We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Luxury Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Top Luxury Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The quality, service and facilities of this hotel are best in class. It's pricey but expected for a luxury hotel; everything is outstanding. The terrace overlooking Palma bay is the highlight of tge hotel. Would definitely come back again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Compostelana_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    161
    46
    14
    9
See reviews for
154
403
24
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quinta do Lago, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Not a good start - Whilst making the reservation the previous day my wife requested a car collect us from the airport, booked a table in the restaurant (my wife thought it odd when the reservationist when asked to recommend which was the best restaurant in the hotel didn't know) and golf the following day. No car to meet us, no dinner or golf reservation - the head concierge was very helpful and sorted out the issues. It was revealed that our reservation was taken in Ireland, which to be frank should not be our problem. Why however when there are two Sheraton Hotels in the same location doesn't the local reservation office open until 10 pm so that you have at least ownership of the client.

Public areas and terraces spacious, with great views of Palma Bay. Dinner in the tapas restaurant was fine. Buffet breakfast only, with the hot food in chaffing dishes always cold.

We stayed in room 707, which at just under €500 per night was very ordinary. Turn down service mean't just turning back the douvet, closing the curtains and piling the cushions on the chase longe. - bathroom etc untouched.

Room service trolley from lunch still outside the the room when we returned from a wedding at 3am.

All that said the hotel is OK and well located for golf. but for me not really 5 star.

Room Tip: If you have special requests get them confirmed back in writing and check you are speaking to the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ODCGM, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Robert M,

thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us here at the Castillo Hotel Son Vida.

We certainly always aim to be much more than just ok, please do accept my apologies for not having met your expectations on this occasion. Rest assured that we will review your comments with the entire team to avoid a recurrence in the future.

I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you that we can do much better - please do feel free to make your next reservation directly through my office so that I may assure you of my personal attention.

Kind regards,

Oscar del Campo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We styled here for a long weekend. Friday to Monday.
The location of the hotel set into the hills and is superb. Upon arrival it looks amazing.
The concierge opens the door and the service from them throughout our stay was excellent.
Check in was smooth and we had a small tour before being shown to the room.
Pleasant rooms though the furniture is slightly miss matched but it works. Great bathroom.
The swimming pool is fabulous. Inside and out doors. It is a very relaxing place to be.

Now, this is where it goes a little wrong for me.
The whole restaurant experience was very poor for a hotel of this standing. Lunch at the pool bar was ok. However our dinner at the al a carte was probably one of the worst dinning experiences of my life.
Cold peppers in slop with raw sea bass. With large amounts of salt. We couldn't eat it. That as the only way I could describe.
The Mains did not fair any
better. My partner had to battle with the rack of lamb for 5 pieces of meet and my sirloin was so drowned in herbs I could still taste it after breakfast.
We left without dessert as we really could not put up with any more. When we left my partner suggested "it was one of the worst meals of her life"
This brings me nicely to breakfast.
Are we at the premier inn??
Cold scrambled eggs. Cold sausages. No bacon. When it was there following day. Cold!!
Again. Would you expect this from this kind of hotel. Shouldn't food be a certain temperature to serve and eat!!
Really was a poor effort and I have had better at low cost hotels.

To sum up. Great location.
Priced well for where you are.
But some one needs to look at the menu and wonder what has gone wrong. And provide food that will make guests want to return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AppleDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ODCGM, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear AppleDev,

thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay with us here at the Castillo Hotel Son Vida.

Whilst I was delighted to see your positive comments regarding the location and the service received from our Front Office team, I was of course concerned to read of your disappointment with our offering in Food & Beverage. Please rest assured that we will review your comments with the entire team, my apologies for the inconvenience. In this case we certainly seem to have not been able to live up to your expectations.

I nevertheless hope that you will choose the Castillo Hotel Son Vida again in the future, please do feel free to make your next booking directly through my office so that I may assure you my personal attention

Kind regards,

Oscar del Campo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one week. Luxury class hotel with excellent rooms. Staff are very professional, friendly and discreet. Pip at the concierge's desk and Tomas the doorman are national treasures! Both have a passion for Mallorca and are extremely helpful in ensuring that you get to see the best of this island.

Son Vida is all luxury homes and golf courses and is not an area to stroll in. Indeed we found nowhere to go for a walk before dinner. The hotels only leisure area is a very nice swimming pool.

Getting to Palma is very easy as the number 7 bus stops right outside at 25 minutes past the hour. Journey time is 25 minutes and costs E1.50 each way. Coming back you can catch the bus, on the hour, outside the Pharmacy in King Juan Carlos Plaza, but make sure the one you catch is going all the way to Son Vida.

Restaurants are excellent, but expensive (Tapas with wine by the glass was around E70/head - though it was good). Breakfast is served until 11.00am, very civilised.

We will definitely come back here again on a future visit.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Onbusiness1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ODCGM, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Onbusiness1234,

thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following you recent stay with us here at the Castillo Hotel Son Vida.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that you are planning to come back. The connection by bus to Palma is indeed excellent, but I would recommend hiring a car for your next visit as there are so many other places to explore on this wonderful island.

Thank you again for your encouragement, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Oscar del Campo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Wow.. Having stayed here once before 9 years ago I had a vague idea of what to expect, but all expectations were surpassed on this visit.
From arrival to departure after a 2 night stay last weekend I felt thoroughly and totally relaxed, which was not just because of the fabulous rooms, comfortable beds, amazing pool and sun beds but mainly due to the friendly helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble and on our final day the lovely lady on duty in the spa put myself , my husband (who has walking difficulties) and our luggage into her little van and took us up to reception to save us climbing all the steps!! The food is quite expensive but worth every penny , the views of Palma are stunning and I would love to return here as soon as possible. Unfortunately I'm going to have to save up or win the lottery because this is an expensive hotel and rightly so, it's worth every penny .

Room Tip: If you can afford a suite overlooking palma - go for it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ODCGM, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Louise D,

thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us here at the Castillo Hotel Son Vida.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and especially proud to hear that it was our associates who made the difference. They work very hard to deliver excellent service and I am certain that they will find your comments very encouraging.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon to Mallorca.

Kind regards,

Oscar del Campo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Wonderful. Food onsite a bit pricy and no where else to go. Pricy but good. Spacious, well-kept rooms. Staff throughout the hotel were helpful and nice. Decor elegant and the view from the pool was fantastic. A lot of places to visit throughout Mallorca; none of which take very long to get to. Cap Formenture awesome. Definitely will return if given the chance.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dchettouh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ODCGM, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Dchettouh,

thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay back in August of last year here at the Castillo Hotel Son Vida.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you hope to return. I very much hope that your next trip to Mallorca will be in the near future - we would love to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Oscar del Campo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble and it was so clean. Food was excellent and hot. Those with dietary requirements in our group were looked after well. The staff were always polite but friendly. We didn't play golf but others in our group did and said the course was challenging but fun.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 243MaryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ODCGM, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear 243MaryB,

thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us here at the Castillo Hotel Son Vida.

Our hotel is indeed well suited for both golfers and non-golfers, and I am particularly glad to see that we were able meet your exceptations in our restaurant too.

Thank you for your positive and encouraging feedback, we hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Oscar del Campo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
3.5 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#16 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#13 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
3.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
#6 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
3.3 mi away
Art Hotel Palma
Art Hotel Palma
#2 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Carrer Raixa, 2 | Urbanización Son Vida, 07013 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#4 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#4 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#6 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castillo Hotel Son Vida is a turreted 13th century building in a characteristic Mallorcan country house style. The hotel is surrounded by Mediterranean gardens and the golf course Son Vida and two other golf courses; Son Muntaner and Son Quint are only two minutes away. It offers magnificent views over the city and the bay of Palma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Destinology so you can book your Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing