We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel. Poor check in experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel. Poor check in experience.”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This hotel is perched up above Palma in Son Vida, an exclusive enclave which i'm told has the highest real estate prices in Spain. You can tell from the sizes of the properties that surround this old turreted hotel.
It's one of the larger 'boutique' hotels i've stayed in and this worried me at first but it doesn't show. There is plenty of room at breakfast, which is excellent, and around the pool. The pool attendants are also very good and run at you with towels as soon as you appear.
One criticism is that for the size of the hotel they seemed slightly understaffed and during drinks on the terrace we had to wait a long time for service. That said, the terrace, "the balcony of Mallorca" as it's called, has an amazing view of Palma town and the sea beyond.
We booked what was, on the booking, a deluxe with balcony and sea view. From my comments above you can understand why I wanted the sea view. The room itself was a great size and had everything you could want but there was no sea view, only a view of trees and a glimpse of the town above them.
I went to reception to ask about this and the guy that I spoke to just said "I don't know why the booking still says this, there was a view 20 years ago before the trees. I can give you another room tomorrow but it will cost you more and the balcony is smaller so you probably want to say where you are." He was old enough to have been there 20 years and it sounded like this was a standard response of his. There was no budging either. My booking was via a website other than the hotel's (lastminute.com) so I have also complained to them but I assume the hotel provides them with the information about the rooms.
My other complaint is that we planned to eat at the hotel restaurant on the Saturday night and were told that because of a wedding there was only one restaurant open. We were then told that it was only serving a buffet. For a five star hotel, I expected to be able to have table service from one restaurant at least and not be pushed aside because of a wedding.
This soured the stay a little and I have complained but I can't deny that it is a beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Double check your booking if it mentions sea view as you might not get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TopherTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JVeensma, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Buena tardes,

thank you very for staying at "The Balcony of Mallorca" the Castillo Hotel Son Vida and that you took the time to write your feedback in TripAdvisor.
I regret that we could not offer you sea view and please accept my appologies if we did not react accordingly to your whishes.
I will share your comments with my team so that we can improve our service day by day.

Hope you will visit us again soon and sending sunny regards from Mallorca

GM
Castillo Hotel Son Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    168
    47
    15
    9
See reviews for
157
413
25
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My family and I had a very relaxing week at Hotel Castillo Son Vida. We mostly sat by the pool on the very comfortable chairs and read (and napped). My teenage children enjoyed some tennis lessons by an excellent coach the hotel arranged for us. The beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms tastefully decorated and very clean. The terrace was an amazing place to have an evening drink with the most beautiful views! The restaurants at the hotel were extremely good and we also ventured into Palma most nights to try different places. It's a short taxi ride to Palma and only about 10 Euros. We would definitely like to go back!

Room Tip: My husband and I had a room on the 2nd floor which was very nice and my children had a room on the 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susie077London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JVeensma, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear clients from London, the Olympic City,

thank you very much for your kind words which I will share with my team, this is absolute a motivation for us and it makes us proud to work at the "Balcony of Mallorca".

Kind regards from Mallorca

GM
Castillo Hotel Son Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We booked a Deluxe room for a four nights stay from August 9 – 13, 2012. We arrived at about 2pm by car and were welcomed by friendly doormen who took care about our luggage and the car (valet parking was free of charge). Check in was very polite, a complimentary welcome drink was offered and we were guided to our room 844.

We got an upgrade to a Grand Deluxe room with a nice view of the bay of Palma. The room was quite spacious and the requested baby cot was placed beside the bed. The bathroom had a bath tub and shower stall, the toilet was separated by a sliding door. A welcome note, a complimentary bottle of water and fresh fruits were placed in the room.

The property is five star, there was a multi million refurbishment program a few years ago and the hotel was even a member of The Leading Hotels of the World (but not anymore). All one expects from a luxury hotel was fulfilled, the staff was friendly and generally helpful. Turn down even provided all rooms with ice cubes every evening. We just wondered that there was no live music in the bar (although there is an impressive terrace) or that the concierge staff couldn’t recommend a beach with nice facilities (they didn’t have a cooperation with a nice beach club).

Annoying was that one always had to eat outside. Breakfast, lunch or dinner: they serve open air, only. If you get rid of the heat you have the choice between room service or bar menu (in the evening). But both menu cards are quite clear and offer nearly the same dishes you will get in the pool bar and you already know when having lunch there. The last evening we insisted that we don’t like to have dinner on the terrace anymore (the day was very hot: 38° celsius) and finally got the „permisson“ to choose from the restaurant card in the air conditioned bar – as an exception for that evening as the staff explicit sayed.

In total a nice stay but we probably won’t return in the summer season.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank warum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JVeensma, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Buenas tardes dear clients from Germany,

thank you for your information which I shared with my F&B Team.
I hope you will visit us soon again where you will notice some changes in this.

Kind regards from Mallorca

GM
Castillo Hotel Son Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Got married here in September 2012 and it was perfect. The service from start to finish was spot on and everyone we dealt with could not do enough for us from the front desk and bar staff to the wedding event organiser. The hotel is located in the hills of Son VIda roughly 15mins outside Palma. The view on the main terrace is simply stunning. The hotel itself is a 13th century castle and was the first 5* hotel on the island. In terms of a wedding venue it is breath taking and the service, food, organisation, VFM etc were excellent. You will not be disappointed if you get married here they are so professional. We also stayed for a night and as a hotel it is expensive but you get what you pay for. There is a nice quiet swimming pool and a small gym. The breakfast was good with a wide choice and the room we had was massive - walk in wardrobe, front room with sofas and dining table, huge bathroom bigger than my front room and massive bedroom. The hotel has a number of bars but why would you want to sit in these when you can sit on the main terrace and look over Palma and the sea beyond. If you get the chance or are thinking of this for a hotel or wedding venue its well worth a look.

Room Tip: Try to get one high up facing the main terrace so you can enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsLWarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JVeensma, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear fam. Warren,

congratulations with your wedding and yes, the Castillo Hotel Son Vida is the perfect "Romantic" spot to relax and celebrating honey moons.

I will share your feedback with my team and I am sure they are delighted to read this.

All the best and hope you will visit us again.


Kind regards from the sunny Island Mallorca.

GM
Castillo Hotel Son Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Highlands
Level Contributor
134 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Just back from a wonderful week at the Castillo Son Vida just outside Palma. Set on a hill overlooking the city and the bay, the views are amazing. A perfect place to relax and unwind. My favourite place in the hotel was sitting on the outside terrace but unfortunately that wasn't always possible as they seem to have lots of wedding or business functions so the terrace was closed off three evenings out of the seven. The staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful. We had a Classic suite which was a good size with everything you would expect. Not the most child friendly hotel. The staff were great with our grandson but you had the feeling that some guests were annoyed at the children playing in the pool. The pool area is lovely. No problem getting sun beds and the attentive staff provide loads of towels and make sure everything is as you would wish.The food was my only real gripe. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice but lunches and evening meals were good without being anything special. Limited choices and very expensive. Overall if money isn't a problem the Castillo is a great place for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheHighlandsCrofter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JVeensma, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear clients from the "Highlands"

Thank you for visting "The Balcony of Mallorca" the Castillo Hotel Son Vida.

It was great having you here and thank you very much for your comments and we really apreciate your feedback.

Hope you will visit us soon again and sending sunny regards from Mallorca

GM
Castillo Hotel Son Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Son Vida is unique. It's a 13th century castle - not too many hotels can boast that! It has the best Saturday buffet dinner we have had at any hotel. But best of all, it has the best guest relations person whose name is Alexandra. When my wife's mother had an accident that necessitated a visit to the local hospital Alexandra organised everything not only with maximum efficiency but with a smile and warmth. And for the rest of our stay nothing was too much trouble for her or for John Veensma, the hotel's kind and efficient General Manager, or indeed for any of the staff at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JVeensma, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Dear Clients from London.

Thank you very much and we wll hope that your mother in law recover soon.
Of course I remember the incident and I really apreciate your comments and nice words which motivates us to continue doing the right thing.
Thank you for recognizing the service attitude of Alexandra, she is a great talent.

We hope you will visit us again and sending the best regards to London and to your family

Warm Regards

GM
Castillo Hotel Son Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC area
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Pros: Service is impeccable, grounds are beautiful and rooms are well-appointed. Simply a luxurious hotel situated in a nice part of the island convenient to most tourist destinations, but only if you have a car. Mallorca is not a place to take taxis everywhere.

Cons: Not a cheap stay, but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony overlooking Palma side of hotel (same side as pool and outside rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n0npareil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JVeensma, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Hello New York, dear clients from the US,

I hope you enjoyed your stay in Europe and thank you for sharing your information about our Hotel, service and luxury experience in the "Balcony of Mallorca" , the Castillo Hotel Son Vida.

Muchas gracias and hope you will visit Europe, Spain and us again.

Kind regards

GM
Castillo Hotel Son Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palma de Mallorca
3.4 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#14 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#12 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
3.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
#6 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
15.5 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Carrer Raixa, 2 | Urbanización Son Vida, 07013 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#4 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#4 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#6 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castillo Hotel Son Vida is a turreted 13th century building in a characteristic Mallorcan country house style. The hotel is surrounded by Mediterranean gardens and the golf course Son Vida and two other golf courses; Son Muntaner and Son Quint are only two minutes away. It offers magnificent views over the city and the bay of Palma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing