We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing stay!”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 6 days as being a supervisor for a group who were having a wedding on the island. So I got to experience this hotel both as a guest and as part of their team. This actually made me appreciate this hotel more and more as I witnessed their staff every day , how they handled the guests with care and how professional and efficient everything was.

The only downside is the location because you can not walk down the hill to the main street and have to take a taxi. But the bell boys can get you a taxi in less than 5 minutes anyway.

The hotel has an amazing charm to it, even though its built into a 13 century castle. They have an amazing view of the bay from the terrace where you can have a nice drink or coffee.

If I ever go back to Mallorca this will be my hotel of choice always.

Room Tip: If you will go for the classic, take the ones on the ground floor as they are bigger and open to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NileGuy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JVeensma, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear clients from Jeddah,

it was agreat honor of having you in the Castillo Hotel Son Vida and we hope to welcome you again during your next visit.

kind regards

GM
Castillo Hotel Son Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    170
    47
    15
    9
See reviews for
158
422
26
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Set in a 13th-century castle located in the Son Vida Hills (about 10.0 km/6.2 miles outside of the city of Palma de Mallorca), this hotel probably has one of the best panoramic views on the entire island! The hotel staff and service were nothing less than topknotch and in general the hotel exceeded all expectations on all fronts! The hotel has two different lodging locales: the new modern wing which is styled in the fashion of a Spanish Hacienda, and the older but more architecturally distinctive castle area. I personally found the rooms in the newer building to be less 'personal' though still beautiful. We requested to be placed within the Castle area and were delighted when we found our room came equip with its own private terrace area!

Our entire stay was truly a special experience...cannot wait to return!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarrahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JVeensma, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear clients from Toronto,

thank you very much for your information about your stay last summer and we hope you will visit us again on your next Europe journey.
The castle is waiting for you.

kind regards

GM
Castillo Hotel Son Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a business trip and it was fantastic. Built around a castle so definitely has kerb appeal. Rooms large and nice decor. Pool area amazing with terrific views. Only slight downside was the service in the bar/terrace and restaurant was very slow- maybe that's the Spanish way but we literally had to hunt out a drink and dinner took hours.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisep29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JVeensma, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Clients,

thank you very much for your comments, which helps us to improve our service every day.

I discussed your input with our F&B Team and I am sure that, at your next visit, we will demonstrate our improvement.

Best regards

GM
Castillo Hotel Son Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a 3 days business seminar back in October last year. The location and views are astounding, and it's a beautiful building. I was greeted as you've expect at a 5 star hotel and shown to my room. Once alone, I went to use the toilet - and found it full of urine! Either the chambermaid had used it and not flushed, or - worse still - maybe it wasn't cleaned after the previous guests? I wouldn't have expected that from a 2 star in Blackpool...

Yes, everything is very grand and impressive, but it's eye wateringly expensive (I'm glad my company was paying!) - even breakfast was something like $33 each, as I recall. Also, the hotel was very difficult to navigate - I appreciate that it's an old building but the lifts only serve the upper floors, not the lower floors where the conference rooms, etc, are. This mean walking down several flights of stairs each morning to get to work. The layout really isn't ideal.

I'm not going to give it a really low score - that would be unfair - but based on the bathroom issue alone, I can't possibly give it better than a 4.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obarmoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JVeensma, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Clients from Banbury,

thank you for your information and I whish I received your feedback personally during your stay. As I am responable for the Hotel and his service this infomation is very important to receive this on the spot so I could take direct steps to help you and analize our service.
I will inmediatly analize this with my team.

Kind regrads

GM
Castillo Hotel Son Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

What can I say, this is a beautiful hotel with excellent facilities overlooking the beautiful Son Vida golf course. If you are looking for a treat this is perfect for you, out of the hustle and bustle of the resorts for relaxation. We had a family room which was very spacious, beautiful bathroom. Staff were excellent and looked after us very well. Fabulous pool area with further childrens pool area and kids club.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yummymummy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JVeensma, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Clients from Chester,

thank you very much, we really appreciate your comments and that you spend the time to give us your feedback. On behalve of the whole team we would like to say " Muchas Gracias".
We hope to welcome you soon again and sending you sunny regards from Mallorca

GM
Castillo Hotel Son Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The experience was almost magical. The resort benefits greatly from the flawless setting. The Old World, top of the hill vista lends itself beautifully to the Modern reincarnation of the XIIIth Century Castillo. The staff was professionally outstanding and the amenities not very far behind. But it's the overall product that shines the brightest. This is no up and coming wanna be. The Castillo may definitely be Mallorca's best resort.

PS: A special thanks to Mariano, Sebastian and Maria and the entire crew of Es Castell.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JVeensma, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Good evenning New York,

Muchas gracias for your comments and we are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Castillo Hotel Son Vida.
If you plan your next trip to Mallorca, we like to welcome you again.

Kind regards


GM
Castillo Hotel Son Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
141 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed at Son Vida in May for Four days, and we loved our days there!
Service was the best thing, and the staff in the hotel was incredible. They were really nice and helpful, they always tried to find a solution even when we got late for breakfast ;) and we got fantastic tips for good restaurants. The hotel was awesome, rooms are big and nice, breakfast was delicious and the swimingpool great for relaxing all day. Fantastic hotel for golf as well. novedad having a drink at the nice terraje with am amazing view of the cita of Palma.
If i have to point some improcedente it would be that the wines are a bit overpriced. Also i would keep breakfast open until a bit later, lots of guests arrived just before it was closing.

I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JVeensma, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Estimados clientes de Madrid,

muchas gracias, thank you very much for your feedback and it is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope you will visit us soon again.

saludos cordiales

GM
Castillo Hotel Son Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palma de Mallorca
2.5 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#14 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,580 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
417 reviews
3.4 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,443 reviews
15.5 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
784 reviews
3.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
#6 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Carrer Raixa, 2 | Urbanización Son Vida, 07013 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#4 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#4 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#6 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castillo Hotel Son Vida is a turreted 13th century building in a characteristic Mallorcan country house style. The hotel is surrounded by Mediterranean gardens and the golf course Son Vida and two other golf courses; Son Muntaner and Son Quint are only two minutes away. It offers magnificent views over the city and the bay of Palma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Destinology, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing