We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, central hotel”
Review of Hotel Saratoga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Saratoga
Ranked #35 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Convenient, central hotel”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Very pleased that we chose Hotel Saratoga for a 3 night break. In a convenient location, round the corner from Passaig Born and about 15 mins walk to the old town. The airport bus stops just up the street from the Saratoga and cost 2€.

The hotel was very clean and we had a room with a balcony overlooking the inner courtyard which was quiet and got the sun in the morning. The room seemed like it had recently been refurbished with comfy beds and a flatscreen tv. The staff were very pleasant.

We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel but it looked like an extensive buffet selection at a special rate of 10 euros a head which seemed reasonable. There are plenty of local cafes if you don't want to eat in.

There are two pools. The hotel was quite busy (end of Sept) and the rooftop pool area got quite cramped. The gym takes up precious space on this floor - if I owned this hotel I'd relocate it to a lower floor and create much needed lounging space. There were sun loungers in the inner courtyard, but this only got the sun till about 3pm.

Another criticism would be the cost of the minibar. Why do hotels insist on such ridiculous prices? (€2.50 for a small bottle of water when you can buy 1.5l for 70c round the corner) - it would make more sense to have reasonable prices that would actually encourage people to drink what's in there.

All in all a great location and a good hotel. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone going to Palma.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sunny balcony facing the inner courtyard. Or rooms overlooking the Paseo Mallo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FisherTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    486
    180
    65
    41
See reviews for
144
500
50
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seville, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Nice hotel at a central location, good breakfast. The terrace Pool has a fantastic view of the town centre. Also the hotel staff were helpful. A rainny day we visit the fantastic Cathedral
and we found a fab eatery "Quina Creu Tapas bar " with fashionable and cultured locals located in the Sa Gerreria area.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urban52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todos Santos, BCS, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This was the worst place we stayed on our trip throughout Spain - no charm - zero. Construction started at 8 across the street. You could be in any city in the world - it has no sense of place. On the surface, it's clean and basic, but scratch just below the surface and you realize this hotel is not about hospitality. We prepaid for our stay - our mistake. We tried to cancel. No chance - they seem to know they have an inferior property and deal with this problem frequently. We tried to change our reservation by a day, but were told the hotel was full the day we wanted to change to. We went back to try once again since no one wants to throw away Euros and were told again (even though rooms WERE available) that they could not be flexible due to the hotel's policy, which seemed to change by day. Do yourself a favor and stay away.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCSInsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidadsaratoga, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Saratoga, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Dear Sirs,
The days of the stay of this client, were pubic works (of the city council) in the street that not have to have an efffect on the impression and valuation of our Hotel.
For that reason, we believe that this kind of comment should not appear.
Yours Faithfully,

Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We have stayed in the Saratoga many times over the last six years. We always book a room with a sea view. They have balconies with table and chairs. The rooms have been clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are a good reason to keep going back. Large buffet selection of cereals, yogurts, juices, various cold meats and cheeses. Hot choices too. Chorizo sausages and spanish omelettes. And more! Fruit, croissants and coffee. Two pools...one on the top of the building with sun bathing area and a fitness centre. The other at ground level with tables and chairs at the pool side. There is a bar/restaurant on the top floor and the Blue Jazz Club. Round the corner is the fashionable shopping area and many restaurants and tapas bars. Easy walking to the Cathedral with its Gothic Towers. Take a sight seeing trip on an open top bus. Its worth it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jalogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Nice and charming hotel in Palma centre, next to the harbour area, shopping centre and night life area. Clean, good en friendly staff. Every evening live music at the upper level. Swimming pool at the roof of the hotel with excellent view over Palma.

Room Tip: Ask for swimming pool view, inner side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling-engineer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed here twice. Both times we had a good experience. We had a superiro room at EU150. The bathroom was very good, and the bedroom really nicely furnished with a balcony. Some bedrooms face the street others face the inner couryard overloooking the pool. The bedroom size was good for the price we paid, and we did not feel cramped. The hotel is close to the best shopping areas, the restaurant districts,the port, and the old city. The staff were really helpful when we asked for directions and places to go. The hotel is professionally managed and efficiently run. If you want to stay in the city at a decent rate, you cannot do better.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igorbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skien, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Saratoga is located a few blocks away from the old quarters, near Corte Ingles and only a few minutes walk to sights and restaurants. There are two pools, the one at ground level is larger and less used, as it is mostly in the shade. The roof top pool/bar is small but attractive. The breakfast buffet is varied and of good quality. Free wireless internet provided, but the network seemed a little unstable. Our bed was uncomfortably firm, and no thin blankets were provided, only heavy ones. The AC in the room was adequate and not noisy. The doors are light, so hallroom noise travels well into the rooms. The reception warned us about the weekend jazz club at the top floor, but we did not find that to be a problem in our room on the 4th floor.
Location, service, room quality, and appearance made this a good choice for a week in Palma.

Room Tip: Both regular and superior rooms (€10 charge) offered, the difference is fairly small. Ask to see bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knutinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
1.5 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#24 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
1,497 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Born
Hotel Born
#38 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
438 reviews
0.6 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#28 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
HM Jaime III
HM Jaime III
#12 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
1,949 reviews
0.6 mi away
Innside Palma Center
Innside Palma Center
#10 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
679 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#15 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saratoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saratoga

Property: Hotel Saratoga
Address: Paseo Mallorca 6, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#33 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saratoga 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Saratoga, in Palma (Majorca) was established in 1962 and has been recently refurbished. The Hotel Saratoga is situated in a central but quiet location in Palma (Majorca), near one of the most popular and prestigious commercial avenues of the city - Avenue Jaime III - close to the Paseo Maritimo promenade, the Cathedral and the Harbour. Built in a conventional style, the Hotel Saratoga has a fresh and comfortable atmosphere, a sober decor, and excellent facilities, equipment and service. The Hotel Saratoga disposes 187 luxury rooms and offers free wireless high speed internet throughout the whole hotel. There is a BLUE JAZZ CLUB with live Jazz Music and the presence of the best Jazz artists in Majorca. The Hotel Saratoga is highly recommended for Conventions and Business, tourism, Golf and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Mirai, Booking.com, ACCOR, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Saratoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Hotel Saratoga Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing