We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 Night, 1 Wedding, 1 Unforgettable Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“1 Night, 1 Wedding, 1 Unforgettable Experience!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

1) Once you drive through the gates, up to the Castillo (castle) it really is a wow moment...

2) Walking through to the hotel you are greeted and treated like royalty. special mention to a young chap called Christian who was a fantastic host.

3) Rooms are Spacious, Spotless, Quiet and the Decor is simply beautiful.

4) The Terrace in the main hotel has the most spectacular view you can imagine, with views out to sea and in the distance the skyline of Palma... This is where they held the wedding ceremony which every guest was in ore of... you have to see it to believe it...

5) A very nice pool area, very quiet, relaxing and again with a stunning view.

6) A great breakfast buffet, which is eaten and enjoyed with amazing views.

7) Son Vida Golf course (the oldest course on the island), If you like your golf, play here!! Having played numerous golf courses around the island, this course is designed and kept in immaculate condition and in my opinion a must play...

8) A special mention to all the staff of Castillo Son Vida throughout the whole wedding and the stay who were absolutely superb. Always smiling and there for you right on point. 6* to you all!


I look forward to returning here in the near future and I really would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricks888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ODCGM, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Tricks888,

thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay here at the Castillo Hotel Son Vida.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to make the wedding day for the happy couple a special one. Thank you particularly for your comments regarding our associates.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon here on Mallorca.

Kind regards,

Oscar del Campo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    173
    47
    15
    9
See reviews for
161
433
26
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 511 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We are regulars here and must have stayed 6+ times over the last couple of years.

We were met at the airport by a man that didn't know how to smile in a Mercedes minivan. We were then met by two lovely men when we arrived at the hotel who acknowledged we were regular clients with a welcome back greeting as they took our bags - very nice.

Then it went downhill. We were checked in by the concierge man (not reception) which we thought odd but i suppose it was quite busy. No mention of 'welcome back' etc etc - all a bit methodical and robotic and seemed to take ages - this was something that was fab the last time we stayed. We were taken to a room that didn't have any balcony furniture which we have never seen before. We obviously asked to move and were offered an alternative room. It seemed to take a long time to sort this out too and we were a bit annoyed as there was no apology or personal service from the person we were dealing with.

Just shows how important first impressions are as we think we will go to the Jumeraih in Soller next time which is lovely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ODCGM, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Bertie,

thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

It seems that your holiday did not get off to a good start, please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. We have discussed these issues with the team in order to learn from our mistakes and hopefully improve the experience the next time for you. I hope you were able to enjoy the remainder of your holiday with us.

I sincerely hope that based on your previously very positive experiences at our hotel you will give us another chance to show you that this was not our usual standard of service. Feel free to contact me directly for your next reservation so that I may assure you of my personal attention.

Kind regards,

Oscar del Campo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have just returned from a break at Castillo San Vida and can only describe the service we received as outstanding .From our initial impression at check in with Juan and Angelos who are truly amazing friendly and super helpful people right thru to the lovely young girl who looks after the pool area with so much enthusiasm and Christian the concierge who will book you a restarant at a moments notice and get you the best table as well .
Our room was spotless with amazing views across the golf course and the bay of Palma ,we enjoyed cocktails in the evening on the beautiful terrace overlooking Palma .I spent time at the pool which was well organised with plenty of sun beds and fresh towels and enjoyed the complimentary sorbets that were bought round several times each day .
My husband played golf at each of the surrounding courses and he said they were all well keep to a high standard and the courtesy bus picked him up and dropped him back
Breakfast was outstanding there was so much choice and to be honest you didn't need lunch but if you were hungry there was a lovely pool bar which served numerous snacks or 3 course meals should you wish .
There were several conferences and weddings taking place at the hotel but they didn't interfere with our stay the hotel has plenty of space and outside seating .
I would recommend this hotel to anyone young old families couples its truly fantastic and will definitely return

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4 th floor or above we had a grand de luxe overlooking the bay of palma
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alison c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ODCGM, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Alison C,

thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

I was very pleased to read about your positive experience at our hotel, and very grateful for your recommendation. Thank you for the encouraging feedback which I will be happy to share with our entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon here at the Castillo Hotel Son Vida sometime in the future.

Kind regards,

Oscar del Campo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was our first time staying in a castle, and I must say that I was pleasantly surprised. It's not easy to convert an old castle into a modern hotel. The grounds are perfectly groomed and manicured, as it sits atop a golf course. We had a beautiful suite with gorgeous views, and apparently the only room in the hotel that had a balcony that opened from the bathroom. The staff were all very helpful, quick to please, and very accommodating. However, I don't ever recall seeing a bellman to help us with managing our luggage either when checking in and when checking out. The terrace is a lovely spot with beautiful views of the sea, to enjoy drinks or a light snack while watching the sun set.

Room Tip: Room 460 is the room that had the balcony off of the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melicia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ODCGM, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Melicia T,

thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor following you recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed you stay at the hotel - the rooms at the corner of the building do have indeed a small balcony of the bathroom, I trust you enjoyed the views over the beautiful bay of Palma.

Please accept my apologies for the lack of assistance during check in and out, I will review your comments with our Front Office Manager as we always have bellmen on duty.

We very much hope to be able to welcome you back at the Castillo Hotel Son Vida in the near future.

Kind regards from Mallorca,

Oscar del Campo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is our second time at this hotel, and it just gets better! The same concierge (Juan) has been there for 38yrs (says a lot for a business) very pleasant staff and every effort was made to make our stay enjoyable. WE WILL BE BACK!

Room Tip: Try stay in the tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mghaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ODCGM, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Mghaly,

thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read your words regarding our associates - I am very proud of my team and we do have indeed a healthy mix of many who have been here just as long as Juan and a new generation of team members who can indeed profit from the vast experience of associates like Juan.

Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon here at the Castillo Hotel Son Vida.

Kind regards,

Oscar del Campo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Within a castellated fort high above Palma the Castillo Son Vida has fantastic views to the sea and the gentle breeze that took the edge off the searing summer heat. I went for a business meeting for a few days but it would have been equally good for a family or weekend break, especially if you play golf.

Starwood run the hotel well and service was excellent, especially by the pool. Room service and housekeeping creaked a bit but really not much to worry about. They pressed creases into my shirt collar, which drives me crazy - so unnecessary, but it’s hardly a disaster but perhaps it is a small sign that the staff are not as drilled as they could be.

Most guests will be very happy with the room style; mine had a bit too much brown wood for my personal taste. The whole hotel has a relatively high mahogany index which will appeal to the traditional market and is entirely in keeping with the style of the building. My room had an internal balcony and overlooked an attractive valley looking towards the sea – a really nice place to have breakfast.

I left the Castillo Son Vida with the impression that it was a really great venue for our meeting but that if I had come with my family we would probably have chosen La Resedencia instead because of its dramatic setting clinging to the steep mountains of Deia.

Room Tip: Beware - some of my colleagues had rooms on the wing to the left of the entrance at the rear. Appare...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisRadford-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have stayed at the hotel several times over the past 25 years and are always impressed how the hotel manages to stay on top. There are obvious limitations as to what one can do in such an old and established building but the stay at this hotel is always very comfortable and agreeable. The rooms are not really 5 stars but very pleasant and most rooms have a spectacular view of the city and the sea. The service is excellent and one always feels welcome at the hotel. Another point in favor of the hotel is the consistently high quality of food at all outlets, particularly the tapas restaurant which is excellent. For golfing enthusiasts, this is the perfect place with three 18 hole courses only minutes away from the hotel. The hotel has a golf desk which arranges tee off times.There is ample parking space for those who rent a car. Altogether a very pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ODCGM, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Roland0904,

thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us here at the Castillo Hotel Son Vida.

We were very grateful to read your positive feedback and we all hope that you will continue to enjoy many relaxing holidays with us. Rest assured that we will continue to work hard to maintain our high standards both in our service as well as our product.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon here on Mallorca.

Kind regards,

Oscar del Campo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palma de Mallorca
2.5 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#15 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
1,642 reviews
3.4 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
791 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
824 reviews
3.3 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 182 in Calvia
967 reviews
3.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
#4 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Carrer Raixa, 2 | Urbanización Son Vida, 07013 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#4 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#4 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#6 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castillo Hotel Son Vida is a turreted 13th century building in a characteristic Mallorcan country house style. The hotel is surrounded by Mediterranean gardens and the golf course Son Vida and two other golf courses; Son Muntaner and Son Quint are only two minutes away. It offers magnificent views over the city and the bay of Palma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Starwood EMEA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing