area wasn't relaxing or what we expected for a 4* hotel. We had spent 5 nights at the Tryp Bellver and wanted a change of location which would give us 4 nights in a more central location so expected similar service.
The bar is within the restaurant space is so not really comfortable if all you want is a couple of drinks. It seems to close about 11.30 pm as guests were directed to a downstairs area where they were expected to sit with their last drink in hand. We thought this area was pretty much like an upmarket students union in decor/style. A member of the other group of (5) guests starting arguing with the barman as there seemed to be confusion about this being their last order and removal from said restaurant upstairs.
We found this hotel 'stark' and uncomfortable . As both are 4*s we found Hotel Jaime reall disappointing and think it would suit a younger clientele.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2009

We booked this hotel based on reviews and was not disappointed, great location on the edge of the old town everywhere was walkable .It`s situated on a main road and the airport bus stopped just outside a bargain at 2 euros. English speaking staff were very helpful, room was modern clean and quiet, after a day walking the town taking in an abundance of quality shops and restaurants we used the fab hot tub and sauna. We didn`t eat in the restaurant it looked a bit pricey and preferred to try the many good places nearby. some of the best restaurants are in C/Apuntadoros in the old town including a great jazz bar with live music. But beware the only downside to our trip was a restaurant called Vecchio Giovanni. the food was fine but when we checked our bill we were charged 17 euros over the top with items that we never had. we sent it back 3 times and each time it came back slightly less until we got to the correct price. several other people were having the same problem so by all means go there but check your bill thoroughly. Palma is a great place and very classy but take plenty of euros and if you have a shoe addiction and your trying to keep up with the Emelda Marcos`s of this world your in heaven. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devonsesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
333 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2009

What a fantastic hotel to stay in for a city visit to Palma, we visited in January, flights with Ryanair £5 each way, bus from the airport £1 each, stops right outside of hotel on the oposite side of the road. (Ask the driver he will tell you when to get off)
Hotel was spotless, rooms large and ultra modern, only downside was breakfast, food was fine but the locals use the restaraunt for beakfast and it gets packed to the refters. The spa looked inviting but only had two days to fit everything in so never got to sample it!
Palma in January is a delight, no crowds like in summer, used the buses to visit Magaluf as I had never been there and it was closed and raining when we got there and when I say closed I mean closed!!! Even McDonalds was shut up!
Walked into Palma Nova and that was busier.
Palma is a beautiful city to just wander around and the hotel is perfect base to do it.

  • Stayed January 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j0hnhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,443 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#14 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,582 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#25 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,048 reviews
0.5 mi away
HM Balanguera
HM Balanguera
#11 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
888 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saratoga
Hotel Saratoga
#32 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HM Jaime III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HM Jaime III

Property: HM Jaime III
Address: Paseo Mallorca 14B, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Tryp Jaime III)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#7 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#11 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — HM Jaime III 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel HM Jaime III is situated in the heart of Palma de Mallorca city. The philosophy of the Hotel HM Jaime III and the clients it attracts are a reflection of the vivacious spirit of Palma de Mallorca. Over a short time, Palma de Mallorca has become an important Mediterranean nucleus, frequented by people from all over the world, keen on enjoying the social and cultural attractions of the city.The HM Jaime III shows a clear commitment to avant-garde arte. It offers a different style of accommodation in Palma de Mallorca, on par with the quality and service you expect to find in any other large city, paying special attention to the needs and conveniences that urban life entails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your HM Jaime III reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hm Jaime Iii Hotel Palma De Mallorca
HM Jaime III Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing